SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

Xall 12-10-15 08:07 AM

First off, I want to say,
THANK YOU.

Thank you to all you modders out there,who made this game in my opinion the best Silent Hunter, a game with only one drawback, the limited U-Boat Selection.

And thank you for making this Mega Mod, a mod with excellent selection and an EASY installation that took me less than 10 minutes.

There are a few questions that I do have.
I noticed that, when selecting my ship heading, I do not get a read out when hovering over the dial. Giving me the minor annoyance of having to click several times to get the heading right.

Is there something I have to configure? Or is this intended? (The dial does get scaled up when hovering over it with the mouse.)

And my last question is, is there a way to integrate Parts MaGUI?

:up:

gap 12-10-15 08:25 AM

Bunker platforms as equipments
 
Another success :sunny:

I have moved platform models from the Terrain folder to the Library folder, and linked them to the bunker unit through Y bone/eqp file.
Outcome: the long process of placing platforms through Terrain/Object Editor is no longer needed; the platforms are now placed automatically at the correct height/angle, and centered on their bunker model; switching from one platform to another is as easy as changing a name in bunker's eqp file.
A nice side effect is that now the platforms inherit collisionability from their parent unit, i.e. they are no longer dummy stage elements but rather they have become "physical" objects. I am also under the impression that they contribute to the stability of the whole complex.
Last but not least, guns work as well as before. :up:

One side effect of the bunkers being now classified as land units (see my previous post for more) is that when you place them in campaign, ME will put them automatically on the sea bottom: you need to manually set their height back to zero. This is not a big problem though, and once you get experience on what can be considered a safe depth for correct gun functionality, it can help you in deciding the optimal position for coastal defences.

I will upload my updates later today, and post a link here :salute:

palmic 12-10-15 08:26 AM

..
 
Yes this is next important thing for newbie (ad Xall^) and i have one more hint extra:

The work with map could be very intuitive with shortcuts for map instruments as compass and marker pencil.
Its very frustrating to click them and you are always forced to loose your current map work context..

:salute:

vdr1981 12-10-15 09:29 AM

Hey Gap, you've got some realy good news there! :yeah:
Looking forward to your upload!:)

gap 12-10-15 09:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2365000)
Hey Gap, you've got some realy good news there! :yeah:
Looking forward to your upload!:)

Cleaning up the mod from now unneeded stuff :03:

What's the problem with coastal defences getting stuck in certain circumstances, that you were talking about the day before yesterday? :hmm2:

vdr1981 12-10-15 10:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by palmic (Post 2364957)
Gutten tag Kaleunen, i am new to SH5 (formal SH4 captain for some years at trigger maru) :)

.. And i have some questions for wolves of steel:

- do i have sonar available from the start of campaign? I suppose its not there yet..
Active sonar is removed due to it's unrealistic implementation (escorts wouldnt react to it, instantly 100% acurate distance readings ect).
However, several types of hydrophones will be offered to you during your play trough, with unique characteristics. You can even have two hydrophone types installed at the same time...

- can i use hydrophone RPM charts from RPM hydrophone mod? Do the sounds respect this logic? Please guys, i am hydrophone adict i need this as a essential part of u-boat hunt!! :rock:
Unfortunately, I dont think so...The RPM mod is vastly outdated and it will also drastically increase CTD possibility. Although I liked this mod, the prospect of accurate speed determination only by listening propeller noise in the distance, is not really realistic IMO...

- is there a possibility there are some mods in wolves of steel which are not listed here? I've seen some features from realistic hydrophone mod here in talks (dead angles and so), but its not really listed..
That mod is removed from the modpack because it's unfinished and bugged...


Quote:

Originally Posted by Xall (Post 2364971)
First off, I want to say,
THANK YOU.

Thank you to all you modders out there,who made this game in my opinion the best Silent Hunter, a game with only one drawback, the limited U-Boat Selection.

And thank you for making this Mega Mod, a mod with excellent selection and an EASY installation that took me less than 10 minutes.

There are a few questions that I do have.

I noticed that, when selecting my ship heading, I do not get a read out when hovering over the dial. Giving me the minor annoyance of having to click several times to get the heading right.
Precise navigation is something which did not existed during the WW2. SH5 with TWoS and TDW real navigation, unlike any other SH game, simulates this pretty well, especially if we know that there's even course drift "modeled" ...
http://s6.postimg.org/ycsvnnka5/SH5_...9_21_51_50.jpg
Anyway, what you wish could be achieved if you switch your UI to "SH5 enhanced"...

And my last question is, is there a way to integrate Parts MaGUI?

No..Maybe some day, with Sjizzle's help...

vdr1981 12-10-15 10:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2365011)
Cleaning up the mod from now unneeded stuff :03:

What's the problem with coastal defences getting stuck in certain circumstances, that you were talking about the day before yesterday? :hmm2:

Well basically, once you're engaged, you only have to dive, turn OFF engines and wait until bunker stops shooting and turn off
it's search light...The you resurface again...
Please test this when you have some time, maybe you'll be able to spot some AI dependencies or something...

gap 12-10-15 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2365024)
Well basically, once you're engaged, you only have to dive, turn OFF engines and wait until bunker stops shooting and turn off
it's search light...The you resurface again...
Please test this when you have some time, maybe you'll be able to spot some AI dependencies or something...

I will, anyway searchlights never worked for me, no matter how close I was to the new units. Maybe because I was doing my tests on SH5 1.2 with only New UIs, IRAI and our mod enabled? :hmmm:

vdr1981 12-10-15 10:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2365026)
I will, anyway searchlights never worked for me, no matter how close I was to the new units. Maybe because I was doing my tests on SH5 1.2 with only New UIs, IRAI and our mod enabled? :hmmm:

Strange, they should work... Is it nighttime in your missions?
Does the light work on regular ships in your game?
TDW patcher?

gap 12-10-15 11:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2365032)
Strange, they should work... Is it nighttime in your missions?

Sometimes yes, sometimes no, depending on the need :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2365032)
Does the lights work on regular ships in your game?

With my old installation on my old laptop they used to, but since I have changed laptop and reinstalled SH5 I didn't check if they work or not.

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2365032)
TDW patcher?

No patch enabled. Just a clean SH5 installation, well... as clean as it can be for a modder like me and you... :O:

Anyway, I have just finished testing our coastal defences under the (more or less) same conditions you have described before, and I can't confirm your findings.

This is what happended in detail (used IRAI with your testing mission unchanged except for wind speed, which I set to 15 m/s):
ordered ahead flank and boat surfaced. My watchcrew could only spot one of the three bunkers in range (the one on the left). I could see its visual detection circle expanding until it reached me, and two bunkers (left and right) started shooting at me, whereas the one dead ahead of me didn't take any action (in calm weather it usually does, but longer distance and smaller profile offered, coupled with high waves and moon position were probably my friends in this case). I ordered then periscope depth. The two bunkers kept firing their guns until I ordered all stop. At this point the two bunkers freezed their guns on my last bearing. I waited 2-3 real time minutes (no time compression used), and I ordered again to surface the boat at flank speed. The two alert bunkers restarted doing their job whereas the third one kept silent.

Had I repeated the test, I am sure I would have got a different result. I think how AI reacts is pretty much random, especially when using IRAI. :yep:

palmic 12-10-15 11:35 AM

Thanks
 
Thanks guys for responses :up:

vdr1981 12-10-15 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2365041)
...I waited 2-3 real time minutes (no time compression used)

This is not nearly enough I'm afraid... You should stay there for at least 1 hour of sim time (with some light TC of course, 8-16). The attacking unit has to completely "forgot about you". Then, surface and provoke the attack again...
All should be done during the nighttime...

If it works again, then maybe some of TDW patches may have some unwanted "side effects"...I'll try the same test with some "suspicious" patches disabled...:yep:

palmic 12-10-15 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2365020)
I noticed that, when selecting my ship heading, I do not get a read out when hovering over the dial. Giving me the minor annoyance of having to click several times to get the heading right.
Precise navigation is something which did not existed during the WW2. SH5 with TWoS and TDW real navigation, unlike any other SH game, simulates this pretty well, especially if we know that there's even course drift "modeled" ...
http://s6.postimg.org/ycsvnnka5/SH5_...9_21_51_50.jpg
Anyway, what you wish could be achieved if you switch your UI to "SH5 enhanced"...

I think the best would be to have XO dialog for ordering new course like real captain. That would be awesome.
I cannot imagine sub kaleun how he tryes to set course instrument on his own and by try and fail ;)

- The reason Xall asking in my opinion was the lack of immersion of ordering new course in this way..

gap 12-10-15 11:52 AM

Land Floating Working Coastal Defenses
 
http://i519.photobucket.com/albums/u...0_16.34.09.jpg

Download link:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/6f...al_Defenses.7z

@ Vecko or the corcened ones:

please check that with this new version searchlights are still working for you, because as said before they never did for me. Also I would be grateful to you if you designed/carried out some damage/collision stress tests, just to make sure that my recent changes to the unit wont cause any catastrophic event in case the bunker gets attacked/destroyed by other units.

vdr1981 12-10-15 11:54 AM

Well Gap, I must say that this really looks amassing! :o:up::up::up:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.