SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

THEBERBSTER 06-01-15 05:48 PM

Anyone having problems with the mod in TWOS "Shallow waters voice be gone" not working where the voice is still speaking?

mobucks 06-01-15 06:44 PM

I still have the icon that comes up for shallow water but there is no audio being played.

What are your guy's nights looking like? I feel like mine is too dark. On a clear, starry night, moon or no, I cannot see a horizon. Everything except the stars/moon is pitch black. Nothing I do with my monitor or in-game gamma will show a horizon, even at ludicrous settings. The most annoying part is my crew can see fine, calling out smoke on the horizon and ships spotted at very much farther range than I can ever hope to see.

The AI seems hit or miss in terms of detecting me, but that might just be my tactics. (If I go slow and low, they still have no chance of detecting me)

kevinsue 06-01-15 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2317973)
Anyone having problems with the mod in TWOS "Shallow waters voice be gone" not working where the voice is still speaking?

Yep :yep: since The Wolves of Steel 1.03 - Patch 5 and Patch 5_HotFix 2. Strangely I've been through these TWoS folders and cannot see how the MC_CR_NAV_09.ogg file could have been replaced with the originals. Must be some quirky JSGME thing when backing out the older patches. :hmm2:

You can overwrite the the MC_CR_NAV_09.ogg files in Navigators speech folders C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Sound\Speech\Navigator\Normal, Tension and Whisper with this new MC_CR_NAV_09.ogg that I've uploaded here. http://www.mediafire.com/download/vi..._CR_NAV_09.zip

That should shut him up!! :haha:

p.s This is a handly little silent .ogg file you can rename and replace any annoying sound file that you may want to silence.

THEBERBSTER 06-02-15 04:40 AM

Thanks Kevin :up:

vdr1981 06-02-15 04:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Choum (Post 2317453)
I think there's a problem with the SD.SDL file in this mod

look this screenshot :

http://uppix.com/f-bug556a40c500190d36.jpg

Wave name should be only : Depth charges splashing on water surface 1_hyd.wav and not a full path to the file.

Are you sure that's not intended or something? What will happen if you apply your fix?

THEBERBSTER 06-02-15 05:38 AM

Do you know where I can find the pictures and data that are in the recognition manual?

kevinsue 06-02-15 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2318056)
Do you know where I can find the pictures and data that are in the recognition manual?

http://i57.tinypic.com/mbpb9i.jpg

You can find the additional info text in .ait files. For example HMS Rawalpindi ~
C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Sea\NTR_Rawalpindi\NTR_Rawalpindi.ait

Additional info images for the same ship example are in GUI folder ~
C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Menu\Gui\Additional info sea images\amc_hms_rawalpindi.dds

SOAN silhouette image ~
C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Sea\NTR_Rawalpindi\NTR_Rawalpindi_sil.dds

There are a few other odd images etc in the GUI layout folder ~
C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Menu\Gui\Layout

THEBERBSTER 06-02-15 11:06 AM

Thanks again Kevin :up:

kevinsue 06-02-15 01:54 PM

Radcapricorn Large Optics Binoculars with No Milliradian Scale
 
Anybody interested in having their Large Optics (included in TWoS) binoculars without the the milliradian scale. :06: Let me know if you do and I'll upload it as a small JSGME mod.:yep:


http://i57.tinypic.com/2ly0jlu.jpg

vdr1981 06-02-15 01:56 PM

That would be nice:up:...I remember someone told me that WW2 binoculars used by U-uboat crew didn't have any markings.

kevinsue 06-02-15 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2318194)
That would be nice:up:...I remember someone told me that WW2 binoculars used by U-uboat crew didn't have any markings.

No problemo, I'll make a little mod up and upload it. I've never come across a set of bino's in my travels that have any scale!:haha:

EDIT: Done it! http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...60#post2318260

THEBERBSTER 06-02-15 02:13 PM

I noticed a couple of things in Shaefer's TWOS video's.

The ships identification icon is still active.

Mine is missing.

This is after he has updated to the patch5 and Hotfix.

Peter

kenz69 06-02-15 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2318210)
I noticed a couple of things in Shaefer's TWOS video's.

The ships identification icon is still active.

Mine is missing.

Peter

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...postcount=1457

THEBERBSTER 06-02-15 07:00 PM

Thanks Kenz :up:

THEBERBSTER 06-03-15 06:12 PM

Would someone show me the 2 file paths for the OFEV when the main TWOS mod is disabled please?

Does it matter which order they are dome in?

Thanks Peter

kevinsue 06-03-15 07:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2318564)
Would someone show me the 2 file paths for the OFEV when the main TWOS mod is disabled please?

Does it matter which order they are dome in?

Thanks Peter

The Options File Editor Viewer should have the same install path whether TWoS is installed or not. From memory I think it will auto prompt for the SH5 Install Path first but it shouldn't really matter. :hmm2:

Entry found: SH5InstallPath=C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5
Entry found: LastMenuTXT=C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Menu\menu.txt

vdr1981 06-04-15 05:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2318564)
Would someone show me the 2 file paths for the OFEV when the main TWOS mod is disabled please?

Does it matter which order they are dome in?

Thanks Peter

I'm a bit surprised to hear this question from the guy with so many tutorials under his belt? :)

Of course the path is the same like that mentioned in step 7 ...The only difference is that you have to browse for mentioned files inside MODS/TWoS 1.03 folder... Just treat entire TWoS megamod folder as you would "NewUIs_TDC_7_5_0_ByTheDarkWraith" folder...Got it?

THEBERBSTER 06-04-15 05:18 AM

Hi Kevin

Thanks for the reply.

Am I right in thinking the OFEV can be enabled either inside TWOS or as a stand alone outside of SH5 by using the same file paths that you showed?

If I change the OFEV settings with the TWOS mods disabled does this keep the changes rather than losing them at a later time if the mods are disabled?

I understand with the Generic File Patcher that the mods need to be enabled before activating the Patcher?

In theory can a stand alone GFP be activated from outside SH5 when used with TWOS?

I realize that the Snapshot gps file included with TWOS is needed.

Peter

kevinsue 06-04-15 05:35 AM

Just a concept
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2318435)
Looking nice!:up:

Tnx:yep: I'm going bonkers trying to jam the entire The Submarine Commanders Handbook into the SOAN. I've got it working if I use the "Additional Info" of one of the other ships files but I'm trying to get it to open in the "Other" category. Trying to assign a Unit number and Class etc is a pain....there are so many other files that have to link. You only need one entry wrong and it disables the entire category and you can't open the manual. :wah: If I could only get it to open in it's own category, I'd go and get pissed! :woot:

Gotta get to the bottlo before it shuts!!!:haha: BBS

http://i60.tinypic.com/4puq0l.jpg

Akula 06-04-15 06:38 AM

A few issues
 
Hello All

After reading so much good about this mod I decided to give it a go.

I have run into some snags before even starting a patrol. I have checked the installation instructions and I am sure it was all followed to the T.

Firstly I get a user charts box in the middle of the screen. It is blank and contains no information. I cannot minimize it and only drag it around.

Also when I go into the briefing. I cannot exit the briefing screen. I can only select the BlackSea mission. the coastal mission cannot be clicked on and there is a third, which spaws a box in the botton corner of the map so it is half cut off. I cannot get out of the briefing screen at all.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
G


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.