SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

vdr1981 03-28-16 04:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sjizzle (Post 2393265)
btw Vecko

really sad that naights didn't finished this one .....would damn nice for your mega mod

It looks truly amassing...:yep:

Uploading new update right now... Check download section in a few minutes...

Quote:

No. 09
- KSDCommander update to latest version.
- Few tuning tweaks in Airstrikes.cfg file.
- Gap's authentic KM map tools.
- Fix for faulty light FlaK gunners animations.
- Menu.txt: added "multiple contacts" message when group of sea/air units is detected.
- Merged speed conversion charts.
- Reduced strength of 20mm shells.
- American neutrality date fix.
- Performance and stability optimization tweaks for Mediterranean campaigns (TF,alied/german subs spawn freq., airbases skill level).
- New campaign layer containing several more distant coastal destroyers patrols around British isles (later campaigns only, advancing from "competent" to "elite" skill).
- All airbases in opening CW campaign from "veteran" to "competent" in order to simulate less trained airman crews.
:subsim:

excel4004 03-28-16 04:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sjizzle (Post 2393265)
btw Vecko

really sad that naights didn't finished this one .....would damn nice for your mega mod

http://www.mediafire.com/convkey/3ca...tcvopx7x6g.jpg

OMG, how nice looks that!!! :o :rock:

excel4004 03-28-16 04:56 PM

Vecka, could you pls have a look at this "german uniform mod" which works nice and looks amazing! Would be a good addon for the next update. Mod created by Kobiwaldi.


Deutsche Uniformen für die Crew (Highres)
Download: Klick mich

palmic 03-28-16 05:26 PM

Reduced strength of 20mm shells.

HAHa thank you for that Vecko :up:

Subwolf 03-29-16 12:52 AM

Great mod, but I don't understand why auto TDC was disabled. I mean, they didn't have time to mess around with rulers and charts when attacking a convoy, in a dangerous area with enemy escorts.

The UZO or Attack Periscope provided the necessary data for a firing solution in less than a minute. That's why I'd say auto TDC is more realistic. I know how to enable it, just my opinion.

siege00 03-29-16 01:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Subwolf (Post 2393333)
Great mod, but I don't understand why auto TDC was disabled. I mean, they didn't have time to mess around with rulers and charts when attacking a convoy, in a dangerous area with enemy escorts.

The UZO or Attack Periscope provided the necessary data for a firing solution in less than a minute. That's why I'd say auto TDC is more realistic. I know how to enable it, just my opinion.

I think too many people (at least that's how I felt) felt, after playing a while, that auto TDC was kind of like arcade mode. With the sighting tools available and attack disk, you can still calculate firing solutions in around a minute -- sometimes it takes me longer, but I can usually get enough data with a degree of accuracy that lets me put torps on target majority of the time. Manual TDC just raised the challenge of the game.

siege00 03-29-16 01:09 AM

Can TWoS updates be installed mid-patrol? I thought I read somewhere that I should wait until back at base (between patrols), but I can't seem to find that right now to verify and I want to install the new updates. I'm currently at sea.

WildBlueYonder 03-29-16 03:21 AM

Is it only me or JSGME is not present in this update? Do I have to download it separately?

Sjizzle 03-29-16 03:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WildBlueYonder (Post 2393350)
Is it only me or JSGME is not present in this update? Do I have to download it separately?

u don't need other JSGME if u have the old one from TWOS ....cos only TWOS get updated not JGSME.....

vdr1981 03-29-16 06:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Subwolf (Post 2393333)
Great mod, but I don't understand why auto TDC was disabled. I mean, they didn't have time to mess around with rulers and charts when attacking a convoy, in a dangerous area with enemy escorts.

The UZO or Attack Periscope provided the necessary data for a firing solution in less than a minute. That's why I'd say auto TDC is more realistic. I know how to enable it, just my opinion.

Hehe, whaaat? :haha:

How in the world automatic targeting can be more realistic than the actual real stuff? Of course that TDC will calculate your firing solutions after few sec but only after you enter some data in it. It's a "computer" goddammit, you must first enter 2+2 in order to get 4 as a result...:)
Laser range finders and radar technology as we know it today was nonexistent in WW2, you do know that I'm sure...

Last night I attacked large convoy bound for Malta in poor visibility and very rough weather. I didn't do any measurements, calculations ect...I just positioned my U-boat, fired salvo of 4 torpedoes into the convoy (+ 1 from stern tube) and runaway into the darkens... Struck two ships (tanker and freighter).

Cant be more realistic than this...:03:

palmic 03-29-16 06:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Subwolf (Post 2393333)
Great mod, but I don't understand why auto TDC was disabled. I mean, they didn't have time to mess around with rulers and charts when attacking a convoy, in a dangerous area with enemy escorts.

The UZO or Attack Periscope provided the necessary data for a firing solution in less than a minute. That's why I'd say auto TDC is more realistic. I know how to enable it, just my opinion.

If you mean real wolves in ww2 was not messing with input data so much, you're right. They often just guessed, but they really wasn't close to 100% success with torpedos, many aces was returning without eels with 0% success more often, you would expect.

In order to get high chance to hit, you have to prepare solution carefully and that's exactly what they did even before.

vdr1981 03-29-16 06:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by siege00 (Post 2393337)
Can TWoS updates be installed mid-patrol? I thought I read somewhere that I should wait until back at base (between patrols), but I can't seem to find that right now to verify and I want to install the new updates. I'm currently at sea.

If you already have update 07 or 08 enabled, then you can enable last update in the middle of the patrol without any issues ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by excel4004 (Post 2393296)
Vecka, could you pls have a look at this "german uniform mod" which works nice and looks amazing! Would be a good addon for the next update. Mod created by Kobiwaldi.


Deutsche Uniformen für die Crew (Highres)
Download: Klick mich

The mod is OK because it only contains texture (dds) files...
However, I've noticed that almost all dds files are approximately 5 times larger than the original textures so this may pose some problem for the game in some situations (knowing SH5 poor memory management ability):hmmm:

In short:
Is the mod compatible ? Yes
Will it cause some problems due to increased files size? I don't know...

Sjizzle 03-29-16 06:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Subwolf (Post 2393333)
Great mod, but I don't understand why auto TDC was disabled. I mean, they didn't have time to mess around with rulers and charts when attacking a convoy, in a dangerous area with enemy escorts.

The UZO or Attack Periscope provided the necessary data for a firing solution in less than a minute. That's why I'd say auto TDC is more realistic. I know how to enable it, just my opinion.


sorry to disapoint u but auto tdc is not more realistic .....before they attack a convoy they had plenty of information about that convoy like speed / course / number of ships in that convoy, if that convoy was escorted or nope etc etc ....also on the u-boats they have already prepared the torpedos speed and other settings

palmic 03-29-16 07:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sjizzle (Post 2393265)
btw Vecko

really sad that naights didn't finished this one .....would damn nice for your mega mod

http://www.mediafire.com/convkey/3ca...tcvopx7x6g.jpg

Looks nice, but if it does not allow to control course by scroll (like sh3 UI for example) its useless.

This is reason why i stick with SH5 ui, you just hover your mouse over and scroll exactly where you want to without need to fix that course.
And with shift precisely of course..

fitzcarraldo 03-29-16 07:53 AM

Thanks for the new update, Vecko. Downloading now.

Best regards.

Fitzcarraldo :salute:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.