SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

TheDarkWraith 01-23-14 06:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brodie9666 (Post 2167092)
So your telling me that the only ways I am going to be able to play SH5 is to either, play a broken un-modded Steam Version or to buy yet another SH5 but this time on DVD?

Basically yes. Steam is utter crap. I despise anything like it (origin, etc.). I don't nor will I ever support crap like that. By not holding a physical copy of the software in your own hands you are at the mercy of whomever as to when they will let you play/use. They ultimately have the power to also stop you from ever playing/using it again (if they go out of business or decide they no longer want to support that piece of software). Why people use/support this crap is beyond me.

When Microsoft finally goes to the way of 'the cloud' like it intends to do I hope it's the death of them. This whole cloud thing is the most idiotic thing in the world! I swear people are either way too desensitized or they love sharing information about themselves to anyone/strangers. Using 'the cloud' is like broadcasting to the world ALL your personal information. Facebook, Twitter, etc. are the same. Wake up people. If you keep buying/using this crap then it will never go away/end. Everyone wonders why the US is so 'insert favorite explicative here'. It's all this Steam, Origin, Facebook, Twitter, Cloud crap.

Brodie9666 01-23-14 06:13 PM

....so wait, are you saying you think its crap?

gap 01-23-14 06:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith (Post 2167102)
This whole cloud thing is the most idiotic thing in the world! I swear people are either way too desensitized or they love sharing information about themselves to anyone/strangers. Using 'the cloud' is like broadcasting to the world ALL your personal information. Facebook, Twitter, etc. are the same. Wake up people. If you keep buying/using this crap then it will never go away/end. Everyone wonders why the US is so 'insert favorite explicative here'. It's all this Steam, Origin, Facebook, Twitter, Cloud crap.

:haha: :up:

TheDarkWraith 01-23-14 06:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brodie9666 (Post 2167105)
....so wait, are you saying you think its crap?

I'm not here to derail the topic of this thread. Steam is utter crap in my opinion. Nothing more needs to be said about it. You have your opinion and I have mine :up:

Cybermat47 01-23-14 10:46 PM

I've noticed some issues and glitches with the mod:

The Das Boot crew images, for me at least, destroys immersion because of the fact that the actual crew looks nothing like them. It would be great if this was made optional.
http://cloud-3.steampowered.com/ugc/...DCA8C7E9F1AC1/

The UZO sight is now identical to the periscope's.
http://cloud-4.steampowered.com/ugc/...24E8B10FF9382/

The binoculars also have this problem.
http://cloud-2.steampowered.com/ugc/...3FA9004BAC847/

The underwater view is really messed up.
http://cloud-4.steampowered.com/ugc/...CB77DBAD7A07F/

THE_MASK 01-24-14 12:23 AM

So what people want is clear underwater visibility , GPS plotting , bright nights so that you can see ships in total darkness miles away etc etc etc LOL .

Cybermat47 01-24-14 12:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sober (Post 2167202)
So what people want is clear underwater visibility , GPS plotting , bright nights so that you can see ships in total darkness miles away etc etc etc LOL .

I want GPS plotting (or as I prefer to call it, letting the navigator do all the tricky stuff) so I can read a book or watch a movie in transit, clear water so I can make good videos... but I don't want bright nights.

drexvil 01-24-14 12:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sober (Post 2167202)
So what people want is clear underwater visibility , GPS plotting , bright nights so that you can see ships in total darkness miles away etc etc etc LOL .

Ha ha ha, oh no the can of worms! :D

THE_MASK 01-24-14 12:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cybermat47 (Post 2167206)
I want GPS plotting (or as I prefer to call it, letting the navigator do all the tricky stuff) so I can read a book or watch a movie in transit, clear water so I can make good videos... but I don't want bright nights.

Fair enough . You can transit with real navigation automation , only in straight line . But you already knew that . I must try to stay out of this thread , keep to my own thread .

drexvil 01-24-14 12:46 AM

Personally I see minimal usefulness of the underwater blur effects in a submarine sim. I know it's for 100% immersion, but no real WWII captain went outside underwater to see his own boat anyway.

I use the underwater views it to admire the graphical beauty of the boats & torps speeding through water and of ships sinking to the abyss. Sounds lame, but I love the ocean and it gives me a thrill. I understand why it's been implemented, but in this case I'd leave it off.

Awesome megamod, it seems much faster than individual mods put together. :up:

vdr1981 01-24-14 08:34 AM

@Cybermat47,

Yes, Das Boot crew is a bit messed up, I could deal with that in the future...

Regarding binocular view... If you ever used binoculars you must agree with me that the views from your screenshots are much more realistic then default "two circles" solution. I use binoculars a lot when I pay a visit to my parents in the country side and I always see only one circle, not two...:03:

Default underwater visibility in SH5 is totally unacceptable . I decided to use old Sober's FX2 solution because it's only one which will give us illusion that we can see something underwater but in a fact, we can't. This is very important for realistic gameplay. But it's not good for movie making , I agree...

Regarding "simple navigation" patch... It can't be done with single simple patch because most of the files needs to be manually deleted from the archive. This means that you'll have to wait until I create new archive and re upload it again.

Cybermat47 01-24-14 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2167308)
Regarding binocular view... If you ever used binoculars you must agree with me that the views from your screenshots are much more realistic then default "two circles" solution. I use binoculars a lot when I pay a visit to my parents in the country side and I always see only one circle, not two...:03:

Yes, but I've used WWII U-boat captain binoculars, and they don't have marks on them.

Cond 01-25-14 06:02 AM

Are Stoian's free upgrade ( renown) mod and voice recognition 1.4 mod compatible with this megamod? Any of these maybe? If I'm fortunate and these are compatible is it okay if I install these two mods after the megamod,and the megamod's patch ?

tonschk 01-25-14 07:41 AM

I fully agree with :salute: TheDarkWraith :sunny: :yeah:

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith (Post 2167102)
This whole cloud thing is the most idiotic thing in the world! I swear people are either way too desensitized or they love sharing information about themselves to anyone/strangers. Using 'the cloud' is like broadcasting to the world ALL your personal information. Facebook, Twitter, etc. are the same. Wake up people. If you keep buying/using this crap then it will never go away/end. Everyone wonders why the US is so 'insert favorite explicative here'. It's all this Steam, Origin, Facebook, Twitter, Cloud crap.


Cond 01-25-14 08:02 AM

I managed to install the voice recognition mod quite a bit.

von faust 01-25-14 08:10 AM

Great MegaMOD !!!! :yeah:
It's all that I want but I have a problem.
(Excuse me for my English :O:)
I have reinstalled all, perform all step perfectly but all bars are disappeared (in the upper right corner and lower left corner).
I have try made some change with OptionsFileEditorViewer.exe (HUD folder) but without success

LeeHower 01-25-14 10:09 AM

Thanks for this megamod and to all ,who makes the mods implemented in this.:salute:
I got one question. I have no option( icon ) for weapon officer to identify my target. Its the part of make as real as possible ( like real navigation ) or i have make some mistake during installation this mod?:/\\!!
Thank you

J0313 01-25-14 10:20 AM

Thank you!
 
I want to thank you vdr1981 for this mod. Finally I can play SH5 without any frustration. I have one request however. Could you list all the hot keys since you have vastly more experience playing with this set up and I have never before really played any SH5 up until now? I find it all somewhat confusing. Also it states that with some of the new commands like the independent engine controls and electric engines on the surface the commands are only available through scripting. What does that actually mean?

Cond 01-25-14 04:54 PM

The Mod Pack gives me a CTD after I hit a ship. In the next few mins. I made a save just before the shooting and after I reload the game I get a CTD even before the torpedo exploads. It's very strange for me. Has been CTD free till now. I just installed Stoian's free upgrade mod. Can it be a problem ?

I get this message in event viewer:

Faulting application name: sh5.exe, version: 1.2.0.0, time stamp: 0x562b9a96
Faulting module name: SHSim.act, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4bce9a5c
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000819b9
Faulting process ID: 0x%9
Faulting application start time: 0x%10
Faulting application path: %11
Faulting module path: %12
Report ID: %13
Faulting package full name: %14

vdr1981 01-25-14 05:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cybermat47 (Post 2167476)
Yes, but I've used WWII U-boat captain binoculars, and they don't have marks on them.

Aaa, marks are problem...Well, it's due to radcapricorn's mod. Maybe we could ask him to remove those marks, that would be really nice...
Quote:

Originally Posted by Cond (Post 2167702)
Are Stoian's free upgrade ( renown) mod and voice recognition 1.4 mod compatible with this megamod? Any of these maybe? If I'm fortunate and these are compatible is it okay if I install these two mods after the megamod,and the megamod's patch ?

I'm not sure , I never used them...
Quote:

Originally Posted by von faust (Post 2167757)
Great MegaMOD !!!! :yeah:
It's all that I want but I have a problem.
(Excuse me for my English :O:)
I have reinstalled all, perform all step perfectly but all bars are disappeared (in the upper right corner and lower left corner).
I have try made some change with OptionsFileEditorViewer.exe (HUD folder) but without success

Hm, no such problems here, Shift+Z maybe?
Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeHower (Post 2167789)
Thanks for this megamod and to all ,who makes the mods implemented in this.:salute:
I got one question. I have no option( icon ) for weapon officer to identify my target. Its the part of make as real as possible ( like real navigation ) or i have make some mistake during installation this mod?:/\\!!
Thank you

If you really want to use automatic target recognition, which is a bit unrealistic IMO especially because you can recognize a ship 20+km away, install this mod anywhere in patrol or in port ... http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4248

Quote:

Originally Posted by J0313 (Post 2167795)
I want to thank you vdr1981 for this mod. Finally I can play SH5 without any frustration. I have one request however. Could you list all the hot keys since you have vastly more experience playing with this set up and I have never before really played any SH5 up until now? I find it all somewhat confusing. Also it states that with some of the new commands like the independent engine controls and electric engines on the surface the commands are only available through scripting. What does that actually mean?

I rarely use keyboard commands...TDW UI is more then enough for me.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cond (Post 2167971)
The Mod Pack gives me a CTD after I hit a ship. In the next few mins. I made a save just before the shooting and after I reload the game I get a CTD even before the torpedo exploads. It's very strange for me. Has been CTD free till now. I just installed Stoian's free upgrade mod. Can it be a problem ?

I get this message in event viewer:

Faulting application name: sh5.exe, version: 1.2.0.0, time stamp: 0x562b9a96
Faulting module name: SHSim.act, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4bce9a5c
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000819b9
Faulting process ID: 0x%9
Faulting application start time: 0x%10
Faulting application path: %11
Faulting module path: %12
Report ID: %13
Faulting package full name: %14

You should not install any mod if you are not sure about compatibility...This could be corrupted save also. Don't save the game near AI units and don't overwrite old saves...
I would suggest clean reinstall of the game and new campaign...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.