SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997 |
12-30-09, 01:46 PM | #1 |
Watch Officer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 332
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
|
[HELP] Intelligence Received Event
I'm having a problem with the "Intelligence Received" event. I looked for the answer on here, but came up dry.
I created a simple mission and I want the player to receive a message with intelligence on an enemy's position, and have it plot the report on the map (like it normally does during patrols.) Here's how I'm setting up the event, but the game crashes when the message is supposed to come in: Event Type: Intelligence Received Trigger: It's a time trigger (I've also tried zone triggers) Intelligence Target: Unit or Group Instance Name: Merchant (the only ship in the mission besides the player) Error Radius: 400 The mission validates just fine. If I change the event to a standard text message, the mission works just fine. For some reason, the "Intelligence Received" message just causes it to crash. Any help would be appreciated. I could also send you the mission file if you want to have a look at it. Thanks!!
__________________
Last edited by jerm138; 12-30-09 at 02:22 PM. |
12-30-09, 02:13 PM | #2 |
Watch Officer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 332
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
|
For those who can look for errors in the code, or want to try it out, here it is:
[Mission] MissionType=0 MissionDataType=0 MultiMissionType=0 Year=1945 Month=1 Day=1 Hour=9 Minute=0 Fog=0 FogRand=0 Clouds=0 CloudsRand=0 Precip=0 PrecipRand=0 WindHeading=0 WindSpeed=5.000000 WindRand=0 WeatherRndInterval=5 SeaType=0 [Unit 1] Name=Player Class=SSSargo Type=200 Origin=American Side=0 Commander=1 CargoExt=-1 CargoInt=-1 CfgDate=19390101 DeleteOnLastWaypoint=false DockedShip=false GameEntryDate=19390116 GameEntryTime=0 GameExitDate=19451231 GameExitTime=0 EvolveFromEntryDate=false Long=15979200.000000 Lat=1166100.000000 Height=0.000000 Heading=0.000000 Speed=5.000000 CrewRating=3 DelayMin=0 ReportPosMin=-1 ReportPosProbability=100 RandStartRadius=0.000000 NextWP=0 [Unit 1.Waypoint 1] Speed=5.000000 Radius=0.000000 Loop=-1 LoopProbability=100 Long=15977000.000000 Lat=1178700.000000 Height=0.000000 [Unit 2] Name=Merchant Class=KLSSHakusika Type=102 Origin=Japan Side=2 Commander=0 CargoExt=1 CargoInt=0 CfgDate=19380101 DeleteOnLastWaypoint=true DockedShip=false GameEntryDate=19380101 GameEntryTime=0 GameExitDate=19451231 GameExitTime=0 EvolveFromEntryDate=false Long=15960200.000000 Lat=1195500.000000 Height=0.000000 Heading=270.000000 Speed=5.000000 CrewRating=0 DelayMin=0 ReportPosMin=-1 ReportPosProbability=100 RandStartRadius=0.000000 NextWP=0 [Unit 2.Waypoint 1] Speed=5.000000 Radius=0.000000 Loop=-1 LoopProbability=100 Long=15693100.000000 Lat=1195500.000000 Height=0.000000 [Unit 2.Waypoint 2] Speed=5.000000 Radius=0.000000 Loop=-1 LoopProbability=100 Long=15693100.000000 Lat=1221000.000000 Height=0.000000 [Unit 2.Waypoint 3] Speed=5.000000 Radius=0.000000 Loop=-1 LoopProbability=100 Long=16019100.000000 Lat=1221000.000000 Height=0.000000 [Unit 2.Waypoint 4] Speed=5.000000 Radius=0.000000 Loop=0 LoopProbability=100 Long=16019100.000000 Lat=1195500.000000 Height=0.000000 [Objective 1] ObjName=Sink Obj=2 ObjType=0 RenownAwarded=0 Tonnage=1 TonnageType=0 [Trigger 1] TrigName=Trigger_Intel Type=1 Time=0 [Event 1] EventName=intel Type=3 TriggersNo=1 Trigger1=Trigger_Intel Inst=Merchant IntTarget=1 ErrorRadius=100.000000 [EditorParams] InitLongOff=104794000.000000 InitLatOff=-13338500.000000 ZoomIndex=0 Prefix=
__________________
|
12-30-09, 02:14 PM | #3 | |
Admiral
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
|
Quote:
Things you should check Entry and exit dates for the merchant Date and time for the report Start date for the mission Is it possible your merchant could be in a location that it may have been sunk by an enemy plane or ship? In other words, check to make sure your merchant actually exists at the time of the report. If you don't have a place to upload it, then go to your Mission folder and cpen the Missionname.mis with notepad and copy everything and paste it in here or a PM to me and then do the same with the .tsr file. Also are you using any mods? It sounds like you did it correctly, but it is possible it may crash with a Mod that has changed the way ships are shown on the map. (don't know for sure, never tried it) Peabody
__________________
System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2. |
|
12-30-09, 02:24 PM | #4 |
Watch Officer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 332
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
|
Thanks for the quick reply
The first one is above... Here's the .tsr text: [Text] MissionBriefing=This mission is to practice intercepting and destroying a target based on reported intel. MissionTitle=Intercept Practice Sink=Intercept and destroy the enemy ship.
__________________
|
12-30-09, 02:28 PM | #5 |
Watch Officer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 332
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
|
Also... I don't have any mods installed.
I checked the times, and they seemed okay. I'll try delaying the message a few minutes...
__________________
|
12-30-09, 02:49 PM | #6 |
Watch Officer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 332
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
|
Nope... delaying the intel by 5 minutes didn't work either.
__________________
|
12-30-09, 03:27 PM | #7 |
Admiral
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
|
Ok, just a quick test, but here is what I found.
1. Your report and the start of the mission are the exact same time, it really should be different. For example you are patrolling an area and then get a report of a Convoy headed your way, and you can position yourself to intecept it. 2. For some reason, I do not know why, it does NOT seem to work with a single unit. Even though the list says "unit or group" it only seems to work with a group. 3 It does not seem to work with a "single unit" or a "Random Generated Group:" 4. Now the good news, you can "trick" the game into generating a report for a single unit by right clicking on the unit and "Create Group from Unit" , just don't add any other ships to the group. Now it will generate the report since it is a group of only one ship. So, as long as it is a "group" it works, even if it is only a "one ship group". Edit: one more suggestion: Do not set the ship to "delete on last waypoint", if the group deletes on the last waypoint and does not exist, it may also cause a crash....not tested but I think it will work that way. Peabody
__________________
System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2. |
12-30-09, 03:46 PM | #8 | |
Watch Officer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 332
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 0
|
Quote:
That does exactly what I want it to now. Thank you so much!
__________________
|
|
12-30-09, 04:20 PM | #9 | |
Admiral
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
|
Quote:
Peabody
__________________
System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2. |
|
|
|