SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > General Topics > PC Hardware/Software forum
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-11, 03:50 PM   #1
overlord0108
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lincolnshire UK
Posts: 14
Downloads: 50
Uploads: 0
Default Where am I going wrong with my laptop specs

Hey guys, just recently received a laptop, which I would have thought would be able to run SH5, but had just the same results as when running it on my Vista Desktop PC, i.e. so much lag that the game was just unplayable, even on lowest detail settings.

As much as I love my SH3 with GWX, I would love to give SH5 a go. Here are my system specs, if anyone who's an expert at these things could let me know what my problem is:

HP Pavilion dv6-6001sa 15.6" Laptop
Quad-core AMD Phenom™ II X4 P960 processor
Windows 7 64-bit
4 GB DDR3 RAM
Hard drive: 500GB
cache memory 2 MB
AMD Radeon HD 6470M
512 MB DDR3 Dedicated
Thanks in advance guys
overlord0108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-11, 04:25 PM   #2
Bothersome
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 194
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Eh, it's hard to say for sure. But generally the video components are the biggest slow downs for laptops. But, because laptops are set up so that they save power at every opportunity, you might need to go into some of the settings and make sure things are not throttling back for power saving issues. This also means you won't be playing while on batteries.

What does your Windows Experience Index number say?

Most laptops are geared for running business apps and not really for games.

By comparison, my Desktop at home is set up for games. The power usage for just the computer is about 800 watts, and I feel the heat every time I play a graphic intensive game too. A laptop would have to crunch the same number of bits to have the same performance. So, how much power can your power supply that came with your laptop push out? On this laptop power brick, it says, 65 Watts max. So, how in the world can anyone expect a laptop to crunch as many numbers as a desktop that is using 800 watts. You don't get any number crunching for free here. You wanna crunch the numbers, you gonna use some watts to do it.
Bothersome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-11, 06:19 PM   #3
Takeda Shingen
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 8,643
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

I've moved your thread to the PC Hardware forum, where it is more likely to be seen by our resident tech gurus.

The Management
Takeda Shingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-11, 07:57 PM   #4
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 53
Uploads: 10
Default

CPU is about enough, though it's really rather slow. The GPU is nothing noteworthy.

Definetly not a laptop you want to game on, not modern games at any rate.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics, laptops, quad core, sh5, windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.