SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Current crop of subsims & naval games > Wolfpack
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-22, 02:01 PM   #1
Bilge_Rat
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: standing watch...
Posts: 3,740
Downloads: 343
Uploads: 0
Default graphic bug - ocean horizon noise/static

I noticed this bug a few weeks ago, basically the area just below the horizon looks like the static you would see on old TVs. I posted screenshots, although it does not show up very well. It shows up most clearly in the tutorial. The rest of the ocean looks fine.

I switched to a NVIDIA 3070ti a few months back, but the bug was not present at the time. I thought it might be a driver issue so tried various drivers from the original 512.15 I was using when I bought my card to the newest 526.98, but no joy. I also tried changing the various in game graphic settings as well as those in the NVIDIA control panel, but again no fix.

Has anyone else noticed this and is there a workaround? I am also wondering if there was a recent change to the game code that might be causing this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20221117123631_1.jpg (97.4 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg 20221117123620_1.jpg (95.7 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Bilge_Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-22, 10:45 AM   #2
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 20,853
Downloads: 517
Uploads: 221


Default

Huh, well, I think I see what you mean, I will check into it. I think it will be easier to demo with a video, maybe the devs know what this could be.
__________________
SUBSIM - 26 Years on the Web
Onkel Neal is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-22, 01:56 PM   #3
Bilge_Rat
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: standing watch...
Posts: 3,740
Downloads: 343
Uploads: 0
Default

posted a video which shows the problem a bit clearer. Note it does not show up when using the binoculars or UZO.

link:

__________________
Bilge_Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-22, 06:26 PM   #4
BrendaEM
Seaman
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 36
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Have you tried adding some anti-aliasing, such as 8x SSAA?
You may take a performance hit.

Also, running a lot of aniosotropic filtering such as 8X--especially without AA may do that.
Running less may give you more performance.

On nVidia cards, multi-frame anti-aliasing may help, too.
BrendaEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-22, 08:55 AM   #5
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 20,853
Downloads: 517
Uploads: 221


Default

Yes, try some changes in your settings, lets see how that works.

I had a dream about this last night, sort of. In my dream I was watching someone's youtube video of Wolfpack and I could see some waves were stuck in a loop, very visibly repeating the same movement over and over ....
__________________
SUBSIM - 26 Years on the Web
Onkel Neal is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-22, 10:34 AM   #6
Bilge_Rat
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: standing watch...
Posts: 3,740
Downloads: 343
Uploads: 0
Default

did some more testing, unclicking "Anistropic filtering" and reducing "water resolution" in game solves the issue, but other parts of the ocean look worse, so no free ride.

I am starting to think this is not a bug per se, but just the way the game renders water resolution at the highest setting.
__________________
Bilge_Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-22, 05:57 PM   #7
BrendaEM
Seaman
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 36
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

For those who have not adjusted settings like these...

Anti-Aliasing: more noticeably-affects/smooths mostly geometry in the whole scene. It help prevents "jaggies" and harsh stair-step artifacts on the screen. There are several schemes. Super sampling is the nicest.

Anisotropic Filtering mostly affects the clarity and detail of textures in the distance. Turning it up often requires the use of more AA to smooth it out.

[It is meant to be a step above MIP(Malto-ImParvo multiple sized texture)-mapping. It may help with the water because oddly, the water often has a transparent texture map, an environment map, and often a bump or normal map. It could have a displacement map, but that's a little different.

In nVidia, there also DSR-Factors, which lets you draw on a larger virtual screen--and then it dowmsamples it. If your video card has enough oomph, and your monitor isn't 4k, it functions as an arguably better anit-aliasing.

So, adding some Antialiasing alone may help smooth the distant objects, if you video card is fast enough.

This video shows some examples.
BrendaEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-22, 10:17 PM   #8
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 20,853
Downloads: 517
Uploads: 221


Default

Thanks, that's helpful
__________________
SUBSIM - 26 Years on the Web
Onkel Neal is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-22, 12:58 PM   #9
Kralizec
Nub
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Default

Do you have dithering all the way cranked?


Dithering is noise. It helps you eliminate banding on gradients, but if there's too much then you might see noisy patterns.
Kralizec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.