SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

kevinsue 01-27-17 07:55 AM

Ahhh...finally a new toy to play with!! Ladder pattern running torpedoes! Now I'm hanging out to get my hands on a radar unit! This is the first time since starting SH5 that I've finally got my hands on some new fangled thingy! So far on this patrol I haven't found a single ship to shoot but I'm keeping my fingers crossed! :D

viper1 01-27-17 09:00 AM

It WORKED!
 
After feeling a major idiot for not realizing versions changed since I downloaded the latest update, I got it to work by running 5b. :oops:

So a BIG thank you for everyone who help me out here. You guys ROCK!!:Kaleun_Salute:

Shiklgroober 01-27-17 12:12 PM

Hello funs! Excuse for troubling. Please. Can someone explain why can not I find the file number 2 in a subsim of uploaded website files, update version 1.06b? The installation instructions specified file №2! Thank you!
01.https://s28.postimg.org/g46qpbs31/1_...d_ungacked.jpg
02.https://s28.postimg.org/xogvirir1/2_...nto_Update.jpg
03.https://s23.postimg.org/ggw2g6b6z/3_More_informs.jpg

Shiklgroober 01-27-17 12:44 PM

Sorry! Another skeen...
https://s26.postimg.org/vpgd37xnt/where_is_two.jpg

SatThuVoBui 01-27-17 06:55 PM

Is it okay to download new update during patrol, or have to wait until return to bunker?

palmic 01-28-17 04:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SatThuVoBui (Post 2461466)
Is it okay to download new update during patrol, or have to wait until return to bunker?

Its "patrol friendly" until vdr1981 doesn't say something else:salute:

elder_gutknecht 01-28-17 07:15 AM

But, doesn't active untill your next save in bunker, may be i was wrong,

HW3 01-28-17 01:15 PM

You can activate it mid patrol unless vdr1981 says otherwise.

palmic 01-28-17 02:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by elder_gutknecht (Post 2461525)
But, doesn't active untill your next save in bunker, may be i was wrong,

I always update "midpatrol".
Just:
- disable all mods but basic TWOS in JSGME (leave activated just first mod - basic TWOS)
- quit JSGME
- replace folder "2 - *" in MODS dir by folder from last TWOS update zip
- activate new "2 - *" TWOS update in JSGME (its the folder from TWOS update)
- (now its better to restart JSGME as update could add some new mods into it)
- reactivate anything else what you had over it in JSGME in prior order
- play new update

BTW. JSGME does nothing else than copy contents from MODS/dirname/* into your SH5 root (MODS/..) with some background backup.
So when you disable some mod in JSGME, it removes its content from game root in reverse order and if it overwrited anything, it restores legacy files versions from its internal backup.

Roninthecow 01-28-17 07:10 PM

Hopefully it is alright to ask this here, since im using this mod, but i found a convoy, reported it, and bdu replied by asking me to wait for reinforcements, as this is the first time this has happened. I have no idea if its worth to shadow the convoy, until support actually arrives(dont know if it will) or just engage. Since this is the biggest convoy i have come across, i dont want to miss it, but then again wouldnt want to miss some early wolfpack fun .

Finally got total understanding of real navigation, and the torpedo firing :)

vdr1981 01-28-17 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roninthecow (Post 2461698)
Hopefully it is alright to ask this here, since im using this mod, but i found a convoy, reported it, and bdu replied by asking me to wait for reinforcements, as this is the first time this has happened. I have no idea if its worth to shadow the convoy, until support actually arrives(dont know if it will) or just engage. Since this is the biggest convoy i have come across, i dont want to miss it, but then again wouldnt want to miss some early wolfpack fun .

Finally got total understanding of real navigation, and the torpedo firing :)

Yes, one or more submarines will be spawned in your area in several hours (up to 24h). However, don't expect too much help from them since their AI is rather dumb...:) They are good for escorts drawing off though, IF you stay close enough so that AI subs can spot the contacts when they arrive... :yep:

I had recently quite interesting daytime engagement against heavily defended British convoy with two AI subs during opening stages of invasion of Norway... Didn't score a hit but if those subs weren't there, I would probably lost my sub...:yep:

gap 01-29-17 05:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2461702)
I had recently quite interesting daytime engagement against heavily defended British convoy with two AI subs during opening stages of invasion of Norway... Didn't score a hit but if those subs weren't there, I would probably lost my sub...:yep:

So cool :up:

Pity that submarine's AI is so dumb. Someone should pass on them some good tutorial on plotting and manual targetting, and put gunners aboard them :D

SatThuVoBui 01-29-17 11:07 PM

I hope this is the appropriate place to ask, but is there any particular reason why the hulls of AI ships do not render from a far away distance? From about 8000 meters, this is what a destroyer looks like in the binocular view from my bridge. Is this a bug, or is that how a boat that far away would look?




http://i.imgur.com/NbcH0ZF.png

fireship4 01-30-17 01:13 AM

I see the same thing - I believe it is simulating the curvature of the earth. Unfortunately the ship's wake is visible through the sea! And I don't know why the sea extends above the ship, I don't think that's on purpose. Perhaps, if there is a texture that is used for distant (past horizon distance for normal sub viewing height) wakes, it could be made transparent.

Shiklgroober 01-31-17 03:58 AM

Gun and Aircraft gun
 
Hello! Could you tell me which folders can be corrected recharge time gun and anti-aircraft guns? In Silent Hunter 3, it could be easy to do! Sincerely. I wish all the best.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.