SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-10, 12:50 PM   #346
PL_Andrev
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 992
Downloads: 91
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
ah I see what you mean. Wish I could put timers in that AI code but can't.
Really?
And what do you think about system clock?
__________________

PL_Andrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-10, 12:54 PM   #347
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antar View Post
Really?
And what do you think about system clock?
the devs have a set of 'rules' and a set of functions that you are allowed to use in the AI 'blocks' like action, precond, etc. Each unit (aircraft, sub, ship) has different functions also. It's very complicated and I'm still figuring out what can and can't be done. I know I can't call out to any system level or outside functions though. C++ syntax is partly enforced and then again it's not I'm waiting on info from the devs that I've asked for
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-10, 02:38 PM   #348
PL_Andrev
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 992
Downloads: 91
Uploads: 0
Default

TDW,

What about ramming?
At SH3 ramming into was very dangerous for uboat (in real for DD too), but ramming into conning tower was safe.
Is this bug still existed in IRAI or is solved?
__________________

PL_Andrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-10, 02:41 PM   #349
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antar View Post
TDW,

What about ramming?
At SH3 ramming into was very dangerous for uboat (in real for DD too), but ramming into conning tower was safe.
Is this bug still existed in IRAI or is solved?
ramming is in there. Any ship will try to ram you if their weight is > defined weight and their distance is < defined distance from you (these defined items are in the init.aix file)
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-10, 02:51 PM   #350
TopCat
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 105
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0
Default

I just attacked a convoy with 3 Escort units. They detected me, but by staying at periscope depth and keeping a parallel course to a merchant ship at a distance of about 100 metres, they were not able to get me, because they did not come as close to the merchant as they would have needed to.

Is there some kind of safety distance they have to keep? And if so, can there be done something to change that? I was able to cruise for hours without being attacked by the escorts. They just circled around me and my "merchant guard".
TopCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-10, 03:18 PM   #351
PL_Andrev
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 992
Downloads: 91
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
ramming is in there. Any ship will try to ram you if their weight is > defined weight and their distance is < defined distance from you (these defined items are in the init.aix file)
I mean the bug with weak durability of submarine hull and super hard durability of conning tower...
__________________

PL_Andrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-10, 12:55 AM   #352
Wolfling04
Frogman
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Nebraska...
Posts: 303
Downloads: 102
Uploads: 0
Default

All I have to say is wow. the aircraft in this mod are DEADLY. They come outta no where and bomb you straight to hell.

Major props to you TDW
__________________
I'm a gas pumpen, tire and brake changin, fix anything, jet fuel drinken, USAF Crew Chief.
Wolfling04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-10, 07:47 AM   #353
PL_Andrev
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 992
Downloads: 91
Uploads: 0
Default

I look on the AI script code and have question (do not be angry if I'm wrong again):

What about procedure:

Ship:SetThrottleRatio = 0.9*(1-Ship:GetDamage)
Ship:WaitAction(1)
Ship:SetThrottleRatio = 0.8*(1-Ship:GetDamage)
Ship:WaitAction(1)
...
__________________

PL_Andrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-10, 08:00 AM   #354
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antar View Post
I look on the AI script code and have question (do not be angry if I'm wrong again):

What about procedure:

Ship:SetThrottleRatio = 0.9*(1-Ship:GetDamage)
Ship:WaitAction(1)
Ship:SetThrottleRatio = 0.8*(1-Ship:GetDamage)
Ship:WaitAction(1)
...
you have a brilliant idea but one small problem. Ship:GetDamage starts at 0 and works its way up to 1. This is all fine and dandy for deck gun shots but a torpedo hit causes massive damage and would thus result in an instant speed change on the first 0.9 * .... But there is a way to do this using 'steps'. Using your method posted above will always cause the ship to slow down even if it has no damage. Your idea has given me an idea on something to try though
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-10, 01:37 PM   #355
marleymen
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Con dos cojones, ESPAÑA
Posts: 190
Downloads: 123
Uploads: 0
Default

Brainstorming, thank you everyone who make this game better !!
marleymen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-10, 11:43 AM   #356
brian.larkin
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default IRAI - Destroyer wolfpack

How in the HECK do you get away from 5 or 6 destroyers? I've been able to avoid being DC'd (mostly) but there is no amount of maneuvers that will allow me to evade them.

Do they ever just "give up"?

They seem to have super sonar sometimes.
brian.larkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-10, 12:14 PM   #357
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian.larkin View Post
How in the HECK do you get away from 5 or 6 destroyers? I've been able to avoid being DC'd (mostly) but there is no amount of maneuvers that will allow me to evade them.

Do they ever just "give up"?

They seem to have super sonar sometimes.
welcome to IRAI!

going deep, deploying decoys, and evasive maneuvers (not necessarily in that order) are your friends.....
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-10, 12:37 PM   #358
brian.larkin
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
welcome to IRAI!

going deep, deploying decoys, and evasive maneuvers (not necessarily in that order) are your friends.....

I AM deep.. don't matter. And I don't have decoy's, still early in the war.

Sprint, drift, sprint, drift, change course, plod along at 1kt..2 kt.. 200m deep, nothing.. they just circle like hawks.

I notice that the "pac man" detect circles go from small to large and back to small, kind of flittering back and forth. Are they doing their own sprint/drift tactics?


Is there away to evade a group larger than 3? It seems with their combined tactics anything larger than 3 is just a killer group (no need to be a hunter).
brian.larkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-10, 12:39 PM   #359
marleymen
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Con dos cojones, ESPAÑA
Posts: 190
Downloads: 123
Uploads: 0
Default

Recently you were angry at the default AI .... and now you complain that is too hard

Who understands us?

Thanks TDW Be more agressive !!
marleymen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-10, 12:54 PM   #360
brian.larkin
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marleymen View Post
Recently you were angry at the default AI .... and now you complain that is too hard

Who understands us?

Thanks TDW Be more agressive !!

Don't get me wrong. I love it better than the stock which was too easy. I wonder if the swarm's aren't too close to each other. A little more space between them would make it easier to slip between.

Or some sort of "fog of war" variable.

They just don't make a mistake large enought to slip away.

At least IMO....

Ubisoft should give TDW games for life however. The amount he's been able to do is amazing.
brian.larkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.