SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

vdr1981 07-02-15 12:00 PM

And guys , please take 5 minutes of your life to occasionally check FAQ and tips post...It's updated constantly and it will save you from lot of trouble.

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2165721)
F.A.Q.
- Crew don't entering the sub when diving/ don't leaving the sub when surfacing ?
Use GUI buttons on the left side of the screen to avoid this
- Telegraph acts weird. I order standard speed (3) but it only sets to slow ahead (2) and so on, it is always one speed setting behind the ordered one.
Small side effect from one of the patches but your commands are accepted correctly, works much better with SH3 interface...
- I'd like to have my menus and texts in German (or any other language except English) for immersion - is there a German version?
Unfortunately not (yet)...German menu.txt is not compatible...
- If I patrol the area for 20 hours , save the game and continue the game the other day , this time I patrolled is also saved ?
Unfortunately , it is not...You shouldn't reload the game until those 48/72 hours are passed.
- How do you access a recognition manual that can feed TDC?
Press "E" key or notepad lookalike charts GUI button on the bar near right edge of the screen.
- I've lost my recognition manual?!
Delete all dragables.TDW files from main game folder and start the game again...
- Where's mine target identify button?!
In this megamod automatic target recognition is disabled due to somewhat unrealistic implementation. There really aren't to many ships to be recognized in SH5 so auto recognition while the ship is 20 km away is a huge gamebraker...
- I wish to change number of days spent in the bunker...
Sure, check this mod...Clicky
- How can I pass from one campaign to the next one?
Make sure to be ON PATROL when deadline date of last objective is reached, preferably somewhere at the open seas without AI units in your vicinity . This is important so be careful if you use mods like "Change Days in Bunker"...
- Do I always have to start my career from the first campaign?
No, type "silentotto" while you're in the campaign selection screen to unlock all campaigns and start any you want...
- I've arrived in Kiel but I cant select Eastern British Coastal Waters mission, only Danzing mission is available?
Missions are date controlled and EBCW mission will not be available until 4th September 1939.
- Should I attack neutral shipping?
Despite common belief that the game wont penalize you if you sink neutral ship, it seems that it will by giving you negative rating and renown points which are very important for players progress (medals, new subs and equipment, prom. points). But again, sometimes one must do what has to be done...
- Should I do harbor raids?
Despite being very unrealistic because of number of game's limitations, players presence within 20 Km of units spawn point will prevent game engine to spawn any convoys or units so you should stay well off any major allied ports.
- Is there any written manual for TWoS?
Unfortunately, there is not. however, in TWoS Documentation folder you'll find readme files of individual mods contained within the modpack. You can also put GWX manual to a good use and/or search for numerous tutorials/playthrough videos found on Subsim and Youtube...
- Can this modpack be compared with GWX at all?
Tough question but I'll say no... GWX is product of a dedicated team, developed over officially patched, finished ,good game. This ugly duckling wasn't so lucky, not even close...It was abandoned by developers as soon as it saw daylight...
- Should I play without real navigation?
In my opinion absolutely not! TheDarkWraith's Real Navigation is one of the few SH5 features which can separate SH5 from the rest of the franchise and it improves gameplay drastically. It is the best and the most realistic nautical navigation mod ever adopted for SH and it will suit both experienced and new players... Also, zipping around like crazy with high TC for extended periods of time will most likely destabilize your game.
- How can I find assigned patrol grid?
Use grid map tool (Charts-Maps). The tool is resizable...
- My deck gun crew constantly gets washed away/radar is shutting down even with lower wind speeds?
- It's a game problem but this can help a bit... Link
- I can't hear ship on hydrophones even though I can see her with periscope?
Sometimes , player won't be able to hear slow moving ships even though they are really close. Still, your AI sonarmen will be able to pick them up so rely more on him. The ship will become audible as soon as she adds more speed...A bit more about Hydrophones in WoS
- Where's mine tonnage bar?! I can't play without it!
I'm sorry...It's dead!
- I'm suffering infamous stuck tonnage bar bug, can I use this modpack without any problems?
By all means, yes...The whole concept of sink xxx tons to unlock next mission/campaign is abandoned. All missions are date controlled ...For more info check OHII addon"No Stupid Tonnage Bar_ Free Style Campaign" readme documentation...
- Can I enter the war with type VIIB ?
Sure, enable this mod prior your campaign start...LINK
- I want more custom settings in order to set gameplay options to suit my playing style...
Sure..Withing the modpack is contained an awesome TDW User Options File Editor Viewer application. Search forums for more and make a good use of it...LINK
- I've sunk ship in Danzing bay and my game crashed...
You should not attack Polish shipping until Polish ports turn red...
- My game CTD randomly a lot, what should I do?
If we assume that you have installed the game, modpack+TDW Generic Patcher correctly and following my tips for stable gameplay as much as possible, sometimes the best solution is to re install the game completely, delete everything from my documents folder and start fresh campaign (using "silentotto" cheat if you like)...
- My framerate in Kiel is very low and game is unstable in general?
This mod can help a lot but you'll have to restart new campaign in order to activate changes...LINK. Disabling patch for increased rendering distance could also be helpful.
- Install instructions are so complicated, it's nothing like World of Warships "simulation"...
Trust me, It can be much harder...In any case, you shouldn't mess up with modded SH5 until you familiarize your self with :
Jonesoft Generic Mod Enabler,
TDW Generic Patcher,
TDW Option File Editor Viewer,

or how to actually install, patch and configure goddamn game.
Still, modpack and install instructions are created in a way that even a person without any SH experience should be able to activate the megamod properly.

Tips for stable gameplay:
- DO NOT add any additional mods if you are not 100% sure what you are doing!
- Avoid using autosave gamesaves. They become easily corrupted.
- Never overwrite old/previous game saves. Always make a new one...
- Keep your gamesaves clean. Try not to save game with destroyed/damaged or in any way bugged AI units(especially airplanes) in your rendering area. (60 km around the sub)
- Occasional save and complete restart of the game between the actions during long patrols is highly recommended (at least once in ~72h of sim time)! Always make a manual gamesave in the bunker and restart the game before you start new patrol.
- Game save with complete restart of the game at the beginning and esspecially at the end of each patrol (approx. 200-300 Km from home port) is highly recommended. This will improve game stability and further reduce number of random CTD's.
- Avoid gamesaving and using high time compression while bunch of things is happening around you, let's say 32/64 at max (deck gun attack, attacking large convoys, approaching ports, escorts evading ect...).
- When things seem quite, surface the boat, recharge your batteries, load torpedoes and...save the game... (You can prepare special meal for your crew as well);)
- If your game CTD when advancing to the next campaign (instant jump from patrol to bunker), try to alt/tab the game few times while you're in the campaign selection screen or load last auto entering base save (if game had time to create it). Don't wait for campaign end date in units reach environment.
- Do not jump from historical missions or museum into campaign directly, and vice versa. Don't load gamesaves from different campaigns. Restart the game completely first ...
- I'm not 100% sure about this but it seems that SH3 user interface is more stable then SH5 interface. You can switch this using TDW Options File Editor.
- Playing without real navigation on board and zipping around like crazy with high TC for extended periods of time will most likely crash your game at some point. Unfortunately this is the way it is with modded SH5 and it's especially true when it comes to coastal waters areas with dense air and sea traffic...

Video Examples:
- Trevally's Automatic Scripts for Navigator - TDW Real Ravigation for SH5
- Maintaining Extreme Depth with type VIIC-41 U-boat
- Full realism engagement 1
- Full realism engagement 2
- TheNorseCast returns to SH5 once again, this time with The Wolves of Steel megamod! Don't forget to "Like" and share some comments! :up:


THE_MASK 07-02-15 05:58 PM

A couple of posts with people saying they have weird circling ship action in tight circles . Maybe its some DRM thing linked to EXE patcher if advanced option enabled when disabling UPlay browser .

Uboot1 07-03-15 01:52 AM

Hmm, i can't play without default TC... 64 is max when i click + again its back to 1. Why? How i can change this. I try edit main.cfg but still the same problem. I can fly in fsx from Warsaw to Berlin without time compression with real navigation and vatsim rules, but i don't wanna sail in ocean for hours, i always play with maximum tc 8000, 1024 its minimum like i said. Help guys

I know, the game will be unstable. BUT AT LEAST playable.

whiskey111 07-03-15 03:12 AM

Hi,

I noticed my game's version is 1.05. When I download patch 1.20 it is written that this is 1.02. Does it mean that my game version is 1.50 ?

Additionaly, I cannot run this 1.20 (1.02) update because it says that game version is wrong.

I really appreciate some hints..

Thanks.

Jimbuna 07-03-15 06:30 AM

Welcome to SubSim danny :sunny:

vdr1981 07-03-15 08:10 AM

I've transferred debris particles from from secondary explosions to torpedo explosions for next WoS version (1.04)... This small tweak will also deal with occasional catastrophic explosion CTD .


http://s6.postimg.org/bzun751ip/SH5_...3_04_14_53.png

THEBERBSTER 07-03-15 08:36 AM

V1.04 sounds exciting.

danny_M 07-03-15 11:58 AM

WOS installation and...
 
It worked the first try !:03:
Gameplay is improved soooo much, i love it!
Installation went without a glitch... almost :
During generic patching i got a few times an error message that it could not get access to SH5.exe. I exited , restarted the PC, went to windows tasks and noticed the ubi game player was running in the background. Ended that, re-did generic patching and did not get any further error's.
One happy fresh Kalaun !:arrgh!:
I could even continue my saved game without any glitches.
Any one using this mod should donate, just to show appriciation for the hard work people put into these mod's, and the ones on this forum who help out.

:salute:
danny_M

vdr1981 07-03-15 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sober (Post 2325865)
A couple of posts with people saying they have weird circling ship action in tight circles . Maybe its some DRM thing linked to EXE patcher if advanced option enabled when disabling UPlay browser .

From F.A.Q.
Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2165796)
- I have friendly/enemy warship stuck with me, she's matching my speed and course without attacking me?
Known game bug...Simple save/reload the game to fix the issue...

If you command "all stop" when this bug occurs, bugged destroyer will continue to circle around one spot in tight circles. I'm pretty much sure it's the same issue.
Is it connected to DRM/patcher I can't say, but if I remember corectrly, the bug was present long before TDW generic patcher app...:yep:

gap 07-04-15 03:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2326001)
I've transferred debris particles from from secondary explosions to torpedo explosions for next WoS version (1.04)...

Looks oustanding :up:


Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2326001)
This small tweak will also deal with occasional catastrophic explosion CTD .

Does it have anything to do with the new torpedo explosion made by Volodya and me and included in FX update?

vdr1981 07-04-15 07:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2326180)
Looks oustanding :up:




Does it have anything to do with the new torpedo explosion made by Volodya and me and included in FX update?

Negative, torpedo explosions are awesome and now are even enhanced with debris particles. It looks great in game, screenshot cant show so much...

Problematic was secondary explosions particles and it was the same issue like with AAA debris...

Finally, I think that there is no way for anyone to get CTD when engaging/destroying unit, yet all FXU features are still there (particles, explosions, flares ect)...

Oby 07-04-15 07:19 AM

So,the flares are enabled and work(both red and white) in 1.04?

vdr1981 07-04-15 07:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oby (Post 2326225)
So,the flares are enabled and work(both red and white) in 1.04?

They work in 1.03 also...

gap 07-04-15 07:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2326215)
Negative, torpedo explosions are awesome and now are even enhanced with debris particles. It looks great in game, screenshot cant show so much...

Problematic was secondary explosions particles and it was the same issue like with AAA debris...

Finally, I think that there is no way for anyone to get CTD when engaging/destroying unit, yet all FXU features are still there (particles, explosions, flares ect)...

:sunny:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oby (Post 2326225)
So,the flares are enabled and work(both red and white) in 1.04?

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2326228)
They work in 1.03 also...

Did you fix flare fx as well? :rock:

vdr1981 07-04-15 07:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2326009)
V1.04 sounds exciting.

I also work on one more OHII addon which will:

- Decrease number of anchored ships in allied/axis ports, especially in those which are too exposed and unprotected and in close proximity of enemy airbases.
- Add mines and subnets on a few tricky places...
- "Pack" anchored allied shipping inside harbors in order to protect them from underwater torpedo attacks (this wont be the case with American harbors BTW:))
- Remove player's abilities to take provision (aka torpedo and fuel) in every "blue" coastal willage outhere. Only historically correct bases will be able to support U-Boat operations...:yep:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.