SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

MCM 04-03-16 08:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sjizzle (Post 2394679)
@vecko

heya take a look a this tips for loading screen the one with "*" are your tips from TWoS documetation :D if u agree to add them to your mega mod or u wanna add mod feel free ask for download link :D fact88 is my tip :D

Sorry where do I find the TWOS document?

palmic 04-03-16 08:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sjizzle (Post 2394814)
heya wecko your OHIIv2.5 Enhc. works very well with MagUI also i will add them to my mod list



I have to try your mod for happy times as i really fancy magui. :)
Since i solve this ****ing convoy, I'll have 5 days to end coastal waters campaign :)

palmic 04-03-16 08:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MCM (Post 2394839)
Sorry where do I find the TWOS document?



Firsts page od this thread.
Read it all, because this game really needs this manual and if you'll not read it, you'll have real problems with instability, controls, etc.

vdr1981 04-03-16 09:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sjizzle (Post 2394814)
heya wecko your OHIIv2.5 Enhc. works very well with MagUI also i will add them to my mod list

:up:

mr.artur_96 04-03-16 10:19 AM

Is it possible to have type VIIB in middle of total germany ?

palmic 04-03-16 11:51 AM

[REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod
 
After few days of hunting convoy i have to say, TWOS RAOBF is perfectly accurate, just found that you have to set horizontal line slightly bellow waterline but it does not matter and i definitely have no problem with that, it seems realistic to me.

I learned few things about stationary TDC settings.
- At first everything what you need to have precise is target speed. dont spend much time with AoB as this is not so important - tolerance from close range is more than 5 i think! Importance of distance is relevant to your gyroangle (how much torpedo must change its course) - i tolerate 500-1000m, so again - i dont spend much time with getting it (just roughly in hundreds), but i try to always keep gyroangle between +-20 degrees (so i shoot +-20 degrees before my nose).

- You definitely dont want to use map for TDC data input, use some approach which gives you data optically just from periscope (UZO?) - You can use stadimeter for distance, but when you want even angle on bow and dont want to go from periscope station, RAOBF is a killer!! :rock: I had 100% success from my 10-15 tries (i was killed by escorts several times, so i had to repeat attack). And my last one was Cimarron at about 140 AoB 4500m out of me, so nothing really easy.

- i never lock ship into TDC by spacebar as i dont use stadimeter and i never lock ship by x key, but its your choice, youll have no problem with that

- i never use XO to input TDC data as XO can change your input data for init target settings, i always set it manually.

if you don't know about it, use ctrl at periscope for precise move!,

Advances of RAOBF:
- as you use it, you are ASAP getting required knowlege about ships. If you will be attacking 5x cimmaron tanker, you can bet, that for 6x youll not open recognition manual at all! - Just measure optical height at RAOBF - set it, look to 30m mast height at RAOBF (because you now remember he is 30m) and you know his distance, measure optical length - again - youll just set distance to real length (191m :) ), look at that optical width and you know his AoB.
For about 30s and you know almost everything to shoot without looking to books or map. Just at periscope.
So youll become a particular ship types assasin and as you learn more ships, you can target them even more at once and pick them 2-3 in one attack without leaving periscope cross out of your sight!
- If you are targeting convoy and you measure speed of multiple ships, you dont have to move RAOBF for speed if they are going all at the same speed, you just leave RAOBF at that speed and just compare time interval in relation to their length, cimarron tanker is 191m long, Large ore freighter is about 150 i think - so Cimarron is at 6kts measured at stopwatch 62s, That ore is about 45s and this you can see at RAOBF and just let the 6kts there as was. If this check pass, they are all at 6kts. If not, just move RAOBF to that diferent time from stopwatch and check the difference. Mostly its si little difference, it doesn't matter..
This is actually huge advantage, because other parameters are pretty irelevant at TDC when you target from nice 80-100 degrees angle.
So you just set to TDC parameters of one ship and pick them 2-4 like sniper. Next level could be calculate simultanous hit by multiple eels, but it does not matter, what does is that RAOBF is really handy for multiple target checking and very very quick! :rock:

- For speed use definitely stopwatch (and again you can use RAOBF, so no distractions from periscope). Definitely DONT use map to getting some distance per time and calculate it, its so much more work and its not really accurate :)

- Now my favorite - as setting of AoB into TDC directly is not often really comfortable and XO officer can mess your already set data i have a little trick how to set it.
If you see ship at some bearing and know its course and AoB, you can just easily calculate where it will have (or had if its opposite direction) 90AoB. For instance if you have some ship at 47 AoB at bearing 60 going before your nose, it will have 90 at 60 - (90-47) = bearing 17 - Yes every degree of bearing translates into 1 degree target's AoB so its fully linear, always. Exception can occur just if you, or target change its course.
So you can just turn your periscope to 17, set 90 AoB, set it back to auto and move back - you'll have 47 AoB!

- At the end i often measure again speed cuz its really most important thing ever.

Then just pick my targets and snipe them! :Kaleun_Wink:

excel4004 04-03-16 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sober (Post 2394959)
warham would be the logical person , already has a server .

:yeah:

palmic 04-03-16 04:24 PM

This is realy no complain and i dont know if its possible to solve, but i think torpedoes are too effective.
Right now one hit is always sink of that ship, it realy does not matter where you hit the ship, it will sink till 1 hour anyway.

If it would be possible it should be something like if you'll hit the ship with magnet under the keel it would be critical, on the nose it would still be critical because how much the ship want to move somewhere as much water it will take, but, if you'll hit 10m draft ship to 2m bellow water line in the middle, i think it should not sink till 12 hours really. Rather it should not to be fatal hit at all.

.. but i expect this was really theme of many flames around here before i became a member, i'm here since november 2015...

oscar19681 04-04-16 03:12 PM

Hello ive been playing this mod for Some time now and im loving it.
But i have a couple of questions i cant seem to figure out myself.

* ive been on 2 extensive long patrols now and Doing if by the book ( diving from time to time to listen for contacts , patrolling the charts on known convoy routes , making unpredictable patrol routes to Find targets etc etc ) yer i have only sunk 2 enemy ships and when i do Find contacts they seem to be neutral ships only. How do i Find more ships to sink?

* I get radio Messages Adressed to U-22 , yet i am u-99. The radio Messages talk of wolfpackes And expected convoys. Are they legit? Or are they just radio Messages for immersion?

* How do i plot bdu grids? For example grip Al 0316 is in grip AL16?

* how do i read & plot coordinates send by Bdu?
For example i get radio Messages from bdu saying a convoy is spotted at
Long 13 degrees 14 w , lat 62 15n degrees course ENE 15 knots?

palmic 04-04-16 06:18 PM

Salute Oscar :salute:

lat long is standard used till today and you can get the position via it even at google maps - in fact google maps supports even lat long at URL :)

For latlog - you just imagine earth map like classic elipsis cut to 4/4 - by 2 lines - horizontal to north and south and vertical to east and west.

latitude is north/south orientation and longitude west/east.

if you are at north latitude (lat N) you are at north from the cross and respectively the opossite logic.

Every degree has 60 minutes thats all! - so 59 degrees and 30' is 59 and a half!

If you'll see TWOS map, youll see at borders you have this information there - you can see for instance 59N. 60N and so...


------
for precise please use ingame chart - "E" -> real navigation -> nautical chart

this is chart which is supposed to move onto particular square at map to check its "minutes" - you have easy tool to pick precisely right part of degree

palmic 04-04-16 06:37 PM

For the other orientation and your example - Al 0316 is not AL16, its AL 03 and the 16 is precise orientation in this rectangle.

you can again - get this orientation by chart - "E" -> maps -> light grid

Just move and resize the chart over all rectangle and youll have a point :Kaleun_Wink:

Sjizzle 04-05-16 12:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oscar19681 (Post 2395181)
Hello ive been playing this mod for Some time now and im loving it.
But i have a couple of questions i cant seem to figure out myself.

* ive been on 2 extensive long patrols now and Doing if by the book ( diving from time to time to listen for contacts , patrolling the charts on known convoy routes , making unpredictable patrol routes to Find targets etc etc ) yer i have only sunk 2 enemy ships and when i do Find contacts they seem to be neutral ships only. How do i Find more ships to sink?

* I get radio Messages Adressed to U-22 , yet i am u-99. The radio Messages talk of wolfpackes And expected convoys. Are they legit? Or are they just radio Messages for immersion?

* How do i plot bdu grids? For example grip Al 0316 is in grip AL16?

* how do i read & plot coordinates send by Bdu?
For example i get radio Messages from bdu saying a convoy is spotted at
Long 13 degrees 14 w , lat 62 15n degrees course ENE 15 knots?

Latitude and longitude are angles that uniquely define points on a sphere. Together, the angles comprise a coordinate scheme that can locate or identify geographic positions on the surfaces of planets such as the earth.

Latitude 0 is the equator what is above equator is North Hemisphere what is below equator is South hemisphere
Longitude 0 is GMT what and from it goes to the west 180 degree and to the east 180 degree....

never try to go to does coordinates what BDU sent u convoy spotted at "Long 15 degrees 14 w , lat 52 15n degrees course ENE 7 knots" cos till u get there the convoy is long time away from there and also if u leave your designed patrol are the patrol time will reset...... stay in your patrol are ....

how to find the grid there is a grid chart use that one to find your patrol area palmic explained u very well :D

example AL16 grid coordinates are
Center 5839.000'N, 02348.000'W Top left 5906.000'N, 02442.000'WTop right 5906.000'N, 02254.000'WBottom left 5812.000'N, 02442.000'WBottom right 5812.000'N, 02254.000'W

PS in WWII was captains who never saw a ship in they patrols so no panic :D

palmic 04-05-16 02:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2394788)
Nothing new there Palmic...

That solution was actually used in some older TWoS versions but I decided to put "contact" labels back in order to compensate for some game engine limitations. Some of them you have already experienced...:03:



Hmm unfortunately this slow ships don't even show "contact" in top left corner at hydrophone as i found..
So showing this information there is not fix.

No problem i like to have only ears there anyway :)

blackcan 04-05-16 05:05 AM

After a long experimentating i figured out why SH5 wasn't working anymore.
Now i made a fresh clean installation and wanted to ask if someone could explain or point out a little Guide in how to change the GUI style to SH3

Thanks in advance

Sjizzle 04-05-16 05:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blackcan (Post 2395295)
After a long experimentating i figured out why SH5 wasn't working anymore.
Now i made a fresh clean installation and wanted to ask if someone could explain or point out a little Guide in how to change the GUI style to SH3

Thanks in advance

as far as i know TWOS is set as default SH3 style
\Silent Hunter 5\MODS\1. The Wolves of Steel 1.05\data\Applications\OptionsFileEditorViewer opent the exe file from there and set the path to menu file which one is located in Silent Hunter 5\MODS\1. The Wolves of Steel 1.05\data\Menu after this one set the path where is Sh5 installed ..... then click open navigate to Silent Hunter 5\MODS\1. The Wolves of Steel 1.05\data\Scripts\Menu and select from there TheDarkWraithUserOptions.py and a screen with lots of tab will open
navigate to the UI Tab and from there u can change the style

http://www.mediafire.com/convkey/891...ympfh7p7zg.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.