SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

LesBaker 03-03-16 07:30 PM

Hi Brocky,
You can buy the cd version from Amazon for 5.37 !! and save all the heartache trying to get the steam version working.

Les

vdr1981 03-03-16 07:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brocky (Post 2386423)
Thanks for the welcome, all.

So I found this post - http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=161

So I have to download and install allsorts of .exes & scripts and viewers just to be able to install a mod so I can get the game running somewhat correctly?? I've just spent two days trying to get the thing to load, as I was getting the Ubisoft service is not available error. Finally figured out how to get it running and now this?

Pff. Honestly, I don't think I will bother and just hit the uninstall button. I really loved SH2 & SH3 and put many, many hours into them over the years. It's such a shame that, even after all this time, this game is in such a sorry state.

Again, thanks for the welcome. Looks like you have a good community here, but until a new, working sub-sim arrives, I think SH will just have to be left as one of those memorable games from the past.

Such a shame.

:salute:

Rest assured that you are very wrong...:yep:
In properly modded SH5 almost nothing is in "sorry state" and ,optionally, simulation elements are more prominent than in any previous SH title...
However, even simplistic game/mod installation ,like SH5+TWoS actually is, requires certain minimum of computer perspicacity and a bit of reading. Without this "minimum", comment like your are inevitable.

Anyway, lucky for you that SH3 is still very much alive and kicking (not so sure about SH2 though...)

Quote:

but until a new, working sub-sim arrives
Yeah right...You may be in for some waiting...:O:

Please forgive me , but this whole story reminds me of this one :O:... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djALjaTAqek

NHF :subsim:

gap 03-04-16 02:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2386431)
Please forgive me , but this whole story reminds me of this one :O:... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djALjaTAqek

LOL Vecko :rotfl2:

vdr1981 03-04-16 02:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2386468)
LOL Vecko :rotfl2:

...and then, he runaway...:O:

palmic 03-04-16 02:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brocky (Post 2386423)
Thanks for the welcome, all.

So I found this post - http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=161

So I have to download and install allsorts of .exes & scripts and viewers just to be able to install a mod so I can get the game running somewhat correctly?? I've just spent two days trying to get the thing to load, as I was getting the Ubisoft service is not available error. Finally figured out how to get it running and now this?

Pff. Honestly, I don't think I will bother and just hit the uninstall button. I really loved SH2 & SH3 and put many, many hours into them over the years. It's such a shame that, even after all this time, this game is in such a sorry state.

Again, thanks for the welcome. Looks like you have a good community here, but until a new, working sub-sim arrives, I think SH will just have to be left as one of those memorable games from the past.

Such a shame.

:salute:

Hi Brocky,
Welcome and give it the last chance with The Wolves of Steel AKA TWOS :)
I hated ubisoft for how they broke SH5 for several years till november 2015 when i tried TWOS.

You just need to have non-steam version of the game, update it to 1.2 by patch and install this mod by the first post on first page of this thread.
Its about 10-15 minutes for countless hours of huge fun. :woot:

Before i played moded SH4 and even before, i played vanilla SH3 and i can say this TWOS SH5 is best SH which we ever had. Most realistic ww2 sub sim.

Its just not like when you start to play some modern game, where everything leads you how to play, you need to learn what to do and unfortunately sometimes even what not to do, because UBIsoft did vanilla state very bad and some bugs will be there forever, no mather its moded or not. But you can avoid that, its just about such a things like not saving under water, not overwriting savegame (delete it manualy and then you can save with the same name and so..). Everything is on the first page.

When i started to play this, i was not sure i want to learn such a things, but i did in few days and i can say i have much more fun, then i had with sh3 now.

Just give it a chance :)

Warham 03-04-16 03:26 AM

I have some issues:
1) Does these buttons work?
http://i76.fastpic.ru/big/2016/0304/...8638cab2ac.jpg
2) Smoke of other ships works for me like this. Its small, then larger, larger and then it disappear. All over again. Can it be fixed?
http://i74.fastpic.ru/big/2016/0304/...d82ea0299a.jpg
3) I have gleaming white lines-artefacts in the sea. They can be seen particularly well at night. Can it be fixed?
http://i73.fastpic.ru/big/2016/0304/...69d6663e2c.jpg
4) Too bright trace of the ships at night.
http://i74.fastpic.ru/big/2016/0304/...97a610aa08.jpg
5) I saw a half-sunken ship near the port. I saw the burning places at sea. I saw thick smoke that appear and disappear. Have anyone else this bugs?
6) Can i alt+tab the game? Cause in SH4 alt+tab leads to serious problems.

vova78 03-04-16 04:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by palmic (Post 2386474)
...give it the last chance with The Wolves of Steel AKA TWOS :)

I fully support these words! :agree:I'm in the old days a lot of time spent with the SH-3 (and at the same time started the account on Subsim :) ). The SH-5 with TDW Patcher and TWoS no critical bugs hindering the game (perhaps there were only small and minor).

To Brocky: If you still need a Non-Steam SH-5 is not necessary to take DVD disc - you can buy the download version of the "Gold Edition" here: http://gamersgate.com/ (I myself bought here) Is the patch with TDW_GenericPatcher without any problems.

I also want to ask a question about U-Flak: will it be possible to remove the two torpedoes lying on the floor (and below) in the torpedo room for more authenticity? Two torpedo-men can leave, they will simulate additional Flak shooters on the boat :).

palmic 03-04-16 04:38 AM

to Warham: I do alt tab, because sometimes i need to, particularly because you cant save in the middle of patrol mission (patrol some circle somewhere), because its lost after reload.

But it leads to some non-critical issues, like Co2 is not counting, you can have some ambient sound stacked (like outside rain sound) even in hydrophone and so...
But you can fix it by valid save at surface without any company around..
Its definitely nothing serious..

BTW i found the best way how to alt tab is to submerge, wait for some Co2 raise, got to control room, pause the game and then its perfect time to alt-tab.
I haven't found any issue this way. i even hybernate my system if i cant quit game because of patrol mission..

kobiwaldi 03-04-16 05:14 AM

just pause game and the alt-tab. works too

Jimbuna 03-04-16 09:06 AM

Welcome to SubSim Brocky :sunny:

vdr1981 03-04-16 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Warham (Post 2386480)
I have some issues:
1) Does these buttons work?

If you have enable generic patcher shapshot correctly then yes. Do you need indep.engine/shafts controls in actual gameplay? Not really...

Quote:

2) Smoke of other ships works for me like this. Its small, then larger, larger and then it disappear. All over again. Can it be fixed?
There was a mod just for that *( made by Sober) but it will cause more issues with question No. 6

Quote:

3) I have gleaming white lines-artefacts in the sea. They can be seen particularly well at night. Can it be fixed?
Can't say I saw those...:hmmm:

Quote:

4) Too bright trace of the ships at night.
The Only solution would be to remove them completely. Sober also have a mod for something similar...

Quote:

5) I saw a half-sunken ship near the port.
Which ship? Screenshot?

Quote:

6) I saw the burning places at sea. I saw thick smoke that appear and disappear. Have anyone else this bugs?
Yes, standard SH5 graphical glitch. No solution... Burning places at sea?:hmm2:

Quote:

7) Can i alt+tab the game? Cause in SH4 alt+tab leads to serious problems.
I wouldn't recommend it...

Warham 03-04-16 12:32 PM

Thanks for answers. If I see another half-sunken ship or fire in the water i will make screenshot.

vdr1981 03-04-16 02:48 PM

Expect another update this evening with a few fixes and additions and I that would be it for some time. I promise...:D

Quote:

No. 07
- No repeating medals tweak: only one medal per class (first awarding date) will be shown, no more Iron Crosses spamming...
- Overcharge diesel engines special ability is tuned down approximately to 0.6 kn of speed increase, simulating propulsion state with both diesel and electric engines...
- Adjusted troop transport convoys speed for remaining campaigns (except MG campaign).
- Added an awesome community based standalone application (KSDCommander) made by Warham! After you enable the update with your JSGME, the application will be placed in your main game folder (KSDCommander.exe). This app features it's own executable so some potential security warnings are possible. Rest assured that those are FALSE positive warnings. Appropriate pdf documentation is included also...

Husksubsky 03-04-16 05:41 PM

Hi Guys. cpl questions for install. Waiting for the last update:)

Saw that Option file view editor now should point to last menu.txt in the mod. I always had that to last menu.txt in the game, and it has always worked. Thinking how jsgme works means I must have edited with mods installed then? I dont think I did.
And shouldn t it really point to last menu.txt in real navigation? This has always puzzled me a bit. Like it shouldnt work ,but it does.
I changed just cpl of things like hiding menu bars and something else. Maybe those doesn t do changes to menu.txt.


Updating from 03 to 05 and savegames won t work I understood. SInce I don t think I deserve the joy of doing danzig scapa etc again ...is there a way to cheat?
I see I have 9 promotion points 500 000 something tons and three unique ships sunk. I m familiar with tweaking macroobjectives earlier and if Im correct finish them wasn t really crusial.
The stuff that gives new sub is important. My crew experience is also nice + a few prom points. I can cheat myself some stuff by setting upgrade cost to zero also . ( don t remember where that file was)

Are we using the old 168 patcher still? I seem to remember there were a couple lines to add for some changes. Are those already modded? manual diveplanes and max dive depths I think.

vova78 03-05-16 06:39 AM

MOD Real torpedo menu paint scheme (in interier also) and German, Italian flags for ships HD (more in Readme file into archive).

Images:

Torpedoes Menu: http://postimg.org/image/wkw6u49ux/

Torpedoes Manual: http://postimg.org/image/rjossr2eh/

Torpedoes Interier: http://postimg.org/image/bui96aacp/ http://postimg.org/image/4fsxdwoh5/

Flags: http://postimg.org/image/gpby4k8o9/


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.