SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2015, 06:30 PM   #1531
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1091
Uploads: 0


Default

Make a copy of your CareerHistory CFg file and put it somewhere where it will not get deleted.

If you have to do a reinstall you can just copy this file back and you can skip the tutorial when you start a new career.

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 09:52 PM   #1532
kunral
Nub
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

My problems happen with or without the hotfix. I was going to post earlier than I did but realized there was a hotfix which I wasn't using. So I added it but it didn't change anything for me.
kunral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:07 AM   #1533
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,068
Downloads: 573
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulB View Post
After the hotfix, I started a new campaign, completed the Danzig mission and docked at Kiel Sept 3, 1939. As I was a little early, I then did the "start patrol without new orders-dock immediately-get new mission" trick to get access to BTF/EBCW.
I chose Scapa Flow (BTF). Twice I got a CTD upon trying to start the patrol.
Third time I actually got into the boat and set the harbour pilot for Kiel outbound via canal.
Well, I got another CTD soon after I got into the canal.
I always make manual game save in the bunker and then restart the game. If you jump directly from one patrol to another the game may CTD, especially in KIel harbor.
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 10:08 AM   #1534
steve_lyons
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 27
Downloads: 89
Uploads: 0
Default Installation Problems. Can't find an answer for the life of me!

Hi guys,

My problem is outlined by the OP of this thread. Any ideas? This great looking mod has brought me back here after a few years' absence. Would appreciate a hand mates.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...=1#post2308312

__________________
steve_lyons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 02:11 PM   #1535
Deep_Hunter
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 50
Downloads: 80
Uploads: 0
Default

I guess the reason why nobody answered my question about german radio messages is, that there is no mod...
Additionally I have to report a problem with a savegame...Before entering the english channel I saved. In the channel I sank some ships but unfortunatly I had to quit the game. When I loaded the savegame I had the marks for the ships on the navigation map, although there was no tonnage in the log...To make it clear: I sank the ships after the saving and didnt save again. I also didnt load an autosave. Never had this before, is this normal?
Deep_Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 04:17 PM   #1536
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,068
Downloads: 573
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep_Hunter View Post
I guess the reason why nobody answered my question about german radio messages is, that there is no mod...
Additionally I have to report a problem with a savegame...Before entering the english channel I saved. In the channel I sank some ships but unfortunatly I had to quit the game. When I loaded the savegame I had the marks for the ships on the navigation map, although there was no tonnage in the log...To make it clear: I sank the ships after the saving and didnt save again. I also didnt load an autosave. Never had this before, is this normal?
It happens sometimes when you load older savegame without game restart...


Guys with CTD's, can you confirm that you get CTD at midnight exactly ?
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:33 PM   #1537
Nippelspanner
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,248
Downloads: 203
Uploads: 0


Default

After a fresh SH5 installation with this mod (and the patch + hot fix), I encounter a lot of weird bugs. Maybe some of you know why they happen or how to fix, cause they make it next to unplayable for me.

- Crew often not on deck after surfacing the boat, only saving/reloading helps.
- Telegraph acts weird. I order standard speed (3) but it only sets to slow ahead (2) and so on, it is always one speed setting behind the ordered one.
- Ordering full stop takes ages, screws keep turning/running for a while, so does the Diesel - seems odd.
- Water drops sometimes "freeze" on the lens/screen and don't disappear for a while - can I delete those completely? I hate them.
- Ships/boat sometimes stops 'bobbing' completely. I noticed this while shooting with the DG on some merchant. While it was nice for precise shooting, it definitely was a bug. Sea was absolutely calm - but boats and ships usually always move a little.
- I attacked a polish submarine, hit it stern and to my surprise, the sub wasn't destroyed immediately. The bow was sticking out of the water, rest was deep below and I could hear the machines still running, it even made some knots... what the?
- Some orders happen with huge delays, sometimes they don't work at all.
For example, I ordered a crash dive, it was listed in the message box bottom right, I heard the alarm bell etc... but the boat just never dived?
I then hit crash dive again and it dived in 15(!) seconds - wha!?

Overall, I just have the feeling "something" is very wrong with my installation.
Would appreciate some hints or clarification.

Other than that, I really like the mod so far but:
Why does the 1WO still have his eyepatch?
And are these silly special abilities still ingame?
I'd love to fix both of these problems, is that possible?

Another important thing: Language.
I'd like to have my menus and texts in German for immersion - is there a German version?
Nippelspanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:33 PM   #1538
alien41
Watch
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Downloads: 127
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello Guys;

I completed the mission in Scapa Flow, but not won the medal of progression.

Appears mission accomplished in Captain log. Something is wrong?

I'm using Wos patch 5 with the latest hotfix.

Thanks!
alien41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:39 PM   #1539
Havner
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 18
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nippelspanner View Post
- Crew often not on deck after surfacing the boat, only saving/reloading helps.
I don't use WOS now but my own set of mods that's similar to WOS, just smaller and I hit this one pretty often. Might be some issue with MightyFine Crew Mod.

Quote:
- Water drops sometimes "freeze" on the lens/screen and don't disappear for a while - can I delete those completely? I hate them.
In the generic patcher there is patch in "render patches" that removes water droplets completely.

Quote:
For example, I ordered a crash dive, it was listed in the message box bottom right, I heard the alarm bell etc... but the boat just never dived?
I then hit crash dive again and it dived in 15(!) seconds - wha!?
Stupid question. You sure you were not standing on the deck while ordering for the first time? The bells seem to trigger, but you don't dive with a message that a crew is on the deck.

And the german version is available in the TDW NewUI. Not sure though if it is fully compatible with WOS, some messages might be missing.

Last edited by Havner; 04-21-2015 at 05:59 PM.
Havner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:58 PM   #1540
Nippelspanner
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,248
Downloads: 203
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks for the help Havner!
I'm 100% sure I was under deck when I ordered the crash dive - I learned my lesson the first few times I tried to dive while on the bridge

Maybe it was some random hickup and won't happen again, I'll do some crash dives later to see if the problem is repeatable.

I found the water drop thingie in the patcher, no idea why I didn't think of that myself, thanks a ton!
Nippelspanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:59 PM   #1541
Husksubsky
XO
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: oslo,Norway
Posts: 424
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_lyons View Post
Hi guys,

My problem is outlined by the OP of this thread. Any ideas? This great looking mod has brought me back here after a few years' absence. Would appreciate a hand mates.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...=1#post2308312

I ve had the version conflict thing once. Might be something that happens during patching to 1.2. I had a folder containing all original files files altered by tdw patch. Replaced and started the procedure again without problem.
Husksubsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 06:13 PM   #1542
steve_lyons
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 27
Downloads: 89
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Husksubsky View Post
Might be something that happens during patching to 1.2.
Thanks but I've got it sorted... Only took me hours to pull off. I'm new to SH5 (was a huge fan of Grey Wolves and SH3) and didn't realise the problems posed by the steam exe.

Since then I've followed a number of tutorials to get it up and running properly. Namely this little gem of a thread. For anyone interested in getting steam SH5 modded right, the first post (read very carefully) is all you'll need.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...=214687&page=5

Cheers!
__________________
steve_lyons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 06:15 PM   #1543
Havner
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 18
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Husksubsky View Post
The third is intended. Inertia I think its called.Intended and should be realistic.Never checked that out. Around 30 secs I think from standard speed.
There is also a patch for this in the generic patcher. It's called "RPM intertia". You can turn that off if that bothers you. I think WOS snapshot has it turned on by default.
There is also a setting in the OFEV that makes your crewman react to your orders with a little delay (6 secs by default IIRC). This affects speed, direction setting and possibly more.
Havner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 06:48 PM   #1544
Husksubsky
XO
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: oslo,Norway
Posts: 424
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Havner View Post
There is also a patch for this in the generic patcher. It's called "RPM intertia". You can turn that off if that bothers you. I think WOS snapshot has it turned on by default.
There is also a setting in the OFEV that makes your crewman react to your orders with a little delay (6 secs by default IIRC). This affects speed, direction setting and possibly more.
Sorry for taking posts in and out was messing up with multiquote
Can add that thers also an intended delay before crashdive so "crew can get into boat". Can be changed in optionfileeditor if not mistaken
Husksubsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 06:59 PM   #1545
Nippelspanner
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,248
Downloads: 203
Uploads: 0


Default

Speaking of 'bugs'.
Just leaving Kiel for my second patrol on September 3, when...





It is (was) a polish merchant, heading for Kiel on September 3, 1939.
Nippelspanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.