SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

vdr1981 10-27-17 10:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by excel4004 (Post 2519985)
Yep! On the way to Färöer Islands with TWoS 2.09c on board! :salute::D


Vecko, i the past you wrote that its not necessary to save and reload the game when entering the port. You said you were able to fix the stability problems.

But whats about.. Its still necessary to start the game after 72h sim time and what does starting mean. Its ok when saving the game and getting back to game menu and reloading the saved game, or does it mean leaving the game to desktop and starting the game new by sh.exe?

and.. Also still necessary and if it is so can you pls explain why? Thanks a lot.

These tips were especially important in old TWoS version because if you would not follow them, the game would probably CTD after some time.

This was the big problem which was and still is torturing all SH5 modlists for years.

Luckily, this is not the case in TWoS anymore but I decided to keep those tips because they can not do any harm plus, it appears that shorter playing sessions in mentioned areas have positive impact on game performances and encountered AI units (especially airplanes) ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by KirinFrost (Post 2520128)

I have researched on it before and i think that since the GHG is placed below the waterline, it should pick up contacts on the surface as well. Any idea on how to disable this particular mod inside the modpack? :)

This is true, but since realistic implementation of GHG surface detection abilities is not possible due to SH limitations (sonarmen reports contacts even with diesel roaring at 15+ knots), it is better solution to restrict all hydrophones to underwater operations only...

vdr1981 10-27-17 10:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xall (Post 2520521)
Hello everyone.
I am getting this issue where I have completed Happy Times, and it asks me if I want to be the commander of a new Uboat, which would be the Type7c.

If I press yes, it will end the chapater and allow me to select the next one.
However, the game loads and for a brief momment I hear I am in the docks, after about a half a second the game crashes.

It does not matter which chaper I pick, mare or the other one.

However the game works fine if I say no, and keep my Type7B.

How can I fix this, or is there even a way to modify the save to change to the Type C? I just want the new Uboat really.

Thanks in advance, and much love for this mod.

More details please... http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...postcount=2657
JSGME modlist in particular...

vdr1981 10-27-17 10:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by excel4004 (Post 2520243)

I did the campaign process workaround from CW to HT.

I still have my VIIA, i read in HT stock sub is VIIB. How the way to get a VIIB? Only with JSGME "VIIB from the beginning", or is there another solution? :hmmm:

Later in the campaigns the VIIC and so on is waiting too and i think i need always the Campaign process workaround method for switching my campaigns. So how to get all these boats in future too? Is there any kind of promotion includes the game or or you have to change these manually?

Sub offers have nothing to do with campaign transfer workround (AKA Alternative campaign progression method).
New sub offers are mainly influenced by your current rating points which can be seen in your KSD commander profile. If your rating is 0 or even negative (-1, -2) due to low tonnage or skipped patrolls and neutral kills, then BdU may newer offer you a new boat.
If this is the case and you want to cheat a bit in order to get new sub, PM me and I'll tell you what to do...:yep:

Quote:

Originally Posted by kevinsue (Post 2520408)
Well I tried that and didn't have any luck because for some reason, I don't have an Anchor docking icon in the Kiel bunker. :hmmm:

I edited campaign files long time ago to prevent exactly what you are trying to accomplish...:D

Xall 10-27-17 10:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2520523)
More details please... http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...postcount=2657
JSGME modlist in particular...

Sure np.
Operating System = Windows 10
System Specs = Ryzen 1800x GTX 1080 Ti 8 gigs of ddr 5 ram
Game Version Steam With the modfied .exe
Confrim check: I found nothing regarding this issue, here or on google.
Mods are as follows:

The Wolves of Steel 2.0.0
The Wolves os Steel 2.0.9 Update
TWos Real Navigation
TWos 8x5 Resolution Patch
Unterseeboot SFX
EquaTool 01.01 by AvM - Large Style
Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4_english
Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4.1_english

(I have tested by removing the unofficial supported mods, same result)

More detailed Description of the issue:
Home Base: Lorient
U-Boat Type: Type7B

Game offers new U-Boat, if accepted, game will bring me to the medal reward screen, then to a chapter disclosure menu, after that the chapter selection menu. When accepting command of a new uboat, either mission choices result in a crash after the game loads the bunker, for about a second I can hear the ambient sounds and then the game crashes.

If I decline the command of the new uboat, there is no issue, I have my previous uboat, renown, equipment selection, crew abilities etc.


(No crashes up till now far, except sometimes with voice commands which I know are not supported and certain commands cause the game to crash.)

vdr1981 10-27-17 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xall (Post 2520528)

(I have tested by removing the unofficial supported mods, same result)

Removing your custom mods won't help if your gamesave is already damaged by the mods you are using now or you were using before...


Quote:

When accepting command of a new uboat, either mission choices result in a crash after the game loads the bunker, for about a second I can hear the ambient sounds and then the game crashes.
Did the game had time to create Auto Enter Bunker save? Can you load it ?

Also, your last campaign gamesave would be quite helpful, upload it somewhere please...

In the meantime, update your modpack with latest update and try again...

Xall 10-27-17 11:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2520531)
Removing your custom mods won't help if your gamesave is already damaged by the mods you are using now or you were using before...



Did the game had time to create Auto Enter Bunker save? Can you load it ?

Also, your last campaign gamesave would be quite helpful, upload it somewhere please...

In the meantime, update your modpack with latest update and try again...


Yes, It created a save file, the link to that save data is here:
http://www.filedropper.com/00000001_1
(However, if I load it, it crashes.)

The last campain save is this:
http://www.filedropper.com/00000014
It is just when the game asks if I want the new Uboat or not.

I also tested something, I went to my last bunker save
http://www.filedropper.com/00000001bunker

I started a new patrol and right away I ended it. It asked me if I wanted new command of a uboat, I pressed yes and in this case it works fine.

Edit: However I assume it skipped the mission ending date, so I did not get an option to select a new chapter. Date is 6/3/41
When I went on the next patrol, when I looked behind me it crashed. Confusing.

vdr1981 10-27-17 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xall (Post 2520533)
Yes, It created a save file, the link to that save data is here:
http://www.filedropper.com/00000001_1
(However, if I load it, it crashes.)

The last campain save is this:
http://www.filedropper.com/00000014
It is just when the game asks if I want the new Uboat or not.

I also tested something, I went to my last bunker save
http://www.filedropper.com/00000001bunker

I started a new patrol and right away I ended it. It asked me if I wanted new command of a uboat, I pressed yes and in this case it works fine.

Edit: However I assume it skipped the mission ending date, so I did not get an option to select a new chapter. Date is 6/3/41
When I went on the next patrol, when I looked behind me it crashed. Confusing.

OK, thanks...I'll take a look at your files and upload fixed gamesave for you which wont cause game crash .

Do you remember by any chance what was your TWoS version when you started HT campaign?:hmmm:

Xall 10-27-17 12:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2520539)
OK, thanks...I'll take a look at your files and upload fixed gamesave for you which wont cause game crash .

Do you remember by any chance what was your TWoS version when you started HT campaign?:hmmm:

I thank you :)


Yes it was 1.0.6 I believe.
So the previous one before the 2.0.0 update.

I did have a few extra mod back then, which was
AMMO_v1.0_SH5_by_Raven_2012
Churchs SHV 1.01 Keyboard Commands v1.1
MightyFine Crew Mod 1.2.1 (With Beards)

But I stopped using them due to Twos having included them.
And I now have basically almost no extra mods since Twos already has almost all I needed besides the integration of Voice Recogniton :)

Edit: I also used the The Wolves of Steel 1.06_Update 01 during one of the Bunker saves.

vdr1981 10-27-17 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xall (Post 2520543)
I thank you :)


Yes it was 1.0.6 I believe.
So the previous one before the 2.0.0 update.

I did have a few extra mod back then, which was AMMO_v1.0_SH5_by_Raven_2012
Churchs SHV 1.01 Keyboard Commands v1.1
MightyFine Crew Mod 1.2.1 (With Beards)

But I stopped using them due to Twos having included them.
And I now have basically almost no extra mods since Twos already has almost all I needed besides the integration of Voice Recogniton :)

Who knows what it could go wrong. I've add small ton of tweaks and updates since v1.06, maybe some gamesave incompatible change is showing it's effects only now or it could be some of your tweaks...

Anyway , I was able to load your "30 secs" save just fine and to continue campaign in Kiel (Western Approaches) just fine with new type VIIC...:yep:

I saved the game in the bunker and I'm uploading the gamesave for you...:yep: http://www.mediafire.com/file/djp7i6...i/00000015.rar

BUT, before you load "WA Kiel VIIC" gamesave (that's how I named it) make sure to do full game reinstallation, delete Documents/SH5 folder, delete all leftover files from your main Silent HUnter 5 install folder and download latest full TWoS package/installer. :yep:

THEBERBSTER 10-27-17 03:01 PM

Hi Xall
You should not have 2 speech folders showing in JSGME.
Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4_english
Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4.1_english


Installing speech:
Unzip the file
Open the first folder
Open the Mods folder
Extract
this folder to your JSGME MODS folder > Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4.1_english

Already included in TWOS
EquaTool 01.01 by AvM - Large Style
Peter


Xall 10-27-17 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2520545)
Who knows what it could go wrong. I've add small ton of tweaks and updates since v1.06, maybe some gamesave incompatible change is showing it's effects only now or it could be some of your tweaks...

Anyway , I was able to load your "30 secs" save just fine and to continue campaign in Kiel (Western Approaches) just fine with new type VIIC...:yep:

I saved the game in the bunker and I'm uploading the gamesave for you...:yep: http://www.mediafire.com/file/djp7i6...i/00000015.rar

BUT, before you load "WA Kiel VIIC" gamesave (that's how I named it) make sure to do full game reinstallation, delete Documents/SH5 folder, delete all leftover files from your main Silent HUnter 5 install folder and download latest full TWoS package/installer. :yep:

Okay I am back, and I report good news, it works like a charm.
I tried it first without reinstallation, just to see if I can get lucky, but it did not work that time, however, having a fresh installation did the trick.

I was not able to decide so much before, which chapter I should take, thanks to you, that too is fixed, it will be the Western Approaches :03:

No idea how you did it, but thanks a million, the type C variant is my favorite, although I do appriciate the one extra knot on the type B.

I will continue to look with great interest of what the future of The Wolves of Steel will bring. By far my favorite mod, which also made Silent Hunter 5 my favorite from the Silent Hunter Series.

A serious big thank you to you and the modding community of :subsim:
if it were not for you guys, Silent Hunter 5 would be long gone and forgotten, Ubisoft done f**ed it up :O:

Xall 10-27-17 03:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER (Post 2520568)
Hi Xall
You should not have 2 speech folders showing in JSGME.
Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4_english
Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4.1_english


Installing speech:
Unzip the file
Open the first folder
Open the Mods folder
Extract
this folder to your JSGME MODS folder > Speech Recognition_MiTons_NewUI_Edition_v0.4.1_english

Already included in TWOS
EquaTool 01.01 by AvM - Large Style
Peter


Thanks Peter, :up:
I had assumed the Speech Recognition 0.4.1 worked like an update.
Ah nice, I shall have a look to find how to change it in that case without the extra mod.

kevinsue 10-27-17 09:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by von faust (Post 2496305)
Hi,
I have installed TWOS and all seems fine but in a Youtube video (with an installation of TWOS) i see this RAOBF:

http://i65.tinypic.com/t82ohy.jpg

With only TWOS I have another RAOBF.
Is this another mod ?

Thanks

Quote:

Originally Posted by kevinsue (Post 2496710)
It would be interesting to find out if this RAOBF mod is still available. I've been looking for something exactly like this to reduce the brightness during low light attacks. This is the most realistic version that I have seen.

Quote:

Originally Posted by A-n-d-r-e-y (Post 2496718)
This is part from mine addon for TWOS. I can post how a separate mod raobf and attack disk later.

Quote:

Originally Posted by A-n-d-r-e-y (Post 2367213)
New HD textures for Attack Disc.

Install mod after NewUI TDC

http://4put.ru/pictures/small/1140/3502762.jpg http://4put.ru/pictures/small/1140/3502763.jpg

http://4put.ru/pictures/small/1140/3502759.jpg http://4put.ru/pictures/small/1140/3502760.jpg

Changelog:

v1.0
- first official release
- new textures for Attack Disc

v1.1
- AttackDiscCompassRose.dds - new
- AttackDiscAttackCoursePointer.dds - fix
- AttackDiscBearingAndLeadAngle.dds - fix
- AttackDiscTargetDisc.dds - fix

Download version 1.1 - https://www.dropbox.com/s/fz5hk77v0v...y_Hard_1_1.zip


Hello A-n-d-r-e-y, just wondering if you have made any progress with this RAOBF texture mod yet? I also tried to download the Attack Disc but the link doesn't work. I'm really looking forward to trying these new textures. :up:

kevinsue 10-27-17 10:34 PM

which Mediterranean harbours support u boat refitting?
 
Just wasted my FAT1 torpedoes practicing on an allied convoy because I intended to refit at Pantelleria island in the Mediterranean Sea but guess what? They didn't have any fuel or torpedoes to give me. :nope: I forgot that Vecko had removed the player's abilities to take provision (aka torpedo and fuel) in every "blue" coastal harbour. Only historically correct bases will be able to support U-Boat operations.... Is there a listing somewhere of the friendly bases that support u-boat refits?

Haha....I should have googled it first! :oops: Red dots are historic u-boat bases. Well...Salamis isn’t on the map...the nearest port is Piraeus so I still don’t know where to get some ammo!

http://i66.tinypic.com/2nibdvq.jpg

Muckenberg 10-29-17 01:55 AM

Hello
Will you add warships one at a time or do we get a bigger package in an update?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.