SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 07:46 AM   #1
Shkval
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 192
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 0
Default Sargo tower upgrade - lost SJ radar... again...

Well this becomes tiresome... after all modes and patches I lost my radar after tower refit... tried to reload... even to return from Japanese islands all the way back home again and nothing changed... is there a cure for this?
Running TMO 2.5 + RSRDC+RSRDC patch...
__________________
Come closer... and die.
Shkval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:59 PM   #2
Red October1984
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,943
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 0


Default

Take a little bit of renown...and put another one on.

__________________
Engineering & USAF
Red October1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:22 PM   #3
Shkval
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 192
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 0
Default

Tried also... doesn't work...
__________________
Come closer... and die.
Shkval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:40 PM   #4
merc4ulfate
DILLIGAF
 
merc4ulfate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 2,032
Downloads: 197
Uploads: 0
Default

Almost every refit I go through I have to re purchase with renown the same equipment I had before the refit. I just add them again and all is good.
merc4ulfate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:43 PM   #5
Red October1984
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,943
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 0


Default

I just got a shiny new Balao class submarine...SJ Radar is pretty helpful. I had it on the Gar Class boat I used before.

Radar actually has a use in SH4. In SH3, It was next to useless.
__________________
Engineering & USAF
Red October1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:19 PM   #6
Shkval
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 192
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 0
Default

Guys, what I'm trying to say is that there is no radar no matter what I do, buy it, reload, etc etc I had red some old threads about this bug/problem, and there are some solutions involving digging and editing the files but none of this solutions is for my list of modes... there is even a separate mod for this problem but only for stock 1.5 game... will it work for TMO 2.5+RSRDC... anyone tried?
__________________
Come closer... and die.
Shkval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:45 PM   #7
HertogJan
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 357
Downloads: 125
Uploads: 0
Default

Well... euhm....


You have a new tower, the radar installed was not salvageable for the new one due to new measurments, cabling and piping, hens the cost of a new one .


Regards,


Lt.Cdr Fitting
Shipyard 20
Pearl Harbor
HertogJan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:39 PM   #8
merc4ulfate
DILLIGAF
 
merc4ulfate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 2,032
Downloads: 197
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm running the latest TMO and RSRD together. I had issues in the past with refits not coming out correctly and not being able to apply items. I found I was running an old RSRD with the latest TMO. After I scrubbed all mods and then made sure to initialize the mods one at a time rebooting between activations all is well and there is no refit issues or deck gun issues.
merc4ulfate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:52 PM   #9
Larrywb57
Planesman
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 189
Downloads: 217
Uploads: 0
Default

I also brought SJ-radar for my Salmon class boat after conning tower refit. It doesn't work when I turn on the switch on the order bar or at the radar station. I have since completed a patrol after the refit and in the middle of another patrol. I don't mind spending renown to the equipment, need to spend to keep the war effort going. I have also read the post earlier, 'Where's my SJ Radar?' (Post#180088 &highlight=Salmon%28). I thought it might be a shot in the dark, but I downloaded and tried CaptScurvy's 'Stock SH4 version 1.5 Upgrades Correction.' Even after reading the readme, I thought it might not work. But, I enjoy this game so much! Thanks to all the skippers that help folks like me to understand how the game works and to the skippers that take time to make the mods that make this game so enjoyable.
My mods are:
TMO 2.5,
1.5 OTC 031212 for TMO 2.5
1.5_OTC_US Radar from Start for TMO
Larrywb57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2021, 07:42 AM   #10
NedLand
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 1
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default Sargo half cut radar problem

Brought my Sargo into Brisbane January 9, 1943. Received the half cut conning tower upgrade, noticed all my radar and deck weapons were gone, purchased new radar and weapons, and shipped out. I cannot turn on my radar, though my equipment list shows it installed. There is no visible radar antenna of either type on the tower. Is there a fix for this? Looking through the UnitPartsSargo6 file there are some options that look promising. Has anyone seen this issue in the past?
NedLand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2021, 08:19 AM   #11
Bubblehead1980
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 5,597
Downloads: 481
Uploads: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NedLand View Post
Brought my Sargo into Brisbane January 9, 1943. Received the half cut conning tower upgrade, noticed all my radar and deck weapons were gone, purchased new radar and weapons, and shipped out. I cannot turn on my radar, though my equipment list shows it installed. There is no visible radar antenna of either type on the tower. Is there a fix for this? Looking through the UnitPartsSargo6 file there are some options that look promising. Has anyone seen this issue in the past?


Unfortunately, it is an old bug that is still present. I have tried to solve it in TMO but am at standstill, but we do have options. Below is a link to the downloads section where you can get instructions on how to fix your current boat.

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/dow...o=file&id=5726



I am working on putting together instructions for manual refits since game does not do it properly.


You will see in the Data/Submarine/Salmon.UPC the conning tower upgrade dates. Typically for early war boats its 6/26/42. SJ becomes available before this, then the upgrade happens a patrol or two later after June 26, 1942 , usually. Then of course, you have to reequip SJ radar and as you found, it does not work.

I have found best solution is to (using the procedure in the link above) refit the conning tower the upgrade date, before the sim does it on its own and usually prevents losing radar.

If your case, you may have to go back to a previous save, but least you can solve it. While I believe the document says can do it at sea, I prefer to do this while in port.

Make sure to back up current files.

Hope this helps.
Bubblehead1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.