SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

Texas Red 10-06-20 04:09 PM

I recieved the VIIC/41 in the last campaign chapter, The Final Year. It was fun to use, and I loved it.

Thomsen42 10-07-20 07:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by the beast (Post 2699469)
I recieved the VIIC/41 in the last campaign chapter, The Final Year. It was fun to use, and I loved it.


Did you get the offer for the UFlak first? :hmmm:

f1terit 10-13-20 02:54 PM

Black Screen when trying to enter campaign?
 
Okay so, I have installed SH5 recently and am loving it, I recently decided to install TWoS (today), and have attempted to start a new campaign once in the menu,

I unlocked all campaigns and started one of the campaigns, and while doing it, the screen turned black and it shifted like color or something? (Remained black though), in the background there was sound playing, some of the instrumental music from Das Boot I'm assuming. I didn't move my mouse (hope not) and just stayed there, I tried it without and with running the game on administrator, sadly it still didn't work..

So when I exited the game, it shoved some display driver problem or something of sorts,

P.S I use windows 7, and the game isn't a steam version, I clicked yes to install the DirectC 9.0 or whatever it was. I don't have the updates installed

Another unusual thing, I have some files like FX and stuff in Historical Missions.

Tonci87 10-13-20 03:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by f1terit (Post 2700678)
I don't have the updates installed

Your game needs to be on version 1.2 before you install TWOS. It will not work if your game is not patched to 1.2

f1terit 10-13-20 03:11 PM

How can I identify which version it is?

Installed folder path was Local Disk (C:), Programs 86x, Silent Hunter 5 FYI.

[EDIT, VERSION IS 1.2]

By updates I meant the TWoS update thingy

f1terit 10-13-20 03:46 PM

New update, since I tried loading my game save, when TWoS wasnt installed, it said it stopped responding and Ihad to close the game, I don't know whats up with the game/mod. I think it might be my drivers.

tonschk 10-17-20 05:11 PM

I think among the instructions or steps at the beginning of TWoS installation, one the instruction is do not install TWoS mod in the "Prograns Files(x86)" because this folder have write protection


Quote:

Originally Posted by f1terit (Post 2700682)
How can I identify which version it is?

Installed folder path was Local Disk (C:), Programs 86x, Silent Hunter 5 FYI.

[EDIT, VERSION IS 1.2]

By updates I meant the TWoS update thingy


kapuhy 10-18-20 06:01 AM

Time to be that annoying nerd again :D

There seems to be a mixup with Liberator naming, we have "B-24 Liberator" (originally Ubisoft's US Heavy Bomber) which appears to actually be hybrid of Liberator and PB4Y-2 Privateer, and "PB4Y-1 Privateer" which looks like PB4Y-1 Liberator instead:

https://i.imgur.com/vYDzFaY.jpg

Privateer probably shouldn't even be in game, as these planes were introduced into service too late for Battle of Atlantic, according to Wikipedia several Atlantic squadrons were issued the type in summer 1945. So, to be even more historically correct, I'd suggest renaming "Privateer" to "PB4Y-1 Liberator". This would leave two "Liberators" in game, one of which doesn't look like anything that ever flew, but Ubisoft's monstrosity can be easily remodeled to look a bit more correct:

https://i.imgur.com/UaYWEj0.png

...and then perhaps, with some retexturing, used for different B-24 variant than PB4Y-1, like Coastal Command or USAAF ones.

vdr1981 10-19-20 06:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kapuhy (Post 2701369)
Time to be that annoying nerd again :D

There seems to be a mixup with Liberator naming, we have "B-24 Liberator" (originally Ubisoft's US Heavy Bomber) which appears to actually be hybrid of Liberator and PB4Y-2 Privateer, and "PB4Y-1 Privateer" which looks like PB4Y-1 Liberator instead:

https://i.imgur.com/vYDzFaY.jpg

Privateer probably shouldn't even be in game, as these planes were introduced into service too late for Battle of Atlantic, according to Wikipedia several Atlantic squadrons were issued the type in summer 1945. So, to be even more historically correct, I'd suggest renaming "Privateer" to "PB4Y-1 Liberator". This would leave two "Liberators" in game, one of which doesn't look like anything that ever flew, but Ubisoft's monstrosity can be easily remodeled to look a bit more correct:

https://i.imgur.com/UaYWEj0.png

...and then perhaps, with some retexturing, used for different B-24 variant than PB4Y-1, like Coastal Command or USAAF ones.

Thank you for bringing this up. I wasn't aware of this at all...:up::salute:

flokost 10-21-20 10:41 AM

After enjoying playing the first mission with TWoS installed, I tried to take a peek at the menu editor tool. I have made the modding enable related changes in the /data/Cfg/main.cfg and switched the game to windowed mode. However, no joy, the [Yes/No] message box after launching the game is missing and along with it, the menu editor tool :hmmm:

The other tools (python scripting, terain editor, etc.) are available.

I am using the steam version of the game on windows 10 and have applied all changes according to the install instructions. No game play problems detected, at least so far.

Anyone has experienced this with the TWoS or missing something here ?

Demon777 10-30-20 08:40 AM

Maybe someone tested how many torpedoes are needed to sink a battleship in TWOS? at least 2 or 3 hits?

Texas Red 10-30-20 10:05 AM

If you use the one ship, one torpedo mod then yes, maybe 2-3 shots. But without it, maybe 4-6.

vdr1981 10-31-20 02:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Demon777 (Post 2703764)
Maybe someone tested how many torpedoes are needed to sink a battleship in TWOS? at least 2 or 3 hits?

This is not predefined. It depends of many things like ship type, skill, hit location, type of damage zone destroyed ect...

Hans Hansen 10-31-20 05:06 AM

Mix of DE/EN
 
Hey everyone,


I just installed TWOS 2.2.20 over a clean (patched) SH5 and it works basically.
But: There is a strange mix of german and english. Crew speaks german, slides and other texts are mostly german, but the menu and other parts like the message box are english.
I'd prefer it all german. What to do?

Tonci87 10-31-20 05:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Demon777 (Post 2703764)
Maybe someone tested how many torpedoes are needed to sink a battleship in TWOS? at least 2 or 3 hits?

Sometimes it only takes one or two hits
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptAhqVauzEA

I guess it depends a lot on the hit location.
In this example I think my first torp hit aft of the torpedo belt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.