SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-10, 12:19 PM   #1
a1billk
Nub
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
troubleshooting

Hello Mates,
I am quite sea sick from watching this fantastic game herk and jerk its way around the world, I have had smoother sailing an a 20 foot skiff. so if anyone out there can tie off this grapics issue I would be much obliged....else this game will walk the plank....or be tied to the yard-arm...save er while you can.!!!
graphics issues
after trying a lottery of optional settings in both hardware and software, I finally got this game to work.
sh3: to play the game I have to reduce video option "particle density" to less than 50%, even so, during a night attack when ships turn on there search lights, the game struggles to make 2 frames/s
system hardware
asus p4px-e
p4 2.6g
1.5 gig mem
ati hd4650 graphics card (agp x4)
hard drive tests show 70 + mb/s
current ati drivers, also tried omega drivers.\
a1billk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 12:55 PM   #2
KL-alfman
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Weimar
Posts: 930
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 0
Default

I've got a similar configuration and SH3 (+GWX3) runs quite satisfactory. I'm no expert but I would assume that some of the settings of your graphics card might be set not correctly.
do you know what your anti-aliasing and anisotropic filters are?
(mine are set to AA: 4x and AF: 8x, but I have a Nvidia 6600GT)
I suppose some of the members here are a greater help than I am.

good luck!
__________________
Life, Liberty and Property!
KL-alfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 01:02 PM   #3
Ping Panther
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the armpit of the Mid-Atlantic / Quadrant CA42
Posts: 262
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

a1billk,
I'll direct a bit of your concern over the searchlight drag/lag to this nice answer I have recently received myself on SubSim:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=158891
It's a nice fix. It may save your rig a lot of work.
Ping Panther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 01:19 PM   #4
Ping Panther
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: the armpit of the Mid-Atlantic / Quadrant CA42
Posts: 262
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

If you get a chance to toss some more RAM into your specs., that will give you an immediate boost, and most efficiently help out some of your lag. KL has some good points filters that may fight your SH3, and ATI cards are known for more fuss than others. Hang in there, you have the best bunch of guys and gals here to offer their help.

By the way; a1, that seems to be your first post!
Welcome aboard.
Ping Panther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 01:33 PM   #5
krashkart
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 100
Uploads: 0


Default

Hrmmmm...

On my system it seems that any portion of the sky will hit the framerate pretty hard, unless it's through UZO or Binoculars. I don't like using persicope view unless absolutely necessary. It turns the simulation into a fast slideshow. In Freeview I get bad framerate until I rotate the camera enough to get the sky out of view.

I don't know how they render the sky in this sim, but I get the feeling that it has something to do with the framerate hits I'm taking in periscope and Free views. Underwater views are fantastic, though.

I have an onboard Mobile Intel 945 Express chipset (major part of the problem). Everything else on this machine is up to spec -- plenty of RAM and whatnot.

Last edited by krashkart; 01-25-10 at 01:56 PM.
krashkart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 01:34 PM   #6
krashkart
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 100
Uploads: 0


Default

Wow, that is their first post. Welcome aboard, mate!

Can anyone "procure" a crate of brandy for a1? I'll see what I can dredge up from our supply pool.

Last edited by krashkart; 01-25-10 at 02:00 PM.
krashkart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 06:51 PM   #7
a1billk
Nub
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Default shiver me timbers

I haven't had such a warm welcome since I was invited aboard the u-505.
Arrrrgggg, those scurvy dogs at xfx sent me this free replacement ati card after the fan fell off my nvidia 6800 and sank. they claimed it was an acoustic homing torpedo that ran hot, stright and true. well its a dud if ever I saw one.
I don't surface unless necessary, so my hats off to all you squids that offered your expertise and brandy...I believe I now have a good course to atlantis where the women are always young,the ale flows from fountains...and there ships can sail the heavens....
Good hunting...........Take Her Down.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by krashkart View Post
Wow, that is their first post. Welcome aboard, mate!

Can anyone "procure" a crate of brandy for a1? I'll see what I can dredge up from our supply pool.
a1billk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 07:22 PM   #8
Tweety
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Downloads: 157
Uploads: 0
Welcome aboard a1billk,

It is always good to hear from new members.

I have 2 GB ram with a 1GB video card PCI express and Windows XP.
The only time I have a slow performance is leaving and returning to port.
Other than that, my system runs real good.

Ram would help increase performance. If you have a 256 GB video card, that could also hinder performance. A higher GB for video card would also help.

Tweety
Tweety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 07:50 PM   #9
KL-alfman
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Weimar
Posts: 930
Downloads: 86
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1billk View Post
this free replacement ati card

I think that's the main problem.
suggestion is to stroll up ebay and find an agp-card (8x) with a decent gpu and minimum 512mb. they can be found around 30-50€, IIRC.
the mainboard, cpu and ram are nearly identical to my system, and it's more or less satisfying (with obligatory hickups when leaving or entering port).
__________________
Life, Liberty and Property!
KL-alfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-10, 03:11 PM   #10
flag4
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: as far away as possible
Posts: 1,625
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1billk View Post
Hello Mates,
I am quite sea sick from watching this fantastic game herk and jerk its way around the world, I have had smoother sailing an a 20 foot skiff. so if anyone out there can tie off this grapics issue I would be much obliged....else this game will walk the plank....or be tied to the yard-arm...save er while you can.!!!
graphics issues
after trying a lottery of optional settings in both hardware and software, I finally got this game to work.
sh3: to play the game I have to reduce video option "particle density" to less than 50%, even so, during a night attack when ships turn on there search lights, the game struggles to make 2 frames/s
system hardware
asus p4px-e
p4 2.6g
1.5 gig mem
ati hd4650 graphics card (agp x4)
hard drive tests show 70 + mb/s
current ati drivers, also tried omega drivers.\
dont know the other stuff you have, but ABSOLUTLY bump up your memory - at least 2gig a1billk: dont walk the plank - persist-persist!! BE MORE AGRESSIVE!!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
' We are here on Earth to fart around.
Don't let anybody tell you any different.'
Kurt Vonnegut
flag4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics, hardware, issues, slow, studdering

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.