SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

vdr1981 04-02-20 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jorca2 (Post 2659489)
Ok thanks . :Kaleun_Applaud::Kaleun_Cheers:
to stabilize the periscope and binoculars of the submarine? with the movement of the sea it is very difficult to focus well

You''ll find "stabilized view" options in gameplay settings...You can try it out if you like. :yep:

Noonai 04-02-20 05:42 PM

Hi everyone,

First post here and first time playing SH5.
Amazing simulation thanks to this mega mod. I am playing on real time without TC so still very early on the campaign.

Enjoying every minute of it!

Aktungbby 04-02-20 08:12 PM

Welcome aboard!
 
Noonai!:Kaleun_Salute:

THEBERBSTER 04-03-20 04:06 AM

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community >Noonai
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below



Jimbuna 04-03-20 07:06 AM

Welcome to SubSim Noonai :salute:

KSCyrus 04-03-20 07:36 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Is it working as intended that all 11 Destroyers that were guarding the Convoy decided that i am the greatest Danger to the British Empire and thus have been bombarding me with DC's for the past 5 Hours? i remember back in Sh3 with GWX installed that out of 10-12 Destroyers at most 4-5 would hunt me down.

fitzcarraldo 04-03-20 08:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSCyrus (Post 2659696)
Is it working as intended that all 11 Destroyers that were guarding the Convoy decided that i am the greatest Danger to the British Empire and thus have been bombarding me with DC's for the past 5 Hours? i remember back in Sh3 with GWX installed that out of 10-12 Destroyers at most 4-5 would hunt me down.

They are enough agressive...

Five hours of depthcharging is normal in TWoS.

Good luck!

Fitzcarraldo :salute:

KSCyrus 04-03-20 08:46 AM

You have misread my Post, i dont mind the 5hrs or more part of being DC'd,
what i do mind is 11 Destroyers (the ENTIRE convoy Defense) just Yoloing after a single Uboot, when in WW2 did all Destroyers tasked to defend a Convoy jump ship to go after a uboat? this makes no sense and is seriously annoying. theres no way to reliably escape the ASDIC and Hydrophones of all 11 Destroyers and show a narrow angle towards them for less ASDIC signature.

fitzcarraldo 04-03-20 08:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSCyrus (Post 2659703)
You have misread my Post, i dont mind the 5hrs or more part of being DC'd,
what i do mind is 11 Destroyers (the ENTIRE convoy Defense) just Yoloing after a single Uboot, when in WW2 did all Destroyers tasked to defend a Convoy jump ship to go after a uboat? this makes no sense and is seriously annoying. theres no way to reliably escape the ASDIC and Hydrophones of all 11 Destroyers and show a narrow angle towards them for less ASDIC signature.

Because it I wrote they are enough agressive.

vdr1981 04-03-20 10:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KSCyrus (Post 2659696)
i remember back in Sh3 with GWX installed that out of 10-12 Destroyers at most 4-5 would hunt me down.

Hi KSCyrus. It's pretty much the same in TWoS as well. What was the composition of the convoy? Are you sure you didn't encounter specialized hunter killer group? Location? Year?



Tip how to shake them: Stay undetected for some time, make them think that you aren't really there anymore...:03:

KSCyrus 04-03-20 10:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2659745)
Hi KSCyrus. It's pretty much the same in TWoS as well. What was the composition of the convoy? Are you sure you didn't encounter specialized hunter killer group? Location? Year?



Tip how to shake them: Stay undetected for some time, make them think that you aren't really there anymore...:03:

It was just a standard Merchant Convoy and not a Taskforce, with exactly 11 Destroyers Escorting about 40-50 Merchant ships Southwest of Dakar November 1941. If i had encountered a dedicated Hunter killer Taskforce with the sole purpose of hunting Subs then i wouldnt complain, but the fact is that all 11 Destroyers were like "Yeah, lets just stop escorting these merchants and leave them to their fate" something that the Admiralty in WW2 would have never done for a single Sub

Edit: Also i tried staying undetected even going as far as stoping the engines altogether but that doesnt help when they 11 destroyers Keep pinging you ;(

diamondthree 04-03-20 07:58 PM

Hi, i'm kind of new to this, there's probably an easy answer. I'm playing my first campaign and I've finished the Sept1-4 mission and docked in Kiel . I want to take the Scapa Flow mission but it's not available. When I actually launch on the mission to the eastern coastal zone, it shows the Scapa Flow mission on the map now because time has passed, but if I dock immediately to take it, I'm well past the window of opportunity.

How do I make this work? Do I need to go back to a save during the prior Poland mission and wait for a certain date before docking? So that the time frames match up?

I've heard I could use the KSD Commander to change the days in port but that app seems to do nothing for me, it won't save the changes I make to days in port and the app doesn't launch the game when I click [Start the Game]. Besides even if I could change the days in port manually, I still don't know what the actual window is to take the Scapa Flow mission.

Thanks in advance for the help. I'm really kind of new to this so it's probably something really obvious and easy. I hope.

Tonci87 04-03-20 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by diamondthree (Post 2659941)
Hi, i'm kind of new to this, there's probably an easy answer. I'm playing my first campaign and I've finished the Sept1-4 mission and docked in Kiel . I want to take the Scapa Flow mission but it's not available. When I actually launch on the mission to the eastern coastal zone, it shows the Scapa Flow mission on the map now because time has passed, but if I dock immediately to take it, I'm well past the window of opportunity.

How do I make this work? Do I need to go back to a save during the prior Poland mission and wait for a certain date before docking? So that the time frames match up?

I've heard I could use the KSD Commander to change the days in port but that app seems to do nothing for me, it won't save the changes I make to days in port and the app doesn't launch the game when I click [Start the Game]. Besides even if I could change the days in port manually, I still don't know what the actual window is to take the Scapa Flow mission.

Thanks in advance for the help. I'm really kind of new to this so it's probably something really obvious and easy. I hope.


https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...97&postcount=2


It doesn´t matter though that you did not request the mission to break the fortress. You can sail there and do it anyway as long as the mission is active.

reedca82 04-03-20 09:46 PM

Took damage
 
So I took a depth charge, managed to use speed to maintain depth until all zones were at 0% flooding and under control. My boat still sinks in this situation and the damage screen is clearly inaccurate as each zone shows 0% flooding. It's a little annoying as there are 5 destroyers circling overhead and I cant maintain depth without flank speed. I have a savegame on hand of the situation.

diamondthree 04-04-20 07:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tonci87 (Post 2659944)
It doesn´t matter though that you did not request the mission to break the fortress. You can sail there and do it anyway as long as the mission is active.

OH! Thank you. Awesome. Gonna do it this morning then! Much appreciated!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.