SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 07-02-10, 02:55 PM   #1
TheBeast
The Old Man

Downloads: 876
Uploads: 23

Default [TEC]Adding Upgrade Packs

A little of my MOD'ing history:
I am almost totally new to MOD'ing as you can see by my Join Date of "Jan. 2010". I started MOD'ing in Feb, 2010 without even realising I was creating a MOD. I began by merging changes from various MOD's touching the same files into a single MOD. This enabled me to benifit from Multiple MOD changes all at the same time. I have released a few Merged MOD's and a couple of my own for SH4/SH5 but this was only possible because of some of the excellent tools Developed and Shared by other's in the Silent Hunter MOD'ing community. Keeping this in mind, I am not a MOD expert, I am a retired old fart, MOD novice with to much time on my hands and decent background in computing, dating back to the early 80's.

PURPOSE:
The intent of this post is to emphasize the importance of sharing knowledge, community effort(s) or building upon the work of others and the functional accuracy of the work being done resulting in a stable and enjoyable gaming experience.

NOTE: This discussion is dealing with functional accuracy, not historical accuracy. Please keep comments pertaining to historical accuracy, out of this forum thread Topic and I encourage you to post those comments to a thread pertaining to Historical Accuracy. Availability Dates, Submarine Type Availability Dates, Time of Service Dates, Renown Costs, etc. All may be adjusted in this discussion for testing purposes.
I say, let us fix what is currently broken. Then lets talk about Historical Accuracy.

Source files referred to / used as examples:

During this post, I will be referring to items contained in the following files as examples: