SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

vdr1981 11-24-15 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2361149)
Sorry Vecko, I am just back home. I can upload the bigger platform in half an hour. I am afraid the SHIV bunker will take a bit longer (not too much though): as it is now it looks a bit dull. If you agree, I would like to retexture it and to create a self illumination map for it. In the meanwhile you can start placing the model in game using the dat version. When the GR2 version will be ready, switching model will be as easy as changing path in MapObjects.ini. Since the two models will be identical, no other tweaks will be required :salute:

Very good! :up: I just cant wait to see new models...:D

EDIT
You better make a new one , so I could chose between two or more platforms...:yep:

gap 11-24-15 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361153)
You better make a new one , so I could chose between two or more platforms...:yep:

Okay, working on it right now :up:

gap 11-24-15 01:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2361166)
Okay, working on it right now :up:

Download link: :up:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/oz..._Platforms.zip

Working on the large bunker now. First I will rework the large bunker from SHIV along the lines of my previous post and I will hand it over to you for placement in game. The second step will be importing one of the type M272 bunkers found on 3dwarehouse, together with its 15 cm Tbts. KC 36 gun. I really hope the game will "like" them :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361153)
Very good! :up: I just cant wait to see new models...:D

If you have ideas about adding other new units/objects to SHV, I strongly suggest you having a close look into the 3dwarehouse gallery. Most of its models are free to use and can be easily converted into wavefront (obj) format, which on turn is supported by s3d and GR2 Editor. Another good place for royalty-free models is cadnav.com. Moreover I have on my HD a big collection of ship/aircraft mods for SHIII-IV, whose model we could import in SH5 if we get permissions from their authors, and I have recently discovered how to rip models from World of Tanks/World of Warplanes/Word of Warships. :salute:

vdr1981 11-24-15 01:59 PM

Very nice, although I'm not really sure will KC 36 gun actually work with unit ship controller...:hmmm: So far I've only used in-game guns trough eqp file...

vdr1981 11-24-15 02:17 PM

On a side note Gap, do you know by any chance how can I get rid of contact tails and if you do, can you create quick dirty patch for me (or just tell me how, my gimp skill are quite limited but what a hell :P)?:)
http://s6.postimg.org/6mr5ej04t/SH5_...4_13_45_01.jpg

vdr1981 11-24-15 03:16 PM

I know Gap that I'm pain in the ass but I was thinking about something...:hmm2: Take a look at my "artwork"...

http://s6.postimg.org/glc4109kd/GSDFS.jpg http://s6.postimg.org/8tve2g5f1/SH5_...4_20_59_21.jpg
Platform on pictures is original r=70m object...:yep:

These platform shapes would really make CD placement significantly easier for me (which will be pain in any case), plus it can offer us few more advantages because platform would be always orientated in the same way and the bunker would always be in the same spot (read: possibility for some cool war "decoration", sandbags ect...:hmm2:)

EDIT
Also, here's a new bunker dat file with slightly modified nodes positions so you can use it for reference, IF it's not to late already...:yep:
https://www.mediafire.com/?oytkwa3maf4ll51

gap 11-24-15 04:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361194)
Very nice, although I'm not really sure will KC 36 gun actually work with unit ship controller...:hmmm: So far I've only used in-game guns trough eqp file...

Seeing how aicraft guns are an integral part of their unit's model, I am pretty sure all is needed for a gun to work is a gun controller, non need for an eqp file. Nonetheless my idea was putting the KC 36 in an external file (likewise stock naval guns) for it to be shared by several coastal defence or ship units.
On a side note, the KC 36 was actually a naval cannon, originally mounted on Narvik-class destroyers, Emden light cruiser (as refitted on 1942) and some merchant raiders:

http://www.navweaps.com/Weapons/WNGER_59-48_skc36.htm

I should check if the gun is already modelled in stock game. :03:

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361201)
On a side note Gap, do you know by any chance how can I get rid of contact tails and if you do, can you create quick dirty patch for me (or just tell me how, my gimp skill are quite limited but what a hell :P)?:)
http://s6.postimg.org/6mr5ej04t/SH5_...4_13_45_01.jpg

Wasn't No Contact Tails part of TDW's Add-on mods?

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361216)
I know Gap that I'm pain in the ass but I was thinking about something...:hmm2: Take a look at my "artwork"...

No problem mate, my pleasure :03:

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361216)
Platform on pictures is original r=70m object...:yep:

These platform shapes would really make CD placement significantly easier for me (which will be pain in any case), plus it can offer us few more advantages because platform would be always orientated in the same way and the bunker would always be in the same spot (read: possibility for some cool war "decoration", sandbags ect...:hmm2:)

Okay to elongated platform and sandbags. :up:
What version of the platform should I use as base (70 or 140-m)? Which new shape takes the priority, left or right?

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361216)
EDIT
Also, here's a new bunker dat file with slightly modified nodes positions so you can use it for reference, IF it's not to late already...:yep:
https://www.mediafire.com/?oytkwa3maf4ll51

When it is about bones, you are always in time: as far as there is at least one bone on the model, new bones can be cloned/moved/rotated at wish :salute:

vdr1981 11-24-15 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2361239)


Wasn't No Contact Tails part of TDW's Add-on mods?

I'm aware of that , download links are dead but nevermind...:up:


Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2361239)
No problem mate, my pleasure :03:

Okay to elongated platform and sandbags. :up:
What version of the platform should I use as base (70 or 140-m)? Which new shape takes the priority, left or right?

When it is about bones, you are always in time: as far as there is at least one bone on the model, new bones can be cloned/moved/rotated at wish :salute:

70 m platform and left one...:yep:

YoYo 11-24-15 04:28 PM

Need a wallpaper of WofS in 4K? Click it twice: :D

http://s25.postimg.org/vzlv653an/Wof_S_wall_2.jpg
free image uploading

http://s25.postimg.org/8wvc6z1tb/Wof_S_wall_1.jpg
screenshot tool

Btw.
Today I tested WofS in 4K. Antialiasing is amazing with full FPS (60, blocked) but icons are very small:

http://s25.postimg.org/c2fxx6kff/sh5...2_01_59_61.jpg

gap 11-24-15 04:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361242)
I'm aware of that , download links are dead but nevermind...:up:

The mediafire link is working for me :hmm2:

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361242)
70 m platform and left one...:yep:

:up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by YoYo (Post 2361246)
Need a wallpaper of WofS in 4K? Click it twice: :D

Nice screenies YoYo, love your grainy post-production! :up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by YoYo (Post 2361246)
Today I tested WofS in 4K. Antialiasing is amazing with full FPS (60, blocked) but icons are very small:

What screen resolution are you playing SH5 at?

vdr1981 11-24-15 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2361247)
The mediafire link is working for me :hmm2:

Dumb me...:doh:

Awesome Yoyo!

gap 11-24-15 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361249)
Dumb me...:doh:

After my silly question about mediafire downloads being blocked by chrome, I think we draw 1-1 :88):D

misha1967 11-24-15 09:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2361054)
Hi misha1967,
Don't worry , I can assure you that those are realistic type VII U-boat speeds taken from Type VIIC manual:yep:... I had a link somewhere but I can't find it right now...

I don't doubt you, certainly not considering the awesome job you've done here! More likely it's my memory playing tricks with me. It's been quite a while since I last drove a virtual VII. It just seemed like things were slower back then, but it's more likely because I've slowed down with the passing years :O: Just wanted to make sure I hadn't managed to bork the install, in which case I'd have to retire my Tweaker Cap ;)

Thanks again for a great job and for making it so easy for me to jump back into my sub! :up:

Post Edit quick question: Does the old "don't mod while at sea" rule apply to Patch 13? If so it's not a problem, I'm on the Memel cruise so I can wait until I'm back.

vdr1981 11-25-15 04:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by misha1967 (Post 2361302)

Post Edit quick question: Does the old "don't mod while at sea" rule apply to Patch 13? If so it's not a problem, I'm on the Memel cruise so I can wait until I'm back.

Well most of the time but again no one can say for sure why and when...
Because your campaign is so "fresh" it would be better if you could restart your campaign completely so you can activate all the changes...:yep:

gap 11-25-15 06:37 AM

@ Vecko

the elongated platform is almost ready, I just need to import the new meshes into a GR2 file.

For the time being only the main platform model will be available, no sandbags sorry. I have found a nice sandbag stack model, but its polygon count is a bit too high. I need to create a low-poly copy of the model, and I think I will import it in a separate GR2 file to be linked to the bunker unit through equipment file. This way we can reiterare the same meshes at wish without overloading memory/GPU. Moreover, the same sandbags could be shared by more than a bunker type :03:

Please check again for updates by me in half an hour. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.