SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=210703)

THE_MASK 04-09-16 09:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2396442)
I think I have found functional solution for occasional corrupted game saves due to airplanes overspawn and probably other bugs in players rendering area...:yep:

Namely, one only have to delete "Special.txt" file from the gamesave folder (...Documents\SH5\data\cfg\SaveGames\0000000*). The corrupted gamesave will become functional again...

It seems that this file contains data about current situation in players rendering area and if the game is saved in the "wrong moment", the file will become corrupted.
By deleting it, all bugged units will be removed and player will be able to continue campaign...:yep:

Just shows how bugged this ubilauncher is . Wow what a find :up:

Ancient Mariner 04-09-16 10:58 PM

So I missed the little bit in yellow that tells a person to turn off UPlay in the patching stage......good mod,having to relearn how to: Manually set my torps,how to navigate and find targets.....any pointers or tuts would be good especially with the torpedoes.

palmic 04-10-16 02:29 AM

@vdr - Wow that's a discovery!
@Sober it suffice to say it's Ubicode :O:

palmic 04-10-16 03:16 AM

[REL]The Wolves of Steel - SH5 Megamod
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2394301)
What you guys could do is to :



- try to use "Frendly deck gun waves" addon mentioned in FAQ section

- experiment with your own waves settings located in SeaParameters.cfg file

- Disable "no stabilized view" option in game settings





But gyro stabilized UZO is a "no go" in Wolves mod...:)



I tried to play with SeaParameters.cfg parameters for 0m/s, but when i tested it, it had no recognizable influence on UZO swaying.
I even tried deck gun friendly test from Vecko of course, without success, UZO still don't offer me better tool to prepare attack, then attack periscope.

You have to agree it's really funny when you are forced to submerge and use attack periscope just because of instability, i don't see this really realistic, as i said before, u-boat always prefer emerged attack from Uzo.

I wouln't want to modify sea environment, just to make subs more stable to be able to attack from surface.

The next step will be what exactly is calculation coefficient for large optic UZO. Official readme is wrong because its definitely not 100.

Tonci87 04-10-16 05:47 AM

I have a question. I just started a new career (in the bunker before the first patrol) and noticed that I have a selection of only 12 captains emblems, I believe the stock ones.
Do the custom ones from the "A Fistful of Emblems" mod become available later?

I did check, and they are all visible in
C:\Games\Silent Hunter 5\data\Textures\TNormal\tex

vdr1981 04-10-16 05:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by palmic (Post 2396491)
I tried to play with SeaParameters.cfg parameters for 0m/s, but when i tested it, it had no recognizable influence on UZO swaying.
I even tried deck gun friendly test from Vecko of course, without success, UZO still don't offer me better tool to prepare attack, then attack periscope.

You have to agree it's really funny when you are forced to submerge and use attack periscope just because of instability, i don't see this really realistic, as i said before, u-boat always prefer emerged attack from Uzo.

I wouln't want to modify sea environment, just to make subs more stable to be able to attack from surface.

The next step will be what exactly is calculation coefficient for large optic UZO. Official readme is wrong because its definitely not 100.

You scored more than 90.000 tons in your last patrol right???:hmm2:
By the way, it's UZO high magnification which bothers you...

Heh, I never heard complains about deck guns gyro stabilized view, I guess you guys find that "realistic"? :hmm2:

vdr1981 04-10-16 06:42 AM

Brutal tonnage by Cpt.Michal Palma, the ace of the year...:o::rock::rock:

http://s6.postimg.org/j54t6o1kh/Capture.jpg

palmic 04-10-16 09:41 AM

TXH :woot:

Everything HC difficulty :)

My last torp was some 4kt merchant hit +- 10m to place i targetted :arrgh!:

BTW. i was killed several times by escorts so i reloaded my large convoy raid.

palmic 04-10-16 10:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2396495)
By the way, it's UZO high magnification which bothers you...

What variable in which file is it please? :)

vdr1981 04-10-16 10:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by palmic (Post 2396563)
What variable in which file is it please? :)

Try AngurarAngle settings in data/Library/Cameras.cam file...If you aren't familiar with Goblin editor you can find basic tutorial on Subsim...:yep:

milky 04-10-16 01:12 PM

Okay, this is driving me freaking crazy. There is something wrong with REAL NAVIGATION or something.

-I am using the latest Windows 10 updates.

-I am using the latest patches by Steel Wolves.

-I have installed the latest patches on a BRAND NEW INSTALL of the game. No other mods are installed. I followed the instructions precisely.

-----------------------------

SOME HOW, my UBoat keeps doing 180s using REAL NAVIGATION. I go one direction, i set my Uboat to go 120 degrees according to the compass degrees on the map, it heads that direction for a bit, then the next thing i know, without a command from me, i ALWAYS end some how going the EXACT opposite direction of the direction i ordered over a period of time. It literally does a 180 in my direction of travel some how .... it is confusing the **** out of me and very frustrating.

EXAMPLE SCENARIO

- Measure Heading on Map, i need to go 120 Degrees, set heading using the compass. Update my position manually by using the Real Navigation tool.
- Quick time for literally for around 30 or 40 in game minutes, update position, still on course heading 120 degrees in the direction i want to go.
- Wait another 30 or 40 minutes in game time (using speed compression) update position, usually still going same direction, 120 degrees.
- Wait another 30 or 40 minutes in game time to confirm my heading on the map, update the position manually, all of the sudden my uboat is heading the exact OPPOSITE direction i have been heading in for the last 2 or 3 hours without me giving a command to change heading. How in the hell is this possible? The heading is still correct on my compass!!! I am heading 120 Degrees, but i am not, i see the exact land mass again i was just heading away from some how while my compass still has the heading that should be taking me the opposite direction! Like .. wtf ...

So some how my Uboat is changing headings without it actually changing it on the compass ..... and without me giving it a command.

siege00 04-10-16 01:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by milky (Post 2396598)
Okay, this is driving me freaking crazy. There is something wrong with REAL NAVIGATION or something.

-I am using the latest Windows 10 updates.

-I am using the latest patches by Steel Wolves.

-I have installed the latest patches on a BRAND NEW INSTALL of the game. No other mods are installed. I followed the instructions precisely.

-----------------------------

SOME HOW, my UBoat keeps doing 180s using REAL NAVIGATION. I go one direction, i set my Uboat to go 120 degrees according to the compass degrees on the map, it heads that direction for a bit, then the next thing i know, without a command from me, i ALWAYS end some how going the EXACT opposite direction of the direction i ordered over a period of time. It literally does a 180 in my direction of travel some how .... it is confusing the **** out of me and very frustrating.

Do you have any automation scripts running that would change your course?

I posted before your edit. Um... I have no idea on that.

milky 04-10-16 01:31 PM

So i am um ... fixed it. You dont wanna know.


USE THE RULER for directions and set your heading to where the red line intersects on the ruler. Do not use the Circle diameter tool thing.

milky 04-10-16 01:35 PM

Is there a way to plan out an entire patrol route? Using ingame tools? I want to be able to put a connotation on the map and say i am suppose to arrive at this location at so and so date and time going this speed, then i am to take this course 160 or something?

Or is that something that you have to keep out of game?

vdr1981 04-10-16 01:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by milky (Post 2396604)
So i am um ... fixed it. You dont wanna know.


USE THE RULER for directions and set your heading to where the red line intersects on the ruler. Do not use the Circle diameter tool thing.

LoL...:haha:

Quote:

Originally Posted by milky (Post 2396605)
Is there a way to plan out an entire patrol route? Using ingame tools? I want to be able to put a connotation on the map and say i am suppose to arrive at this location at so and so date and time going this speed, then i am to take this course 160 or something?

Or is that something that you have to keep out of game?

No...You can only use harbor pilot scripts...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.