SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 07-11-22, 03:12 PM   #1
ImBatman
Sailor man

Downloads: 70
Uploads: 0
Default SH3 time compression stutter upon unit spawn

I'm just getting into sh3 with gwx after many hours in sh4 and 5. I've gotten used to opening the stopwatch in 4 and 5, then watching for the stutter under TC to know when units are nearby.

Does this occur in sh3 as well? The stopwatch doesnt really work in the same way as 4 or 5, so i just watch my subs marker on the map.

Im in my first wartime patrol (sept 1939) in the area just east of the channel (AN84) in my trusty type II, and its been slim pickings out here. I've seen one belgian ship after several days in the area.

I'm wondering if im missing contacts by depending on the stutter trick. It would serve me right for being a big cheater! In my defense, i at least use manual targeting.
ImBatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-22, 03:45 PM   #2
blackswan40
LSH-2022 Liaison Officer

Downloads: 588
Uploads: 30

Hi ImBatman if you use time compression x256 or higher you may miss single ships and convoys best use 64/128 times time compression.
Airpatrols may hit you hard in early war in England coastal waters if your using time compression x256 plus you will get K.I.A. .
Also relying on your hydraphone man to report ships and convoys with a green crew is akin to asking a blind man to count the stars when you dive to periscope depth do a manual sonar sweep yourself you can pick up ships convoys 38km away plus your early war sonarman will pick up ships convoys 6-kms from you when you ask him to do a sonar search.

question are you using the 4Gig Patch gives SH3 the ability to use 4Gig of memory instead of the default 2Gig a must have if your using big mods with SH3

download link below.