SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Sub/Naval & General Games Discussion (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=177)
-   -   Battle Fleet 2: WW2 Naval Strategy (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=214890)

capitalj 08-27-2014 08:40 PM

Sub question
 
Hey guys, I'm working on adding the submarines and had a question for you WW2 sub experts. Would cannon fire from a regular warship be able to damage a sub while it was at periscope depth?

The reason I ask is because in the game if one player ends up with a ship left that has no depth charges or torpedoes, while the other player has a submarine, there should still be a way for the first player to have a chance of destroying the sub even if it doesn't surface. Otherwise that could be an exploit in the game and having a submarine will throw off the balance.

TorpX 08-28-2014 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by capitalj (Post 2237018)
Hey guys, I'm working on adding the submarines and had a question for you WW2 sub experts. Would cannon fire from a regular warship be able to damage a sub while it was at periscope depth?

I would say the potential for this is very low. The bursting charges of most shells is much less than for depth charges. The IJN actually had 'anti-submarine' shells, but I don't know of a single case where a US sub suffered damage from these while submerged.

Onkel Neal 08-28-2014 08:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by capitalj (Post 2237018)
Hey guys, I'm working on adding the submarines and had a question for you WW2 sub experts. Would cannon fire from a regular warship be able to damage a sub while it was at periscope depth?

The reason I ask is because in the game if one player ends up with a ship left that has no depth charges or torpedoes, while the other player has a submarine, there should still be a way for the first player to have a chance of destroying the sub even if it doesn't surface. Otherwise that could be an exploit in the game and having a submarine will throw off the balance.

You could have it so the surface ship leaves the scene; calls in an airplane to drop a depth bomb; or spots for another escort.

Having a warship attack a submerged sub with cannons is not realistic. First, the sub would go deep and that would be the end of it. :salute:

biosthetique 08-28-2014 08:34 PM

Since you want to add Zubmarines, remember that torpedoes have an inertial gyroscope, and they can be fired straight then make a 90 degrees turn toward their targets. It is valid for torpedo shot from subs and any other ships.

Then a destroyer can shoot its canons at a diving sub (conning tower still visible) and damage it. The destroyer can also damage the periscope, or destroy it by shooting at it or passing over the sub which periscope is up.

I played the entire Pacific campaign and I liked it.

I understand the game is not finished yet, and it is a great strong base to build up a great game.

Great job and good luck!

Lewis Wingerter 08-29-2014 11:29 AM

ref subs
 
There is one way to get a submerge sub is wait it out; it has to surface for air and then it would be vulnerable to cannon fire(barring staying away from the sub torpedo).

capitalj 08-29-2014 06:32 PM

Thanks for the suggestions! It's always a balance between realism and fun :)

BTW, Desura (the PC game store) is having a sale on a few games this weekend and Battle Fleet is 50% OFF there as well, so let your friends know or pick up a few copies to give away for birthdays :)

http://www.desura.com/games/battle-fleet-2

Skybird 09-08-2014 05:00 PM

FYI, I bought and installed the game on my Galaxy 10.1, Android updated to 4.4.2. After entering the game menu for the first time and entering graphics options, the thing blocked and the whole tablet stopped working, I needed to switch it off and reboot again, since nothing moved anymore. When then entering the game for the second time after rebooting the system, the game logo appeared, but else everything remained pitchblack, and the tablet again stopped working. So again: rebooting was needed.

First time ever in the 16 months I own it that I had to reboot to escape a system freeze.

Since testing time was still allowing it, I cancelled the deal and got a refund.

Might be willing to give it a try again once you confirm the bug has been identified and deleted. Note that on the (German) Google Playstore website people - at least one I remember - were reporting the same problem.

No comment on the game itself from me, I have not played a single second. ;)

Lewis Wingerter 09-08-2014 09:35 PM

Hi Skybird I got the game for my Galaxy Note 10.1 using Android 4.1.2 and I have not had any problems. It sound like you may have gotten a bad download or the newer android version has a problem with the game. regard Lewie

capitalj 09-09-2014 02:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skybird (Post 2241064)
FYI, I bought and installed the game on my Galaxy 10.1, Android updated to 4.4.2. After entering the game menu for the first time and entering graphics options, the thing blocked and the whole tablet stopped working, I needed to switch it off and reboot again, since nothing moved anymore. When then entering the game for the second time after rebooting the system, the game logo appeared, but else everything remained pitchblack, and the tablet again stopped working. So again: rebooting was needed.

Sorry about that. There is an issue with the current version of the game with graphics settings that might not be supported on your device. This issue will be corrected for the next Android version. In the meantime all you need to do is delete the game and download it again (that will reset your graphics settings) and use the default graphics setting (don't select a higher one).

Skybird 09-09-2014 06:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by capitalj (Post 2241193)
Sorry about that. There is an issue with the current version of the game with graphics settings that might not be supported on your device. This issue will be corrected for the next Android version. In the meantime all you need to do is delete the game and download it again (that will reset your graphics settings) and use the default graphics setting (don't select a higher one).

Let us know when the issue is solved, I maybe try again then. Since I noted that you did not reply to a guy named Daniel Maddog reporting the same issue on August 19th in the German Google Playstore, I just remind of that, he used an nVidia Shield Tablet, he said.

You said there also, in reply to somebody else, that a German version is being prepared. Nice! Not because I need it, but because it shows your commitment.

capitalj 10-22-2014 05:22 PM

Battle Fleet 2 gets Submarines!
 
@Skybird, the Android version has been updated and that graphics issue should be resolved now. Let me know if you have any more problems with it.

Great news! Battle Fleet 2 has just been updated with Submarines and other cool features!

You can now add subs to your fleet and use anti-sub warfare to counter them. Destroyers and Frigates now carry sub-detection and depth charges, while recon flights can be used to spot subs that have gone deep.

Also, I've added destructible terrain so you can punch holes through the island, improved the campaign AI, added French, Polish & German translations and lots of other fixes. You can get the game from http://www.battlefleetgame.com.

Let me know what you think.

Lewis Wingerter 10-22-2014 07:49 PM

Hi just got the new upgrade and did battle with a sub. It was great :up:
I found a possible bug. I had a American aircraft carrier fighting a cruiser when the cruiser ran outside of the playing grid. I tried to bomb the cruiser and my aiming sight would not go belong the dotted line. The cruiser never came back in and when I could get in range with my guns the cruiser sank me. This was the PC version . I have played the game on both Android and PC both side many times. This was the only strange problem that I had found . The game is fantastic.:yeah: Keep up the great work -Lewie

capitalj 10-22-2014 08:16 PM

I take it the cruiser was AI controlled, I think I know what could be causing that. Thanks for bringing it up, I'll investigate for the next update.

Lewis Wingerter 10-22-2014 09:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by capitalj (Post 2254397)
I take it the cruiser was AI controlled, I think I know what could be causing that. Thanks for bringing it up, I'll investigate for the next update.

Thats correct the ship was AI control.

capitalj 11-04-2014 07:09 PM

I've been getting lots of feedback since the sub update and lots of feature requests, especially an Atlantic campaign. To help expand the game and add all this cool new stuff, I've put together a funding campaign through Indiegogo where supporters can contribute to the game and actually vote on what features I add next. If you like the game, please help us spread the word by sharing the link with your friends:

http://igg.me/at/bf2expansions

Also, aside from all of the perks available for supporters, I'll be giving away prizes (gift cards, free copies of this and other games, etc..) to people who can refer the most supporters. To do that you'll need to use the share buttons at the top of the campaign page so your referrals are tracked :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.