SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

vdr1981 12-03-15 06:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColorKraken (Post 2363262)

Should I load my save when I'm outside of Keil harbor and wait 2 days and then enter bunker or is there any way to wait in bunker or accept the mission after I entered patrol 2?

You can do that or you can start patrol and head for eastern British coast without specific patrol grid...:yep:
There is not much difference...

ColorKraken 12-03-15 07:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2363276)
You can do that or you can start patrol and head for eastern British coast without specific patrol grid...:yep:
There is not much difference...

Alright! Thanks for the reply.:up:

vdr1981 12-03-15 07:11 AM

Gap, I'm eager to see updated bunkers with sandbags and crates, if they're ready? :)

ColorKraken 12-03-15 09:25 AM

Anyone having problem with camo paint?
I bought the tiger stripes camo paint for 1500 renown but I cannot see it on my boat.
Only the emblem I bought is shown.

EDIT: Restarting game and diving up and down a few times seem to solve this issue, because now I suddenly came up from the water with this camo paint on!

gap 12-03-15 09:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2363280)
Gap, I'm eager to see updated bunkers with sandbags and crates, if they're ready? :)

They are, together with several other improvements: :03:

- UV map of main model's diffuse channel reworked for matching better concrete texture's lines ocross adjoining walls;

- darkened/lightened various materials and textures for better look under different light conditions;

- resolution of some (huge) base textures reduced for lesser memory usage; added further downsized low resolution textures to the lowres folder, for the ones playing the game on low graphic settings;

- changed vertex coordinates of the bunker model as well as draft setting in sim file, which now is taken directly from object's absolute coordinates in the global space. Now the bunker looks like sitting lower on its plaftorm, while having more or less the same draft as before (for correct gun functionality and optimal floatation stability);

- bunker mass and drag further increased for extra stability.

- decresed gun's train rate in obj_turret controller to a more realistic 3 deg/sec as per historical specifications (this is supposing a complete handwheel revolution per second). Nonetheless I doubt this setting actually works. We might want to tweak gun's main controller's train/elevation rates instead.

Now I am modelling damage/collision. Let's see if we can make our floating bunkers collisionable/damageable without side effects...

Wait for updates and download link by me in a couple of hours :salute:

vdr1981 12-03-15 12:47 PM

Excellent! If it's not too much you can add this platform to the package...:yep:

http://s6.postimg.org/8tve2g5f1/SH5_...4_20_59_21.jpg

gap 12-03-15 01:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2363374)
Excellent! If it's not too much you can add this platform to the package...:yep:

http://s6.postimg.org/8tve2g5f1/SH5_...4_20_59_21.jpg

didn't I send you this one already:

http://s6.postimg.org/glc4109kd/GSDFS.jpg

Do you need both? :hmm2:

vdr1981 12-03-15 01:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2363386)

Do you need both? :hmm2:

Yes...

gap 12-03-15 02:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2363391)
Yes...

Is that for aesthetic reasons or for what else?

ColorKraken 12-04-15 05:09 AM

I have a problem some reports are only vocal and nothing is written in the text log.

I had a report of unidentified ship sighted at bearing x.
That was written in the log but the bearing was not written down.
It looks like this.
https://i.imgur.com/1jEIyM6.jpg

Is this a bug or is the game like this?

While this happened I was looking at the map in x64 time compression, could that be the cause?
If this happen, does that mean it's the same ship that was reported earlier as smoke on horizon?

Another question I have is about Silent running.
I give order to "rig for silent running" but only get the answer "cannot comply".
Why? What are the requirements to do silent running?

THEBERBSTER 12-04-15 06:30 AM

Hi Vecko
Are we likely to see "Sweet FX for SH5" being added to TWOS?
If so, are you going to tweak it for us?

Peter

ColorKraken 12-04-15 06:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColorKraken (Post 2363518)
Another question I have is about Silent running.
I give order to "rig for silent running" but only get the answer "cannot comply".
Why? What are the requirements to do silent running?

I think I found the cause for this.
I loaded a saved game and a lot of things was reset when loading the save.
For example morale.
And also weather changed from windy and higher waves to clear and calm, two warships I had spotted about 8-10km away suddenly had aggro on me, as if they saw me.
I noticed this problem with airplanes as well.
A airplane flew over me but did not spot me, I made a save right then.
20 minutes later I closed game down and loaded that save next day.
Now airplane instantly saw me and bombed me.

Seems like a lot of things is not saved when making a save, is there any solution for this problem?
Because it feels like it's impossible to save in most situations if all things happening are totally reset and nearby ships attack instantly even if I should be unseen.

vdr1981 12-04-15 08:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2363525)
Hi Vecko
Are we likely to see "Sweet FX for SH5" being added to TWOS?
If so, are you going to tweak it for us?

Peter

Naaah, I don't think so...It's just graphic eye candy and it's not so important for gameplay or WW2 "feeling"...:yep:


Quote:

Originally Posted by ColorKraken (Post 2363526)
I loaded a saved game and a lot of things was reset when loading the save.

Playing SH for the first time?
It is a well known fact in ALL SH games that saving game near active AI units will not always give you the same conditions after you load your save. This can also corrupt your game save if you create it near some bugged units so you should avoid to save game in similar situations as much as possible.

Check tips for stable gameplay...:yep:

gap 12-04-15 08:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColorKraken (Post 2363526)
I think I found the cause for this.
I loaded a saved game and a lot of things was reset when loading the save.
For example morale.

This is new to me

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColorKraken (Post 2363526)
...And also weather changed from windy and higher waves to clear and calm...

Well known bug, common to all the games of the Silent Hunter series :nope:

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColorKraken (Post 2363526)
...two warships I had spotted about 8-10km away suddenly had aggro on me, as if they saw me.
I noticed this problem with airplanes as well.
A airplane flew over me but did not spot me, I made a save right then.
20 minutes later I closed game down and loaded that save next day.
Now airplane instantly saw me and bombed me...

This is another well documented problem. The list of things getting reset after a save/reload also includes AI unit's ammo loadouts and hit points (damage).

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColorKraken (Post 2363526)
...Seems like a lot of things is not saved when making a save, is there any solution for this problem?
Because it feels like it's impossible to save in most situations if all things happening are totally reset and nearby ships attack instantly even if I should be unseen.

I am afraid no proper fix is on the horizon. As a rule of thumb, never save with planes within rendering radius, or during attacks against enemy ships, especially when you have scored some hits or while you are evading enemy escorts. More in general, try not to save while you have enemy planes/ships within the range of your sensors. Should you contravene these rules, be ready to face the consequences, and always keep at least one "safe" savegame just in case. :03:

gap 12-04-15 08:23 AM

@ Vecko

My patch is ready. Can you answer this question please? :03:

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2363395)
Is that for aesthetic reasons or for what else?



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.