SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Old 08-27-23, 09:30 AM   #1
LaoHu
Swabbie

Downloads: 15
Uploads: 0
Icon9 SH4 Crashing When Ranging?

So I recently started playing SH4 and I managed to get it to run satisfactory after a bit. I was doing the torpedo training mission to learn the new control layout of the game from III and when I pressed the ranging button and aligned the bottom of the second ship projected to the top and clicked to register it, the game froze and crashed to desktop. This happens every time I do it and I don't know what is causing it or how to fix it! I have the 4GB patch and LAA on, Windows 8 compatibility, run as admin, etc. Has anyone by chance encountered this before and knows how what I must to do stop this?
Old 08-27-23, 10:06 AM   #2
fitzcarraldo
Argentinian Skipper

Downloads: 3215

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaoHu View Post
So I recently started playing SH4 and I managed to get it to run satisfactory after a bit. I was doing the torpedo training mission to learn the new control layout of the game from III and when I pressed the ranging button and aligned the bottom of the second ship projected to the top and clicked to register it, the game froze and crashed to desktop. This happens every time I do it and I don't know what is causing it or how to fix it! I have the 4GB patch and LAA on, Windows 8 compatibility, run as admin, etc. Has anyone by chance encountered this before and knows how what I must to do stop this?
Please, tell us if your game is modded or vanilla. I never see this problem in my SH4 (and I play it from 2008...)

Do you have SH4 1.5?

Best regards.

Fitzcarraldo

My subject is War, and the pity of War. The Poetry is in the pity - Wilfred Owen.
fitzcarraldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-23, 07:53 PM   #3
LaoHu