SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

mobucks 05-25-15 03:07 PM

When you click the charts button there is a smallish black box that is moveable and has options and checkboxes for all the charts. There are more charts than displayed by this box by default! In order to see them you need to mouse over the black box and scroll the mouse wheel up/down. The speed conversions are near the bottom of the list.

TheDarkWraith, bless him, gave us many wonderful things but intuitive UI design unfortunately was not one of them!:har:

Quote:

watch people stay on deck when submerging, is that normal ?
I read that issuing the dive order (PD, regular dive, or crash dive) twice helps this not happen. The game is finicky in some spots and this is one of it's quirks.

Quote:

every time I ask my navigator for a fix, I have first a weather report, is that normal ?
Yes and also I think it's an option whether he does it or not in the TDWuseroptions file.

Equilax 05-25-15 05:22 PM

Engine trouble
 
The mod is really great :yeah: but i just have a little problem, i didn't install real navigation and i have some trouble when i submerge, myy english is not good but i'll try to explain.
Untill i use the diesel engine all work good, but if i go to periscope deep the engine stop and i can't start the electric engine. If i start the electric engine before submerge the engine don't stop but i can't switch speed and some times i also can't stoop the sub until i set silent run or back speed, when i can stop it there' no way to move again unitill i surface and start diesel engine.

THEBERBSTER 05-25-15 06:07 PM

http://i58.tinypic.com/2iaagzo.jpg


http://i60.tinypic.com/12307kj.jpg

kevinsue 05-25-15 08:59 PM

Speed Charts and engine speed Telegraph with "The Wolves of Steel"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kenz69 (Post 2316224)
This worked ! Awesome, i'm getting more and more confident in the fact that i will finally start to make a silent hunter patrol once in my life. Thank you very much

Can i find somewhere the speed/time/distance charts in pdf/jpg format so i can print them, can't find them in the UI anf i need them for real nav.

Use the "E" key to select the User Charts, scroll down the top box to find Speed conversions then select which one you want in the lower box. The files for the Charts you want to print are in your Silent Hunter 5 directory ; C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\UserCharts\TabelleMin_English.dds and TabelleStd_English.dds :yep: (.dds should print ok using Paint.NET or similar)...or just print THEBURBSTER's screenshots from the previous post.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Equilax (Post 2316264)
The mod is really great :yeah: but i just have a little problem, i didn't install real navigation and i have some trouble when i submerge, myy english is not good but i'll try to explain.
Untill i use the diesel engine all work good, but if i go to periscope deep the engine stop and i can't start the electric engine. If i start the electric engine before submerge the engine don't stop but i can't switch speed and some times i also can't stoop the sub until i set silent run or back speed, when i can stop it there' no way to move again unitill i surface and start diesel engine.

Use the engine speed Telegraph (lower left group with SH5Enhanced UI or lower right SH3Style UI) shown in screenshot, to set engine speed. Click on "Advanced controls" button SH5Enhanced or the tab under the telegraph dial SH3Style if you wish to set the speed in knots. You can also use the keyboard, ~ to 5 (All stop to Ahead Flank) or SHIFT ~ to 5 (All stop to Back Emergency)

Only use the Chief Engineer E-motor icon if, for some reason you need to use the electric motors on the surface. Also remember that "TWoS" has Real U-Boat Performance and engine ratio + independent control patches installed, so now your U-boat has inertia and requires time for the selected speed settings to come into effect.

If you still have problems, ensure that the TDW Generic Patcher v1.0.168.0 changes have been executed correctly as per "TWoS" installation instructions. :sunny:


http://i61.tinypic.com/11hwdht.jpg

kenz69 05-26-15 12:51 PM

thanks a lot for your help guys !
I think I'm ready to start patrol and learn and practice.
(got to finish DW stock campaign also)

THEBERBSTER 05-26-15 02:05 PM

More charts in my tutorial post #141

Post #141 User Charts

kenz69 05-26-15 02:49 PM

brighter nights ??
 
thanks THEBERBSTER, you're are so helpful.

one more question, is there a way to make the nights brighter ? not too much I know it's not realistic but I'm still a noob and TWOS nights a really dark

THEBERBSTER 05-26-15 03:29 PM

Hi kenz

Yes there is!

The problem you have with TWOS is that you are dealing with a package.

Adding and removing mods is not something I would recommend.

However there is another option open to you that you can try in stages.

Crew ability bonus points.

The Sound Guy or Sound Man (Beno Scheu) (Funkobergefreiter)

Darkness Penalty> Passive abilities of 5 levels

Giving bonus points here reduces the darkness penalty.

May help?

Post #184 See All The Crew Ability Bonus Points Positions In Silent Hunter 5

Peter

THE_MASK 05-26-15 03:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kenz69 (Post 2316459)
thanks THEBERBSTER, you're are so helpful.

one more question, is there a way to make the nights brighter ? not too much I know it's not realistic but I'm still a noob and TWOS nights a really dark

Just put my latest waves mod at the end of the mod list .

THEBERBSTER 05-26-15 03:55 PM

For those of you who like to use the sextant I have added these.

Post #150 Celestial (Star) Charts

Equilax 05-26-15 04:13 PM

Thank you very much Kevinsue, i checked TDW generic patcher like you said and got some errors, now everything work fine :woot

mahany 05-26-15 07:48 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hey guys,
i have installed The Wolves of Steel 1.3 correctly and extracted patch 5 and hotfix in the mods folder but they didn't appear in JSGME

and this is how JSGME looks like:

Attachment 1480



so, what am i doing wrong here?

kevinsue 05-26-15 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mahany (Post 2316506)
Hey guys,
i have installed The Wolves of Steel 1.3 correctly and extracted patch 5 and hotfix in the mods folder but they didn't appear in JSGME

and this is how JSGME looks like:

Attachment 1480



so, what am i doing wrong here?

Check that the extracted folders The Wolves of Steel 1.03 - Patch 5 and The Wolves of Steel 1.03 - Patch 5_HotFix 2 are in the MODS folder in the Silent Hunter 5 main directory C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\MODS

Any mod you wish to install with JSGME must be in this MODS folder so that JSGME can access them. :yep:

I usually extract the mod first to the desktop, then put it into the MODS folder. That way you can check that the mod's folder structure is correct before trying to install with JSGME.

Here's a link to a thread that should be helpful with using JSGME: :up: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=204593

Longknife 05-26-15 10:08 PM

I have to admit that I gave up on SH5 some time ago. Just out of sheer curisoty I loaded up this mod & decided to give SH5 one more try.

Right after this loaded & I got aboard my boat this mod brought a smile to my face! SWEET! was the 1st thought that came to mind. My hat goes off to all of you that put so much effort into this. It is truly astounding now!

I do have one small issue that hopefully someone can address for me. I cant seem to ID my targets. I put the vessel in my crosshairs & hit space to lock. Then I open the rec manual & find the correct ship but when I press "Send mast height to TDC" nothing happens. The ship remains unidentified.

I am certain I am doing something wrong as I am not very familiar with the ins & outs of SH5 but could someone point me in the right direction to getting this resolved or explain to me what I am doing wrong?

Once again many thanks for the awesome mod & thanks for any & all help y'all can provide.

Sjizzle 05-27-15 01:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sober (Post 2316520)

as far as i l know that option in completely removed from WoS latest
version.
on post #2 in the FAQ section is writed down click

mahany 05-27-15 03:44 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevinsue (Post 2316513)
Check that the extracted folders The Wolves of Steel 1.03 - Patch 5 and The Wolves of Steel 1.03 - Patch 5_HotFix 2 are in the MODS folder in the Silent Hunter 5 main directory C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\MODS

Any mod you wish to install with JSGME must be in this MODS folder so that JSGME can access them. :yep:

I usually extract the mod first to the desktop, then put it into the MODS folder. That way you can check that the mod's folder structure is correct before trying to install with JSGME.

Here's a link to a thread that should be helpful with using JSGME: :up: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=204593



thanks for your help man but i did exactly what you said and was able to install The Wolves of Steel 1.3 but the patch 5 and the hotfix won't appear in JSGME and i'm sure that i'm doing it right. it's not the first time i install a mod :)

but there is something strange the patch 5 and the hotfix mod folders contain only TDW Real Navigation folder. am i missing some folders here?:D

Attachment 1481

veenee 05-27-15 04:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sjizzle (Post 2316528)
as far as i l know that option in completely removed from WoS latest
version.
on post #2 in the FAQ section is writed down click

so...what can I do to bring this option back? :D

kevinsue 05-27-15 05:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mahany (Post 2316542)
thanks for your help man but i did exactly what you said and was able to install The Wolves of Steel 1.3 but the patch 5 and the hotfix won't appear in JSGME and i'm sure that i'm doing it right. it's not the first time i install a mod :)

but there is something strange the patch 5 and the hotfix mod folders contain only TDW Real Navigation folder. am i missing some folders here?:D

Attachment 1481

You seem to have a corrupted download of these files. The patch 5 folder should contain nearly as many subfolders as the main TWoS mod. If you still have the compressed file, extract it again to the desktop and see what it looks like. Otherwise try downloading again and we'll go from there.

Newinger 05-27-15 08:41 AM

I'd like to repeat my request to include the map location name fix in this otherwise great mod collection:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show....php?p=1841190

So many names on the map are terribly wrong.

mahany 05-27-15 09:29 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevinsue (Post 2316558)
You seem to have a corrupted download of these files. The patch 5 folder should contain nearly as many subfolders as the main TWoS mod. If you still have the compressed file, extract it again to the desktop and see what it looks like. Otherwise try downloading again and we'll go from there.


i've downloaded patch 5 again and after extraction it's size is nearly 1GB and this is what it looks like (The mods folder only contain real navigation mod and the Data folder is almost 950MB)
Attachment 1482


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.