SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 ATO Mods
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2021, 11:06 AM   #1171
KaleunMarco
Admiral
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area, which is more dangerous than Omaha Beach.
Posts: 2,380
Downloads: 364
Uploads: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dex View Post
Hello sailors ...After a year I m planing to start again with Dw excellent mod,new career..
We talk about turm upgrade issues a lot
IF YOU HAVE THE TURM UPGRADE ISSUE (from SKIDMAN):

« Both the Typ VII and the Typ IX U-Boat will receive conning tower upgrades as the game proceeds. Every time I was awarded a new "Turm", the result was a submarine that could not move forward, or backward. A "Cannot comply" message was displayed instead. The crew screen showed missing and empty slots. This bug has been experienced and described before, and -as lurker put it- it is a nasty one. So from my experience a conning tower upgrade means end of your career. This is not acceptable.

How can you continue? Well, there is a workaround: You have to create a dummy file.

I try this ofcourse, but this applies only when we recieve turm upgrade in base,bunker...My question : when we change other equipment(deck gun,flack gun,sensors...) no need for creating dummy file
dex,

what is your question?
did you mean to ask: do i have to perform the turm upgrade issue if i upgrade specific equipment while in port?

if it is, then the answer is: no, it is not required.

the Turm-upgrade thing has to be performed when you get a new Turm. this happens after a mission and you receive a screen that announces the upgrade. when it happens, you will know that it happened, and you will have to react to it.

Good Luck, Herr Kaleun!

__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 12:00 PM   #1172
dex
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Serbia
Posts: 208
Downloads: 198
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaleunMarco View Post
dex,

what is your question?
did you mean to ask: do i have to perform the turm upgrade issue if i upgrade specific equipment while in port?

if it is, then the answer is: no, it is not required.

the Turm-upgrade thing has to be performed when you get a new Turm. this happens after a mission and you receive a screen that announces the upgrade. when it happens, you will know that it happened, and you will have to react to it.

Good Luck, Herr Kaleun!

Hi...Yes you are in right...I mean on that
So conlusion is: 3 turms upgrade= 3 dummy save created files each time

For example IXB have 3 turm upgrades,VIIC sub have 4 turm upgrades I think...
dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 02:07 PM   #1173
KaleunMarco
Admiral
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area, which is more dangerous than Omaha Beach.
Posts: 2,380
Downloads: 364
Uploads: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dex View Post
Hi...Yes you are in right...I mean on that
So conlusion is: 3 turms upgrade= 3 dummy save created files each time
no, you only have to create a dummy once for each upgrade.
and if there are three upgrades, then you would have to perform the process three separate times IF you are given the upgrade.
i believe that your performance has to be good enough to be given the upgrade, so you may not qualify for one or more upgrades based on your performance.


Quote:
For example IXB have 3 turm upgrades,VIIC sub have 4 turm upgrades I think...
if that is the correct count of turms then, yes, you have the possibility of performing the fix-process that many times.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 05:37 PM   #1174
KaleunMarco
Admiral
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area, which is more dangerous than Omaha Beach.
Posts: 2,380
Downloads: 364
Uploads: 15


Default Radar constantly turning on

here is another oddity to chew on as this is the first time i have noticed it.
because the Allies in the Atlantic have radar detection equipment, it is disadvantageous to leave one's radar on after initial detection.
however, even after turning the set off, it powers itself back on.
i have looked for a setting of some type that causes this behaviour but have not found it.

playing DW V6 and not using any mods that alter radar performance.

any suggestions?
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 07:02 PM   #1175
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,039
Downloads: 391
Uploads: 1


Default

Are you referring to the radar coming back on after a wave goes over you, or if you are submerged and then come back up? Or does it just not stay off when on the surface no matter the sea state? How heavy are the seas at the time you are referring to? Which of the radars is it?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 10:04 PM   #1176
KaleunMarco
Admiral
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area, which is more dangerous than Omaha Beach.
Posts: 2,380
Downloads: 364
Uploads: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Are you referring to the radar coming back on after a wave goes over you, or if you are submerged and then come back up? Or does it just not stay off when on the surface no matter the sea state? How heavy are the seas at the time you are referring to? Which of the radars is it?
so many questions, so little space.
driving a Type XXI which has only one radar and one radar detector.
i believe the unit is a type 65 and it is the radar unit because we cannot really operate the HF-DF, only see the results.
the behaviour occurred while we were surfaced and the waves were raucous, 14 or 15 kt.
now that you mention it, i do not remember that behaviour when the seas were quieter.
so, you think this is related to the sea state? i know i am going to hate myself in the morning for asking, but, why do you think that?
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 11:10 PM   #1177
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,039
Downloads: 391
Uploads: 1


Default

Well, that is the "normal" behavior of the SH4 radar. It gets "wet", it assumes it's going under the surface, so it shuts-off. Wave finishes going over you, it gets "dry", time to turn back on. Now, if you're like me, you want a radar off, or you want a radar on. Turn it on, let it sweep a few rotations, find something, turn it off. No need to have a beacon saying "here I are!!!" But the game does not do that. Oh sure, you can turn the radar off (FotRSU <Ctrl><T>), but first wave over the conn, and presto-change-oh, and it turns back on, because it got "wet", then got "dry", and "time to turn on again". Short of a hammer, I don't know how to keep it turned off after it gets "wet", nor do I know of a way to keep it on for those short spurts of "wet"... someone else might.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 11:20 PM   #1178
KaleunMarco
Admiral
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area, which is more dangerous than Omaha Beach.
Posts: 2,380
Downloads: 364
Uploads: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Well, that is the "normal" behavior of the SH4 radar. It gets "wet", it assumes it's going under the surface, so it shuts-off. Wave finishes going over you, it gets "dry", time to turn back on. Now, if you're like me, you want a radar off, or you want a radar on. Turn it on, let it sweep a few rotations, find something, turn it off. No need to have a beacon saying "here I are!!!" But the game does not do that. Oh sure, you can turn the radar off (FotRSU <Ctrl><T>), but first wave over the conn, and presto-change-oh, and it turns back on, because it got "wet", then got "dry", and "time to turn on again". Short of a hammer, I don't know how to keep it turned off after it gets "wet", nor do I know of a way to keep it on for those short spurts of "wet"... someone else might.
ok, ok, i get it.
the violent sea state causes the unit to think that it was submerged and so when the wave passes, it thinks it has surfaced.
terrible design and programming. just terrible.
thanks for making me aware of the obvious
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2021, 03:17 AM   #1179
dex
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Serbia
Posts: 208
Downloads: 198
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for reply KaleunMarco
dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 05:36 PM   #1180
NiKuTa
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 221
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi. Where I can find this mod for DL?
900 DarkWaters V6_Errors-fix
NiKuTa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 09:58 PM   #1181
KaleunMarco
Admiral
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area, which is more dangerous than Omaha Beach.
Posts: 2,380
Downloads: 364
Uploads: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiKuTa View Post
Hi. Where I can find this mod for DL?
900 DarkWaters V6_Errors-fix
that is a group of fixes specific to DW that i created to correct dozens of config, equipment, and date errors.
it is not part of the release.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 03:21 PM   #1182
Well Hammer
Nub
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 3
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Greetings! I downloaded your Dark Waters v6 mod from the link on the first page, there are all the submods specified in the description except for OM_DarkWaters_V6 itself. Where can I get it?
Well Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 06:18 PM   #1183
Mad Mardigan
The Old Man
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,595
Downloads: 402
Uploads: 0


radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Well Hammer View Post
Greetings! I downloaded your Dark Waters v6 mod from the link on the first page, there are all the submods specified in the description except for OM_DarkWaters_V6 itself. Where can I get it?
Ahoy, Well Hammer...

The Op. Monsun: Dark Waters v6 part, if memory serves Me correctly.... auto installs... blend/merging with your Silent Hunter IV: Wolves of the Pacific: Uboat Missions v1.5 files & folders.

Is no separate folder... to activate of OM: DW v6...

The installer, sets up jsgme & the subsequent "optional" mods in the main SH4 folder, as well... I believe, as well...

Then, is just a matter of deciding what optional's to add into the mix, leave out... making sure to get them in a proper activated order.

That, again... if I'm recalling that info correctly. It has been some time since I had to run the install of the mod set. I shall, admit.

Hope(fully) this info (is correct 100%) & helps...



M. M.
__________________
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 07:29 PM   #1184
KaleunMarco
Admiral
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area, which is more dangerous than Omaha Beach.
Posts: 2,380
Downloads: 364
Uploads: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Well Hammer View Post
Greetings! I downloaded your Dark Waters v6 mod from the link on the first page, there are all the submods specified in the description except for OM_DarkWaters_V6 itself. Where can I get it?
MM is correct.
the D/L file OM_DarkWaters_V6 contains the \Data, main folder of the mod, as well as a \Mods folder for use with JSGME. The Mods folder contains approx a dozen or so special options' mods that a kaleun may apply to DW Ver 6 at their discretion.

one more item, when you run DW V6 you will see the beautiful splash screen which will have Dark Waters Version 5. the main guy for this mega-mod forgot to update the splash screen. Rest assured you are playing Version 6.

Good Luck, Herr Kaleun.

__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 07:36 PM   #1185
Mad Mardigan
The Old Man
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,595
Downloads: 402
Uploads: 0


radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaleunMarco View Post
MM is correct.
the D/L file OM_DarkWaters_V6 contains the \Data, main folder of the mod, as well as a \Mods folder for use with JSGME. The Mods folder contains approx a dozen or so special options' mods that a kaleun may apply to DW Ver 6 at their discretion.

one more item, when you run DW V6 you will see the beautiful splash screen which will have Dark Waters Version 5. the main guy for this mega-mod forgot to update the splash screen. Rest assured you are playing Version 6.

Good Luck, Herr Kaleun.



Thanks KaleunMarco...

I totally forgot about the splash screen... there is, however... another subsimmer, that worked a correction splash screen, for Dark Waters...

Know that is, like... a few pages back. Don't rightly recall the exact page it is on... figure 5 pages, to 15-20... maybe... somewhere in that range, if I am not mistaken...



M. M.
__________________
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.