SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

redline202 07-10-15 10:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2327533)
Good job Claudia! :up: I've reached exactly the same conclusions...
I'll start new thread to see if some have thos pld IRAI versions till on HDD...

I have modified version of IRAI 0_0_29, have been testing AI for years to make it hardcore.
It would be great if someone figure out how to play with it in campaign without CTD.
If someone wants to experiment here it is:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/j2...HardcoreAI.rar

Also check my single mission called "Vs 2 Fletcher's" and see the difference between campaign AI and single mission AI.
All credits go to TheDarkWraith.

redline202 07-10-15 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redline202 (Post 2327569)
I have modified version of IRAI 0_0_29, have been testing AI for years to make it hardcore.
It would be great if someone figure out how to play with it in campaign without CTD.
If someone wants to experiment here it is:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/j2...HardcoreAI.rar

Also check my single mission called "Vs 2 Fletcher's" and see the difference between campaign AI and single mission AI.
All credits go to TheDarkWraith.

HardcoreAI V2, fixed bug with torpedos damage (now 1 torpedo for 1 ship).
Fixed submarine damage.
All credits go to TheDarkWraith and vdr1981 for R.S.D.
This is just for experimenting if someone likes.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/u6...dcoreAI+V2.rar

vdr1981 07-10-15 12:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redline202 (Post 2327583)
HardcoreAI V2, fixed bug with torpedos damage (now 1 torpedo for 1 ship).
Fixed submarine damage.
All credits go to TheDarkWraith and vdr1981 for R.S.D.
This is just for experimenting if someone likes.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/u6...dcoreAI+V2.rar

One torpedo, one ship is just Otto Kretschmer's expression for rational torpedo use and it shouldn't be taken literally...:yep:
In any case, with WoS and TDW's FXU most of the ships will sink/die within 30-60 minutes after single torpedo hit, assuming you hit them well, not just scratch their bow/stern...
If you were talking about "one torpedo, one instant kill" scenario, that's a different story then...

Also, what do you mean by "Fixed submarine damage"? Have I made something wrong?:hmmm:

redline202 07-10-15 01:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2327597)
One torpedo, one ship is just Otto Kretschmer's expression for rational torpedo use and it shouldn't be taken literally...:yep:
In any case, with WoS and TDW's FXU most of the ships will sink/die within 30-60 minutes after single torpedo hit, assuming you hit them well, not just scratch their bow/stern...
If you were talking about "one torpedo, one instant kill" scenario, that's a different story then...

Also, what do you mean by "Fixed submarine damage"? Have I made something wrong?:hmmm:


Oh..sorry my english is a little bit bad...i apologize.
I mean "one torpedo, one instant kill" because it's too hard with this mod.
No you didn't done nothing wrong with R.S.D, i implanted your great mod.
It's just for testing to see how AI behaves in single player in a compare to campaign. And maybe someone will fix it in campaign. I hope you don't mind i used it.

vdr1981 07-10-15 01:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redline202 (Post 2327599)
Oh..sorry my english is a little bit bad...i apologize.
I mean "one torpedo, one instant kill" because it's too hard with this mod.
No you didn't done nothing wrong with R.S.D, i implanted your great mod.
It's just for testing to see how AI behaves in single player in a compare to campaign. And maybe someone will fix it in campaign. I hope you don't mind i used it.

I see, no problems at all...:up:

I just thought that you've maybe discovered some glitch in RSD files. :yep:
I still get my brain spins when I remember those UPCGE files...:doh:

redline202 07-10-15 02:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2327601)
I see, no problems at all...:up:

I just thought that you've maybe discovered some glitch in RSD files. :yep:
I still get my brain spins when I remember those UPCGE files...:doh:

I don't know what kind of magic you did in RSD with UPCGE files...but you remind me of chief in Das Boot :03:

THE_MASK 07-10-15 03:39 PM

I had a big cleanup about a year ago and threw all my old backup discs out . I do have
IRAI_0_0_39_TheDarkWraith
IRAI_0_0_39_ByTheDarkWraith_Patch_1
Anyone tried playing WOS with the exe patcher (disable UPlay not enabled) . Is it some sort of screwed up drm thing . Even though you are not online the game uses the game launcher .
I am playing the campaign atm (sobers mega mod ) and a hunter killer group (I think) is all over me . Some ships direct other ships to me and they are dropping depth charges like mad . I can not escape . I cannot see because I don't have external camera but everything seems to be normal . I will try surfacing lol and see what happens . Lasted about 30 seconds .

maillemaker 07-10-15 03:47 PM

I vaugely remember something in this thread about not assigning promotion points to the torpedo man.

Is that true?

Steve

MCM 07-10-15 03:50 PM

Here the IRAI 0030:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/9hw35j

Hope that helps :D

THE_MASK 07-10-15 04:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maillemaker (Post 2327646)
I vaugely remember something in this thread about not assigning promotion points to the torpedo man.

Is that true?

Steve

http://i60.tinypic.com/dvndkh.jpg

Claudia 07-10-15 04:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2327533)
Good job Claudia! :up: I've reached exactly the same conclusions...
I'll start new thread to see if someone have those old IRAI versions still on HDD...

Ok, good idea :up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by MCM (Post 2327648)
Here the IRAI 0030:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/9hw35j

Hope that helps :D

Hmmm, that mod is incomplete, only contains the patch for no hydro on surface, but main mod is missing. Do yo have the whole mod?

maillemaker 07-10-15 09:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sober (Post 2327651)

I have seen this screen. So do I hurt anything if I have given my torpedo guy promotion points for stuff?

Steve

THE_MASK 07-10-15 10:09 PM

I don't see how it would do anything if its disabled in the exe .

MCM 07-11-15 02:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Claudia (Post 2327653)
Ok, good idea :up:



Hmmm, that mod is incomplete, only contains the patch for no hydro on surface, but main mod is missing. Do yo have the whole mod?

Sorry no but found a very old version from August 2010: (IRAI_0_0_15_1)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/k37qqa

Claudia 07-11-15 02:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MCM (Post 2327719)
Sorry no but found a very old version from August 2010: (IRAI_0_0_15_1)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/k37qqa

Ok, thank you!

We still need IRAI versions 30, 31, 33, 34, 35 and 36. If somebody has any of them, please post it!

Pressurised 07-11-15 04:31 PM

Just thought i'd post here my story leading up to this mod and current progress.

Couple weeks ago out of nowhere, for no apparent reason I discovered an interest in submarines. I looked around for games and discovered the Silent Hunter series, despite all the negative comments I decided to take the plunge into numero 5 first. So I ordered it, and also a copy of the 6hr version of Das Boot. Watched it in a single sitting a few nights ago, great film!

I read about the modding for this game and it seemed Wolves of Steel was the way to go. I wanted a realistic and immersive experience so it seemed the right choice. I downloaded all the files at work beforehand(at home I get about 40kbs download speed). The game arrived today, thankfully it was a small patch to get to 1.2. I found the mod installation quite simple, the instructions were easy to understand.

Booted up the game and no problems so far, playing on 100% realism and real nav on. I've now made it half way across the sea with no incidents and will get to know my tools a bit better before working out torpedo settings :)

I gotta say thank you for this perfect collection and guide :)

ps. Its kinda awesome seeing where I live given a location on the map too, I live in a remote place that was a hotspot in ww2. Loch Ewe, NW Scotland :)

gap 07-11-15 05:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oby (Post 2326914)
Ok I'll upload my stuff tomorrow...:up:

Hi Oby, still waiting for your stuff :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2326953)
When you request a mission you get a grid reference.
When you approach the grid you receive a radio message that tells you a patrol time of 48 hours and an area to patrol of 80km.
You do not make a game save during the 48 hours of game time until the next patrol grid appears.

When you receive the second patrol grid.
There is no radio message and no area patrol radius given.

Just a side note. Not so important and maybe not possible, but it would be nice having:

- more variety in patrol-to-area objectives as far as their required duration is concerned.

- status reports, followed by confirmation messages by BdU, having to be sent at the beginning and at the end of each patrol-to-area mission, in order to BdU aknowledging its fulfillment. If due to compelling risks we fail surfacing the boat for a long time so that we can't send/receive messages, that's our problem, not BdU's. We might still be aknowledged for our patrol, but we will receive a belated confirmation of it...

- Patrol-to-area duration requirements being hidden when we first accept the mission. Once our patrol in the designed area is considered finished, we receive a message by BdU informing us on it. Alternatively, we could be given this information after sending the first status report (i.e. the first we send after entering patrol area; see above to understand what I mean). The military tend to be rather secretive, and they often hand out sensible information in a diluted way and at the last moment. Reasons for that are obvious. As a disciplinate U-boat commander we should be ready accepting it, even though it will make our patrols lesser predictable to us as well as to our enemy.

- Every once in a while our orders should be cancelled (i.e. we are reassigned to another area and/or task) even before, or right after, we start our patrol to the originally designed area. This is simulating unpredictable changes to ubootwaffe's order of battle, or even the attempt by BdU to confuse the enemy, in case our previous orders have been intercepted somehow by the Allied intelligence :03:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trevally. (Post 2327013)
:o

Very nice Gap:up:

Thank you mate! :salute:
Hope to see you around more often! :)

THEBERBSTER 07-11-15 05:30 PM

I was mentioning 48 hours, this was before I realized later that there is also 72 hour patrol grid areas as well.

The question is?
How does one fit real time in to be able to play 72 hours gaming time without making a manual save?

I only play in the evenings.
I have to make a manual save before entering the grid reference.
I then start again the next evening around 20.00 hours, and hope I can get to bed before 02.00 hours.

Peter

gap 07-11-15 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2327946)
I was mentioning 48 hours, this was before I realized later that there is also 72 hour patrol grid areas as well.

:up:
Whatever as far as we have variety or, for what can be seen from the player, some degree of randomness.

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2327946)
The question is?
How does one fit real time in to be able to play 72 hours gaming time without making a manual save?

I only play in the evenings.
I have to make a manual save before entering the grid reference.
I then start again the next evening around 20.00 hours, and hope I can get to bed before 02.00 hours.

Peter

Maybe a proper fix will be deviced. In the meanwhile, as a workaround for when you just need for it, have you tried pausing the game, minimizing it (Alt Tab IIRC) and hibernating your system? :03:

Trevally. 07-12-15 03:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pressurised (Post 2327930)
ps. Its kinda awesome seeing where I live given a location on the map too, I live in a remote place that was a hotspot in ww2. Loch Ewe, NW Scotland :)

Hi Pressurised and welcome to subsim:salute:

I too am from a remote Scottish hotspot - Orkney:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.