SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2021, 12:26 AM   #1
Flaskegaard
Sparky
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Washington State, USA
Posts: 156
Downloads: 778
Uploads: 0
Default Red distress flares

Greetings,
I have been playing FOTRSU for about a month now. When I watched videos of other people playing it, I noticed that when they torpedoed a merchant ship, it fired off a red distress flare. I have not seen any distress flares go up from ships I have torpedoed as of yet. I looked in the various ship's EQP files, but didn't see anything about a distress flare. Is that a standard feature with FOTRSU, or do I need to install a mod to see the flares?
Flaskegaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 09:18 PM   #2
Zero Niner
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 971
Downloads: 63
Uploads: 0
Default

It's standard with FORTSU.
Zero Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 09:36 PM   #3
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,043
Downloads: 391
Uploads: 1


Default

As Zero Niner says, they are part of FotRSU, thanks to a comment from fitzcarraldo reminding us about them. Not to give away all of our "trade secrets", but the flares are not a direct part of all of the ships, which is dependent upon the author of the ship and the way they did their damage zon file. Also, the flairs don't really reside with the ship, but rather are triggered as part of the zones.cfg file. What we like to think can happen, is a "ship" might fire it off entirely too early (depending upon the compartment hit and the damage inflicted), like they have an OOW that is a nervous nelly, and shoots the flare too soon, and then you have to put another torpedo into the ship anyway, and then other times, you have the old salt that won't give up the ship, so never does fire the flare... You usually won't see them in a warship either...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 09:54 PM   #4
Mad Mardigan
Sea Lord
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,606
Downloads: 402
Uploads: 0


radar

As I recall.. only the merchie's had them... part of the convoy agreement between other countries & the Brits. Was a... signifier of them being attacked, as if the sight of a fireball from some, wasn't enough of a road flare sign of an attack...

Warships, wouldn't use that... their whole... purpose, was to sail into harm's way... merchie's, weren't. Theirs, was to deliver the goods...

Which, made them, prime targets for the U boats... but.. the U.S., went with unrestricted targeting, after Pearl got hit... & turned on Japan, what was Britain's (& Churchill's, worst nightmare of happening to them) into Japan's worst nightmare... being brought to their knees by being strangled out of resources.

That... & the A bomb.



M. M.
__________________
Mad Mardigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 11:46 PM   #5
Bubblehead1980
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 5,789
Downloads: 490
Uploads: 36
Default

Would love to have them in TMO, especially if could have them fire when submarine is detected? Signal to the group?
Bubblehead1980 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2021, 03:52 PM   #6
Fish40
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Yonkers, NY U.S.A.
Posts: 1,507
Downloads: 128
Uploads: 0
Default

Tried installing the "Merchant Distress Flares" mod from the SH3 Mods forum. The readme is in German, but I kind of understood. Placed the files in the Library, and the lines in the Zones, but haven't seen any flares. Must have done something wrong. Was assuming that since SH3 and 4 use the same engine, and the folders where the files go are the same, that it would work. I would love to see these flares in my RFB install.
Fish40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.