SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2014, 06:32 PM   #121
Obercunnersdorf
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Downloads: 280
Uploads: 0
Default

hello, how do I remove the real navigation? It is difficult to use
Obercunnersdorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 06:44 PM   #122
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,482
Downloads: 265
Uploads: 22


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obercunnersdorf View Post
hello, how do I remove the real navigation? It is difficult to use
I don't use this mod anymore, but I'm pretty sure that vdr198 (did I spell that right?) is working on a version without real navigation.
__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?p=2572620
Historical FotRSU Gameplay Guide: https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho....php?p=2713394
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 03:08 AM   #123
limkol
XO
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: looking in the bilge for a bottle opener
Posts: 412
Downloads: 208
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks to vdr1981 for this mod. No ctds for me so far.

No matter how exiting SH5 was before, or how user friendly people thought the game was without real nav.....SH5 was a real disappointment because of the ctds. Remember how it was, you've achieved your objectives, you are still celebrating the raid on Skapa Flow or the sinking of the Queen Mary, you have had the time of your life escaping the depth charges and boooooom......... the game crashes to desktop and your game is not saved. And then all the detective work: 'does this mod conflict with the other 85?' 'Remove them one by one and test' 'And test again and another ctd'.

So thanks again vdr1981 for a stable megamod. Mission accomplished.

But remember also, that all the great megamods in SH3 and SH4 had other compatible mods added later by other modders. People are going to mix and match anyway, no matter how big or good the megamod is.

I think it is a great idea that instructions are given about how to remove the blurred water effect for example. A patch is not always necessary if people know how to do it themselves on their own responsibility. It also gives the modders time to get on with other things.

Real nav: I never tried it until now. It's not as hard as people might think. Of course it takes time and some people may prefer to 'teleport' to the hunting grounds and see some action as fast as possible. Fair enough. But if you want to play this game as a simulation game, then real nav is the one to chose.

Just as a matter of curiosity, vdr1981, why have you chosen the original SH5 characters with the eye patch and glasses? Stability?

Anyhow, I had sort of put SH5 on the shelf because of the ctd problems. But thanks to the work of the modding community, it is back in use again.
limkol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:53 AM   #124
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,069
Downloads: 787
Uploads: 10


Default Instructions on how to make the u-boat and other units again visible on map

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obercunnersdorf View Post
hello, how do I remove the real navigation? It is difficult to use
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermat47 View Post
I don't use this mod anymore, but I'm pretty sure that vdr198 (did I spell that right?) is working on a version without real navigation.
Step 1: disable The Wolves of Steel

Step 2: open data\Menu\menu.txt in notepad, and remove semicolons ( ; ) from the following lines:

Code:
...
;820=Unknown
;821=Warship
;822=Merchant
;823=Submarine
;824=Aircraft
...
;2273=Your submarine
...
Step 3: delete the following files from The Wolves of Steel

data\Menu\cfg\Maps.cfg
data\Menu\Gui\ContLine.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\Torp.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitAir.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitAirL.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitAirM.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitMShip.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitMShipL.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitMShipM.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\PlayerSub.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\Sub.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\SubL.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\SubM.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitWShip.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitWShipL.dds
data\Menu\Gui\Units\UnitWShipM.dds
data\Submarine\NSS_Uboat7a\NSS_Uboat7a_shp.dds
data\Submarine\NSS_Uboat7b\NSS_Uboat7b_shp.dds
data\Submarine\NSS_Uboat7c\NSS_Uboat7c_shp.dds
data\Submarine\NSS_Uboat7c41\NSS_Uboat7c41_shp.dds
data\Terrain\LocationMaps\ShapeTextures\arrowbody. dds
data\Terrain\LocationMaps\ShapeTextures\arrowbody. tga
data\Terrain\LocationMaps\ShapeTextures\arrowbody_ red.dds
data\Terrain\LocationMaps\ShapeTextures\TextureArr owHead.dds
data\Terrain\LocationMaps\ShapeTextures\TextureArr owHead_red.dds

Step 4: re-enable the megamod.

Step 6: if you want to customize the style of contacts and lines displayed on map, enable any of the TDW Add-on mods on top of The Wolves of Steel.

Step 7: launch the game, load your campaign, open the options menu (only available while in bunker IIRC) and make sure that map contacts are switched on.

That's all guys.
I hope I didn't forget anything. You should still be able to ask your navigator for dead reckoning/celestial fixes, but this feature would be pretty useless, indeed.

One last world, if you care: now that you know how to switch back to the much more comforting "GPS navigation" of stock game, may I ask you to refrain from following my instructions right away, and to give real navigation a try for good? Shouldn't work for you, you are always in time for getting back to this post

Quote:
Originally Posted by limkol View Post
Real nav: I never tried it until now. It's not as hard as people might think. Of course it takes time and some people may prefer to 'teleport' to the hunting grounds and see some action as fast as possible. Fair enough. But if you want to play this game as a simulation game, then real nav is the one to chose.
True!

If even a samurai going by the name of limkol, from the bilge, was able to use real navigation with the only aid of a bottle opener (if ever he found it), why you skilled captains should not be able to as well?
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 05:16 AM   #125
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,069
Downloads: 787
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skvid View Post
even after aplying the patch, compass nav tool continues to be misaligned (others tools are working properly now, however marks are a bit off when i try to place them)
Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Hm, looks like problem with plotting tools appeared because of high compression rate of the archive with winrar. Maybe you should try to extract the megamod again and tell me do you have some errors. If patch doesn't help try to download EQuaTool 01.01 by AvM and install it manually after the megamod.


tools' alignment getting altered by high compression rate? I don't think so, and enabling EQuaTool on top of 'The Wolves of Steel' + patch won't solve the issue either since, if memory serves me well, the problem is exactly in some wrong setting from one of its versions.

May I ask you to enable this mod instead? You can use it in combination with EquaTools if you want (see mod instructions for further detail), in wich case it should fix EquaTools's misaligned tools
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 06:19 AM   #126
limkol
XO
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: looking in the bilge for a bottle opener
Posts: 412
Downloads: 208
Uploads: 0
Default

Cheers Gap
limkol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 06:30 AM   #127
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,069
Downloads: 787
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
If even a samurai going by the name of limkol...
Quote:
Originally Posted by limkol View Post
Cheers Gap


Where's your opener? I can only see an half-epmpty bottle, but at least you are not longer a banzai Japanese sailor
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 06:49 AM   #128
limkol
XO
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: looking in the bilge for a bottle opener
Posts: 412
Downloads: 208
Uploads: 0
Default

The bottle's half full.....not half empty! According to equipment upgrades, I don't get the bottle opener until 1946

(Sorry for hijakking thread)
limkol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 07:20 AM   #129
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,069
Downloads: 787
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by limkol View Post
The bottle's half full.....not half empty!
At this pace that bottle will be 'fully empty' in no time

Quote:
Originally Posted by limkol View Post
According to equipment upgrades, I don't get the bottle opener until 1946


You should have reported the issue in EUF's thread then. Or maybe it is a feature?

Quote:
Originally Posted by limkol View Post
(Sorry for hijakking thread)
I join the apology request
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 12:47 PM   #130
chun
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: spain
Posts: 104
Downloads: 403
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for this Mod, good job
__________________




courage and wisdom
chun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 01:31 PM   #131
Muerevich
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

No idea what to do I click on sub in map but i cant plot its course, i just have a compass and some other navigation tools but they just draw lines on map, how do i move my sub, each time I exit the harbor I crash on the bank across, do I steer my sub manually? don't I have a navigator and pilot for this?
Muerevich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:20 PM   #132
limkol
XO
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: looking in the bilge for a bottle opener
Posts: 412
Downloads: 208
Uploads: 0
Default

Muerevich, you can use the pilot to get you out of the harbour using automation. You can also use the automation function to get your navigator to place your position on the map automatically. You set the compass to the direction you need to sail and get the navigator to fix your position as often as you want by clicking on the nav officer icon.
A guy called Stoiamn has made some YouTube videos to explain real navigation in greater detail and shows what map tools to use etc.
Don't give up, it gets easier..

Be aware: if you click on the compass to change course while you are using time compression, the boat does not always change course. I only change course with time compression on 1.
limkol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:23 PM   #133
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,068
Downloads: 573
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by limkol View Post
A guy called Stoiamn has made some YouTube videos to explain real navigation in greater detail and shows what map tools to use etc.
Don't give up, it gets easier..
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:41 PM   #134
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,458
Downloads: 166
Uploads: 28


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muerevich View Post
No idea what to do I click on sub in map but i cant plot its course, i just have a compass and some other navigation tools but they just draw lines on map, how do i move my sub, each time I exit the harbor I crash on the bank across, do I steer my sub manually? don't I have a navigator and pilot for this?

Using "Real Navigation" with "Trevally Auto Scripts"

In the bunker run scripts Kiel Outbound and Real Nav Auto Position.



When Harbour pilot is finished you should be here



Use the Nav Officer to get a fix



With the ruler draw your next leg. Note 40km at 284 deg



Work out how long at your speed (9.5knots) will it take to get to your waypoint.



Make notes with supermarks



Draw legs and set headings to your patrol area. "Auto fix" will keep posting your position on the map.

You can click on the stopwatch to get an alarm clock that TDW added. This can be set to alarm when your timed legs runs are up.

As you get closer to patrol area, start using "No Station Search for Real Nav" You must go below to use as the boat will auto dive.

__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:44 PM   #135
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,458
Downloads: 166
Uploads: 28


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonci87
Thanks for the explanation Trevally, I´m tempted to try it. One question. If I use RN, how can I determine the course of a target?

By observing the target.
Can be by sight, hydro or radar.

If you know what bearing from you the target is - next find the range.
Plot this on your map - i.e. bearing 10deg range 7km
Wait some time and do it again. You can now plot a second mark and this will give you an est of target course and speed.
Enough that you can get closer without them seeing you and plot an attack.

To get range by sight you can use the stadi or the raobf
To get range by hydro - you need to do some map work - see a snap shot of my tutorials here:-


Quote:
When you run the Four Bearings Tutorial in game, it will take you through
some key areas of map work first.






This is followed by a step by step instruction for finding enough target info
from long range hydro contact. Thus allowing you to plan an intercept course and gather all info required for a firing solution.




As each part is displayed, you then apply it to your game as the tutorial advances. This will allow you to move on at your own pace.
You can also rewind (scroll) and repeat a section again.
The tutorial will guide you right through to attacking the target.



Even as the tutorial is best run with real nav and no map updates,
you can have these features on and see what is happening.
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.