SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-10, 02:52 AM   #31
gutted
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,353
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 10
Default

DarkWraith, to stop the TAI opening by itself when you enter a scope:

In:
def Station_Activated( station ):

comment out the the "else" part of this
Code:
if Game.Mission.IsTutorial:
            SetFeedBackMode( FeedBackModes.Minimized, Instant.Yes )
       #else:
            #SetFeedBackMode( FeedBackModes.TAI, Instant.No )
When you enter a scope with it minimized it stays minimized. If you enter with it open.. its still open.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.3.2 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 02:57 AM   #32
gutted
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,353
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 10
Default

I don't have the time to dig into this too far, but maybe you can point me in the right direction for when i do have the time.


How would i go about setting up a hotkey to toggle the compass dial on and off? Preferably "C".

I hate clicking.

[edit]
More specifically.. i know where and how to add the hotkey in the script, i just need to know what to call to show and hide the dial.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.3.2 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:15 AM   #33
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
I don't have the time to dig into this too far, but maybe you can point me in the right direction for when i do have the time.


How would i go about setting up a hotkey to toggle the compass dial on and off? Preferably "C".

I hate clicking.

[edit]
More specifically.. i know where and how to add the hotkey in the script, i just need to know what to call to show and hide the dial.
Pagelayout.py: ToggleDisplayRudderHeading()

What if the officer's icons were hidable? Like their background? When you needed them you moused down to the bottom of the screen and they popped up? I could add a little 'lock' button next to them so that those that want them stay up all the time could lock them up. Same goes for those that don't want to see them - lock them down.
I'm curious what command you are sending with the hotkeys when you enable/disable the nav map? Can you tell me what the command is that is assigned to that hotkey of yours?
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:16 AM   #34
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
DarkWraith, to stop the TAI opening by itself when you enter a scope:

In:
def Station_Activated( station ):

comment out the the "else" part of this
Code:
if Game.Mission.IsTutorial:
            SetFeedBackMode( FeedBackModes.Minimized, Instant.Yes )
      #else:
           #SetFeedBackMode( FeedBackModes.TAI, Instant.No )
When you enter a scope with it minimized it stays minimized. If you enter with it open.. its still open.
I'll add that as a user option. I can see that being very usable.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:25 AM   #35
gutted
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,353
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 10
Default

Ahaha i was just coming to say that i figured it out.

I added this to the top "def PageDefaultHud_KeyPressed( args ):" in PageDefaultHud.py

Code:
    from Pagelayout import Pagelayout
    from Pagelayout import ToggleDisplayRudderHeading
    if args.Key == MenuKeyManagerWrapper.Keys.C:
        if Menu.MenuKeyManager.IsKeyPressed( MenuKeyManagerWrapper.Keys.Shift ) == False:
            if Menu.MenuKeyManager.IsKeyPressed( MenuKeyManagerWrapper.Keys.Ctrl ) == False:
                ToggleDisplayRudderHeading()
could probably make that key configurable in the setup script.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.3.2 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids

Last edited by gutted; 03-25-10 at 04:46 AM.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:27 AM   #36
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
Ahaha i was just coming to say that i figured it out.

I added this to the top "def PageDefaultHud_KeyPressed( args ):" in PageDefaultHud.py

Code:
    from Pagelayout import Pagelayout
    from Pagelayout import ToggleDisplayRudderHeading
    if args.Key == MenuKeyManagerWrapper.Keys.C:
        ToggleDisplayRudderHeading()
could probably make that key configurable in the setup script.
another good suggestion. I'll add it to post #2's list.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:29 AM   #37
gutted
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,353
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
Pagelayout.py: ToggleDisplayRudderHeading()
I'm curious what command you are sending with the hotkeys when you enable/disable the nav map? Can you tell me what the command is that is assigned to that hotkey of yours?
The nav map hotkeys i use are stock keys. I didn't alter them.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.3.2 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:34 AM   #38
kiwi_2005
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Aeoteroa
Posts: 7,382
Downloads: 223
Uploads: 1
Default

__________________
RIP kiwi_2005



Those who can't laugh at themselves leave the job to others.



kiwi_2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:34 AM   #39
gutted
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,353
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 10
Default

On last thing before i go off to actually "use" the new UI instead of fiddling with it..

Quote:
Needs validation:
- When user has pattern running torpedoes, do the dials associated with pattern runners show up in the TDC?
Nope, just tested it again. Loaded up some FaT I's and no way to control their pattern.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.3.2 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:36 AM   #40
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
On last thing before i go off to actually "use" the new UI instead of fiddling with it..

Nope, just tested it again. Loaded up some FaT I's and no way to control their pattern.
ok thanks. It's a game bug then. I'll have to find a way to make the game show them or I'll just have to force them on at all times.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:40 AM   #41
gutted
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,353
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
ok thanks. It's a game bug then. I'll have to find a way to make the game show them or I'll just have to force them on at all times.
If that's the case.. then add a small button to show or hide them on the torpedo control panel.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.3.2 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:43 AM   #42
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
If that's the case.. then add a small button to show or hide them on the torpedo control panel.
was just thinking the same thing....
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:51 AM   #43
Vlad_one
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm without words fantastic job, compliments Dark Thanks this game to finally make appreciable!
Vlad_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 03:52 AM   #44
gutted
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,353
Downloads: 470
Uploads: 10
Default

Just starting my first patrol with this... and the compass dial is 10x better with a hotkey.

SInce i use a heavily modified WASD scheme to keep my hand in one place.. its just a flick of the finger away if i ever need it.

Less Mouse Clicks = Happy gutted.

[edit]
Ill have to add a case for the Shift & Control keys so it doesnt fire the command on Shift+C and Ctrl+C. Whoops.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.3.2 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-10, 04:09 AM   #45
EAF274 Johan
Ensign
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gent, Belgium
Posts: 228
Downloads: 94
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you DarkWraith for making this!

Some possible bugs (SH5 UI):
- When I go to map view via the Navigator commands, I cannot exit map view through clicking the map icon (top right). Only way is to press Esc [EDIT: it appears to be caused by the fact that somehow I managed to resize the minimap so that its maximize/minimaze buttons are no longer visible. dragging the minimap to restore its size solves the problem)
- Battlestations icon does not trigger the officer's speech (while ordering through the Dialogue does)
- Evasive commands do not trigger officer's speech
- "Deploy decoys" is always active... and works!, even though I have no decoys installed
- "Silent running OFF" icon is always active
- "Send message" icon is always active (while using the icon in the Captain's Log only allows you to send a report every 2 hours)

Personal wishlist:
- Nomograph on the Nav map
- Radio
- Tooltips for all order icons (German version)
- A way to disable the Fire torpedo icon... I've already clicked it accidentally too often
__________________
Rock 'n' roll is the only religion that will never let you down

Last edited by EAF274 Johan; 03-26-10 at 01:46 AM.
EAF274 Johan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dbrn, favorite, new ui

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.