SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters > Sub Command, Fleet Command, & Jane's 688(I)
Forget password? Reset here

Old 07-02-08, 10:09 AM   #1
Robsoie
Machinist's Mate

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default SC sonar puzzle

Hello,

I am relatively new to this game (using SC 1.08, no SCX2 as i am learning the base game before migrating to the mod), after lots of reading and testing in the mission editor and trying some missions, i think i was beginning to understand the sonar and TMA functions.

Well, until i tried to play the campaign for the SSN688i

In the 1st mission "Halifax", no problem, i stay undetected while approaching both targets under 4 nautic miles then going to periscop depth, as instructed.

As instructed i then wait until 2230 and use the radio antenna to recieve the HQ message telling me to see if i can confirm an Akula presence in the sector.
After roaming the see and finding only fishings boats and other civilians vessels , i found no sonar contact that could be identified as a russian sub (the first fishing boat could have been one, but from the demon and going nearer lead me to confirm it was just a fishing boat).
Even if i didn't found it, the mission was completed anyways.

So i tried then the second mission "Port Egress" in which i must reach a release zone and optionally confirm the presence of an Akula and 2 other russian hardware.
Considering my lack of success at detecting the Akula in the previous mission, i used the AI crew to replace me in the sonar.

After a while, always adjusting my depth to be near the sea ground (as in that mission the sea ground is very near the surface) and never going more than 5 knots, after detecting lots of civilian boats , i am warned that i am counter-detected (maybe one of those civilian boats was a traitor , can't be sure).